We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Welcoming”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I originally booked for 3 nights, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay and ended up with 3 nights in the Salamanca suite and 1 night in the garden room, our stay was very pleasant and if I was to visit Bath for a second time I would certainly stay at Apsley House again.
The service was very good and the manager was incredibly helpful, providing us with maps and plenty of advice for things to do and see. Overall a very satisfying stay.

Room Tip: From the rooms that we saw I don`t think there are any "bad" ones, but try and book a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARIEL606060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a delightful hotel. The welcome we received when we arrived was fantastic and we were made to feel like we were more like old friends rather than just 'another customer'. The rooms we and our friends stayed in were delightful. We loved the 'serve yourself' bar with just an honesty box. Breakfast was really well cooked and nothing seemed too much effort for the staff. Ignore the review from "pigsinwigs" below. It may not be the cheapest hotel in Bath but I think it more than deserves it's No1 rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room directly off reception but were not disturbed in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Gallovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked last minute at the Apsley House and got a great deal on the Garden Suite. The room was very quiet, spacious (our luggage had its own room) and beautifully decorated with antique furniture, opulent draperies and bedding, and a huge, separate bathroom that looked quite new. We were glad we had a place to park the car outside of town...for free! The staff gave us directions for walking into town and recommended the Lime Lounge for lunch, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was served in their elegant dining room and was quite good. Although we were only in Bath for one day, we felt we got a good introduction to the city and we'll definitely be back--the people are friendly and the architecture, gardens and food are fantastic--and when we return, we'll stay at the Apsley House!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine_of_Fallbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We found the hotel online and on tripadvisor. We stayed in the Champagne Room which is well equipped, with a comfortable large bed. The hotel describe the ensuite as "compact", which it is but again well equipped. Only breakfast is provided and this is the traditional English one with the addition of one daily changing "special" such as Eggs Benedict. The hotel is located about a couple of miles from the centre of Bath and if you do not want to drive in to Bath, with its parking, then there is a regular bus service from just outside the hotel to and from the city centre until late evening. We found our visit a happy one with the staff helpful and efficient, and the room well serviced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute trip to Bath and stayed in this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The house is stunning and beautifully furnished. We stayed in the Beau room on one night and the Mornington room the next. We booked last minute hence having to move rooms. Both had roll top baths and four poster beds and were lovely but the Mornington was my personal favourite as it is bigger and has a shower as well as a bath.
As soon as we arrived we had a warm welcome and this continued throughout our stay. The people running this house have it down to an art; polite without being stuffy and informative without being pushy. They are happy to book taxis and recommend restaurants and I suspect nothing would be too much trouble for them.
The rooms are very luxurious and have everything you might need including Molten Brown soaps and lotions. In the morning you have breakfast in the dining room. This room has stunning views due to the elevated position of the house. There is fruit and cereal and a choice of cooked breakfasts including my favourite, scrambled eggs and salmon. Absolutely delicious!

The house is about a 25 minute stroll to the centre of bath or there is a bus stop directly outside. A taxi to town cost around £7.50

This hotel is not the cheapest but it is worth every penny.

Cannot fault this hotel. Rooms, staff and breakfast all perfect. Will definitely be returning,

Room Tip: The Mornington room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having read so much that was positive about this hotel, we were disappointed to find it altogether average considering it's price. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny with only just enough room for the loo. The breakfast was standard fare, albeit with good service. This b and b though good is not outstanding and it's desire to be true to Georgian decor renders it outdated and drab. A fair enough stay but for £150 for one night it's overpriced and unworthy of the number one spot it has found itself on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Don't choose champagne room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pigsinwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was better than any 5 * hotels I have stayed in; it had a fantastic atmosphere, it projected respect & humility. The manager displayed unique knowledge. It is a place that I would recommend to anyone who is visiting bath. Sid

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $186 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing