We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“elegant hotel in Bath”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“elegant hotel in Bath”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Apsley House Hotel for three nights. We loved it. We stayed in the Champagne room, which has a big four-poster bed, a modern bathroom with shower, and a lovely view. The building is gorgeous, with an elegant parlor and dining room overlooking a pretty garden and the stunning hillside. Free wi-fi was a bonus too. Breakfast, which was included, was fantastic. We are both vegetarian, and the hotel easily accommodated us, and their menu states that they can provide for special diets and allergies. I highly recommend the whiskey porridge! Alcoholic drinks are reasonably priced and freely available in the parlor until 10pm; you can mix them yourself and then just record what you had on a little slip of paper to be charged when you check out. The hotel is in a residential area with a parking lot that is free to guests. It is located just over a mile from all the major sites in Bath: the Royal Crescent, Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, etc., which are all within a few blocks of each other. It was a pleasant walk, and part of it was through the beautiful Royal Victoria Park. Although we walked everywhere, we saw plenty of cabs and buses coming by; no need to drive after you arrive. We had a wonderful time, and hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
977
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I booked Apsley House as a little getaway for our first wedding anniversary and my husband and I were not disappointed. Located just outside the city centre but in a lovely part of town, the walk in through the park and along the Royal Crescent is a sight seeing tour in itself. We were in the Peninsular room, up in the eaves of the house, but lovely and spacious and very quiet. The delicious breakfasts are freshly cooked and the staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much to ask. There is also plenty of parking outside the hotel which is a nice bonus, given that many of the city centre hotels don't offer parking at all, or you have to pay an additional charge for it. In all, a beautifully appointed guest house, we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Last minute decision to stop over in Bath led to a quick visit to TripAdvisor where Apsley House had a high recommendation. It was also offering a reduced rate for last minute bookings so we got a good deal.
It is 1 mile from the centre but there is a great walk (off the main road) through parkland to the Crescent & private parking at the hotel made this a good option (there is also a bus stop opposite the Hotel but a 20 minute walk is better than a 15 minute wait).
The hosts recommended a good restaurant - The Circus http://www.thecircuscafeandrestaurant.co.uk/
which was excellent & surprisingly good value given the quality of food and central location.
We also tried a couple of good pubs - The Coeur de Lion - Bath's smallest pub http://www.coeur-de-lion.co.uk/
and the Raven - City Pub of the Year 2010
http://www.theravenofbath.co.uk/
Both served excellent real ale and had traditional atmosphere without the irrelevant nonsense you find in most pubs to attract punters.
Walked home and had a great kip in a wonderful Kingsize bed despite the fact that the house was originally built by Wellington who was only a duke!
Breakfast offered a great selection including a Chef's Special which (I think) changes daily.
Anyhow this set us up for a walk back into town and a must do session at the bath spa http://www.thermaebathspa.com/
Expensive but excellent - unless you are a local you probably won't come back so do it while you can.
This rating does not give 5 on all scores simply because I would not normally pay over £100 per night for B&B and the distance from town is quite a trek especially after a couple of pints of local brew - it is also quite boring in daytime to go the direct route along the A4 but apart from these quibbles we really loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Very efficient, friendly welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast choice and food very good - all freshly prepared, not kept hot under heaters.

The hotel has its own parking. It is a little way out of the city centre, but only two minutes to the Park & Ride, which gave a very frequent service to the centre of the city.

Good value for money and we would happily recommend the Hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyager042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

the reviews give a good idea what to expect and our expectations were exceeded. we booked last minute and had a reduced rate. we said we would arrive early and asked if we could park there to go into town. this was welcomed and when we arrived our room was ready for us and we were able to book in. our hosts gave us a map and showed us some places to visit. the rooms are comfortable and the fresh flowers are an added homely touch. the breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruits and a great choice of cooked options. the honesty residents bar and WIFI are great ideas and we hope to be able to return soon

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

It does not matter as this establishment oozes warmth and class. My Wife and I have returned following a stay at the hotel and I would give it 10 out of 10 from the sincere welcoming to farewell greeting.
We stayed in the Beau room which was tastefully decorated with its four poster bed and high top bath. The room was just right for that romantic getaway.
Bath as previously mentioned is ½ hour walk away or a ten minute bus ride away.
We visited the following and found them to be good value and also welcoming:
The Weston public house is a ten minute walk away from the hotel, we were met with a smile by the manager, the service and beer were very good.
The Beau Nash Public House (in the centre of Bath} served a good selection of value traditional fayre and the beer was very good again!!!!
Jamie’s Italian Restaurant provided us with excellent food and service, one minus point; it was that intimate however definitely worth a visit.
To the staff and owners of the Apsley House Hotel, thank you for the effort and attention to detail, you made our stay one that we will not forget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morseWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary on the basis of other tripadvisor reviews. It is as good as people say. We stayed in the Beau room, which is a lovely room, with a four poster bed and a massive antique bath. This room has a great atmosphere, it's nice and warm, really romantic. The room was always immaculate, there was a great selection of tea and coffee, as well as lots of Molton Brown creams, lotions and soaps. It also has a good TV with a DVD player if you're feeling like staying in. They allow take aways in the room and will provide menus, plates and cutlery. The staff were very helpful, really friendly and generally wonderful. The breakfasts were good and there's lots of choice. You can walk into Bath quite quickly, buses are easy to get and taxis aren't that expensive. Bath is a great place to visit, lots of excellent history, good cafes and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're looking for a quiet romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing