We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Another great stay, when the guys can't do enough for you.perfect for tourists and business stop over

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pppp4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
176
985
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsburn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent a wonderful few days at Apsley House. We stayed in the Mornington Room on the lower floor; it was lovely with doors leading out onto the garden. EVERYTHING about our stay was great! This was due in no small part to the efforts of our excellent hosts, David and Steph. The attention to detail in all things made this a very special weekend. We enjoyed the walk into Bath both via the park and along the canal. The Boathouse was a handy place to eat; conveniently located with a simple but tasty menu and with a relaxing ambiance. We would definitely recommend Apsley House as THE place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Apsley house is a wonderful hotel in Bath. The property is beautiful, the rooms are lovely (and very clean), and the service is outstanding. The breakfast is an added bonus. You can walk to the center of town in about 20 minutes, but you pass through Royal Victoria park and can see the Royal Crescent and the Circus. It's a very nice walk.

I recommend this hotel and will certainly stay again the next time I visit Bath!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was built 1n 1830 by the Duke of Gloucester for his mistress in Bath. He must have really loved his mistress because the House is magnificent. We Stayed in the Wellesley Room on the ground floor. Stayed in March 2011. The room, staff and breakfast couldnt have been better. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was meant to be part of a romantic weekend getaway and my husband had booked us in the luxuriously appointed Bow Room - complete with a poster bed and an indulgent bathroom. The privacy of the rooms and everything inside it spells luxury and truly makes this a pampering stay.

The service was great but the room was the highlight. The place is a considerable distance from the town centre while being close to the Royal Crescent and Botanical Gardens. The breakfast was quite a spread but I would rate it as 3/5 only.

In all, an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent one night in the Wellington Room at Apsley House and could not recommend it too highly. We have always stayed in hotels before when we have stayed in Bath, but saw the good reviews on Trip adviser for this B and B and thought we would give it a try.
Obviously if you needed a Spa or dining facilities this would not be for you. But if all you look for in a hotel is a fabulous room with all the little luxuries like Molton Brown toiletries, bathrobes, fluffy white towels,coffee/tea making facilities, fresh flowers, magazines on the coffee table etc , then Apsley House is perfect. The house is on the outskirts of town and has ample parking.(It would be a 20 min walk into the town centre) We got a very friendly welcome and the house was so beautifully furnished throughout that it felt very homely. Breakfast was delicious as other reviewers have described. The only negative was that the house is very old with creaky floors and we could hear the people in the room above until they (finally!) got into bed.
Expensive for a B and B but in comparison to a hotel was great value, given the quality of the room ,it's size and furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I can't say anything more than has already been said. We had the "Romantic" room for our 42nd wedding anniversary. 6ft four-poster, south facing windows, lovely views, beautiful large bathroom with slipper bath and walk in shower. Everything was top quality and nothing too much trouble.
Bus stop almost outside the hotel if you didn't want to walk the 1 1/2 miles to the town centre.

Room Tip: Wellington and Romantic probably have the best position but are the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_Crusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing