We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 in Bath for a good reason”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Bath for a good reason”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful and luxurious hotel for one night, but would have happily stayed for a week! Upon arrival we were warmly greeted. We had a few questions about where to eat and also about evening entertainment in Bath, all of which were answered with friendliness and an impressive knowledge. We were then showed to our room (the Wellington room, room number 1). This is an impressive a room as we’ve ever stayed in. Importantly for me it was spotlessly clean as was the recently refurbished bathroom (check the pictures of both the room and the bathroom which I have uploaded to my album).
The room had a large super king size bed, dressing table, chaise lounge, wardrobe, extensive tea making supplies, trouser press, iron, flat screen TV with freeview, telephone and alarm clock etc. You could not have asked for more. All was tastefully decorated in the style of the house. The bathroom had recently been renovated to a high standard and included a delightful slipper bath and a seperate walk in shower.
The little things had been thought of too. Tissues, cotton wool pads, cotton buds were available in the bathroom and bedroom. Bottles of water (2 of them chilled in the rooms fridge) were included. A variety of magazines concerning the local area as well as the national press were available.
Staff in the hotel continued to be helpful and friendly. They were more than happy to call for a taxi and then enquire about our day. It really is these personal touches which set hotels such as these apart from ‘chain’ hotels.
At night the locale is very quiet and there was no noise from other guests at all. While we did not make use of the drawing room and the honour bar, it was readily available for us, and as with the rest of the house, was elegantly decorated with beautiful views of the garden.
For breakfast, the high standard of customer care and exceptional quality continued. A variety of juices, cereals and fruits were available in the buffet on arrival to the dining room. Soon after seating at a table by the window to overlook the garden, we were served by a very polite and professional member of staff. We both ordered the full English breakfast with toast. It was brought to us promptly, having been freshly cooked. It was delicious and another example of how this hotel provides things to a high standard. The quality of the food was excellent and there was plenty there to get you ready for the day.
As I said earlier, we would have happily stayed at Apsley House for a week. A sophisticated hotel with a truely welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Thanks to all at Apsley House who made our stay so enjoyable and we look forward to returning to you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    161
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
996
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

From the very beginning of our experience when we advised that we'd arrive by motor bike, the Apsley House owners and managers could not have been more helpful; Duncan being there to greet us and help with parking when we arrived.
This was a surprise trip for me, an events organiser for venues throughout the UK - and I was blown away by the standards set at Apsley House: it really is that good.
Duncan and Anel have a real gift for showing this Georgian house to its full potential and we feel lucky to have stayed here as their guests; it was a truly delightful couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiziM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I was tempted to book the hotel following the tripadvisor rating as number one in Bath and thought it should hopefully be a great stay - me and my boyfriend were not disappointed. Lovely rooms, beautiful surroundings, and the best service I have experienced for a long time. The owners/managers were very knowledgable about Bath and what to do in the city centre - they gave us lots of ideas of things to do and places to eat - all of which were great. The walk into town takes about half an hour, but it's a nice walk and you can go through the park on the way. Bath has an array of lovely boutiques along with the high end of the high street. We visited the Roman Baths and would definitely recommend it - so interesting, we must have spent 3 hours going through it. Didnt get time to go to the Thermal Spa, but will definitely be back and will stay back in Apsley House Hotel. Breakfast is amazing - I really recommend the American pancakes, what a treat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I booked this hotel for an American friend of mine who was visiting last weekend. I spent a lot of time at Apsley house, and was very impressed as was she. Very clean, beautiful flowers in reception. Lovely gardens, honesty bar. She said the breakfasts were superb, best poached eggs she'd ever eaten! Her bedroom was on the top floor, lovely room, tastefully decorated,top quality fabrics and linens, bathrooms clean and modern, with Molton Brown goodies.Good selection of teas etc., Quality biscuits/little cakes. Every morning she emerged well rested, said beds and pillows were so comfortable. I had a test myself and agreed! She had an early departure so one of the managers made her a super breakfast 'to go'. The manager's work hard to keep the hotel running at a high standard.
When we arrived many of the other guests hadn't arrived so we managed to sneak a peak at some other rooms, all of which were really lovely. The Romantic room especially so.
My house is very small, so I am always looking for somewhere to put guests, as long as they have rooms, Apsley House will always be my first choice. If i didn't live around the corner I'd stay there myself!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is great - a wonderful building, lovely unusual rooms, great breakfast - but most of all what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Duncan couldn't have been more helpful from the moment we arrived. He clearlu enjoys his job and is great at it. He helped us with hints and advice on places to see - recommended some great bars. Our weekend wouldn't have been the same without these recomendations. The only downside is that the hotel is a little bit out of town - but it is nice and quiet so I guess that is the compromise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed at the Apsley over a weekend with friends and had a brilliant stay - service was excellent and very welcoming with tips on where to go to eat and drink in Bath. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and are very comfortable. Breakfast again was very good with a decent choice and all cooked perfectly. We got a guided tour around the rest of the hotel rooms as well (we stayed in the Waterloo and friends in the Salamanca) and they all looked great. Would recommend without reservation as a brilliant base if you're exploring Bath. A*

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our group of eight have got to congratulate this hotel for its excellence in every way. From the intial welcome the wonderful staff excellent rooms and a breakfast to die for.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHB0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing