We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
rubgy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, More like a country house, staff were excellent, unobtrusive and knowledgeable. good off street parking. Very nicely appointed inside. Other half really liked the Molton Brown toiletries. Beds and linen very crisp and comfortable. Stayed 1st night in the Wellesley room the up to the Peninsula for 2nd night. Honesty bar in the lounge which is a nice touch. Breakfast. Food is of a high standard in a lovely room. Try the fruits on the sideboard first. All in all I can see why this rated No1

Room Tip: Wellesley room is on the ground floor good size with 4 poster and excellent bathroom. Dont be put of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    156
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
169
958
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. The hotel was full but the coach house apartment was available - self catering with own parking. There are 2 bedrooms in the coach house - a double and twin. The apartment is really comfortable but might be a little cramped with 4 adults - fine for a family though. It even has a little private outside decking area with table/chairs. Very comfortable bed and no noise at all.

It's really thoughtfully equipped with kitchen appliances was even stocked with bread/ cereals/milk/orange juice and eggs which made life really easy for our 2 night stay. The 2 bathrooms have lovely Molton Brown handwash/hairwash and shower gel which was a lovely touch.

If you want a sense of history of the place then you'd be better in the main house but if you like a bit of privacy and space and are just happy to do your own thing then this is perfect. It was about a half hour slow walk into the city - we like walking so this was fine for us but there was a regular bus service you could use if you preferred. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and available if you needed anyting.

I completely recommend the Apsley House Hotel Coach House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night recently with my child and couldn't recommend it highly enough.
The house is wonderful and the room full of period furniture in keeping with the rest of the house. The bathroom was modern and refurbished to a high standard with great toiletries.
One of the highlights for me was the staff. Travelling alone with a baby they were all so helpful and wasn't made to feel my baby was a nuisance as I was in the B & B we stayed at the night before!
Breakfast was fantastic with a great range of cereals as well as hot selection made to order and specials (I had the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup- yum!)
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: The garden suite is great if you have children with a separate little room you can curtain off.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed longer! We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel is a beautiful old house with fantastic views from the dining room. Our bedroom was downstairs and was extremely quiet and very spacious. We will definitely stay again but next time for more than one night!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I could hardly believe the favorable reviews but they are accurate. The welcome was totally warm, helpful and friendly. The hotel is small but immaculate. The room was well furnished with high quality materials, and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked and quickly and well served. Parking was free, and easy, and although the hotel is away from the center of Bath, it worked well, for it was so crowded in the center that it would have been difficult to find a place for the car if one stayed there. Far better to be comfortable at Apsley House and to take a taxi to the Roman Baths, the Tea room etc.

Room Tip: Look on the Internet for accurate descriptions and pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clearly deserving of its top rating in Bath. It is charming, beautifully maintained and friendly. We were welcomed by Stephanie who went out of her way to use her charm to get us a dinner reservation at Sotto Sotto.

There is an honor bar in the drawing room and it was lovely to relax and look out the huge windows at the grounds.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty with a daily special as well as the usual fare.

The renovated bathrooms deserve a mention. I wish that mine at home were as nice. This can often be a sore point for Americans visiting the UK.

It is a pity that Apsley House is not a bit closer to the City Center. The walk is somewhat long and a taxi home is certainly the way to go. Parking in Bath is difficult, so leaving the car at Apsley is the best choice. They will gladly order you a taxi.

There is no lift and the stairs to the third floor are rather narrow and steep. If you have trouble with stairs or a lot of luggage, be sure to choose a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary ,I read all the reviews and was inpressed however thought we would see ,entered the frot door very welcoming and was met by Stef she made us feel very welcome gave us information about hotel gave us a tour of lounge and dining are which was simply devine
We then were taken to our room outside to the rear situated under the kitchen ,beau room .which was lovely spotlessly clean and although small there was everything you needed with beautiful interior decor .The breakfast the following morning was very well prepared and some much choice
Went into bath that evening for dinner came across the Bath roman kitchen opposite the pump house the manager and girls gave excellent customer service the meal was well presented and very good value 3 courses for £20 pound We would visit again when we get the opportunity for the hotel and this restaurant thank you to Stef &David and girls

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing