We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic last minute deal”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked the Garden Suite as a last minute deal for an overnight stay in Bath and couldn't have been happier. We were traveling with our 22-month-old son and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The Garden Suite was perfect for us as it has what is essentially a separate room that is divided from the main suite by a heavy curtain and has its own lighting - this allowed us to put our son into his own space for sleeping which was a godsend after a few nights of sharing a room with him. He slept soundly whilst we were able to relax in the main room without really disturbing him. In adition, the room opens out onto the Garden which is just superb for sitting and enjoying a cup of tea or for a run around with the kids.

There is a small bar in the common sitting room which runs on an honesty system and was a welcome sight after a few hours in a car with a small one. A cooked english breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was delicious. Again, our son was made welcome with a high chair already set out for him before we came up to the dining area complete with Thomas the Tank Engine plate and spoon - a real hit!

I would definitely recommend a stay here at full price but the last minute deal is worth looking out for. We stayed in a 5-star hotel in London a couple of weeks later and the personal service and atmosphere did not compete with the enjoyable experience of Apsley House.

Room Tip: Garden suites are lovely if you fancy having direct access to the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyliemcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I suprised my wife with a two night stay in the garden room. Everthing about our stay was top notch. Loved the views from the garden, the room was lovely as was the breakfast. Enjoyed are time in Bath cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was in Bath on a business trip and stayed for 2 nights in Apsley House Hotel, I had a wonderful time despite being there on business! Claire and Nick gave me a very warm welcome, I had a beautiful room with more than everything i needed at hand, and delicious full english breakfast I especially enjoyed the home made jam a lovely touch!
I wish I had had more time to enjoy the city of Bath and more time in this relaxing hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several days while we explored the amazing city of Bath. Located just over a mile from the city center, the home is gorgeous with a rich history of its own. From Claire, through every member of the staff, the service was flawless and everyone was consistently cheerful and helpful. We had booked the Champagne room and stayed there the first night. Passing the Wellington room the next morning, we noticed it was available and Claire cheerfully upgraded us for a small free covering the remainder of our stay. Both rooms were wonderful but we absolutely loved the larger Wellington room with its sweeping views of the hills around Bath. We enjoyed a fabulous cooked-to-order breakfast each morning in the sunny dining room overlooking the gardens. We also found the sitting room, with a grand piano, comfortable chairs and honor bar, to be an inviting space to relax after a day of hiking. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years but this was certainly one of the finest and we would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: The Wellington room is large and bright with a fabulous view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is outstanding. We stayed a couple of nights in the Waterloo room on the second floor and it was so quiet and comfortable. The bed linen was top quality and the Molten Brown toiletries added to the luxury. Breakfast was generous and delicious. We'd not stayed at a hotel that had an "honesty bar" before but really liked this concept. An excellent idea that clearly works very well.

We were invited to have a look round any of the rooms that were not occupied, ie had the door wide open. Each one was furnished to a high standard and we would be happy in any of them.

We felt very welcome throughout our stay and highly recommend Apsley House

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Halkidiki44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I originally booked for 3 nights, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay and ended up with 3 nights in the Salamanca suite and 1 night in the garden room, our stay was very pleasant and if I was to visit Bath for a second time I would certainly stay at Apsley House again.
The service was very good and the manager was incredibly helpful, providing us with maps and plenty of advice for things to do and see. Overall a very satisfying stay.

Room Tip: From the rooms that we saw I don`t think there are any "bad" ones, but try and book a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARIEL606060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a delightful hotel. The welcome we received when we arrived was fantastic and we were made to feel like we were more like old friends rather than just 'another customer'. The rooms we and our friends stayed in were delightful. We loved the 'serve yourself' bar with just an honesty box. Breakfast was really well cooked and nothing seemed too much effort for the staff. Ignore the review from "pigsinwigs" below. It may not be the cheapest hotel in Bath but I think it more than deserves it's No1 rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room directly off reception but were not disturbed in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Gallovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $193 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing