We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run small hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well run small hotel in great location”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Harington's in January. Chose the hotel because of the convenient downtown location and good Trip Advisor reviews. The rate was £108.00 for a superior double, including the excellent breakfast with many choices, cold and hot. The last morning I indulged in the "Full English Breakfast" including sausage, bacon, black pudding, tomato, mushroom, eggs because I figured they would do it well. I was not disappointed: it was nicely prepared and presented and not greasy at all. Best bacon I have had in the UK. (Beware of the cheap breakfasts advertised by pubs!)
The hotel is very clean and freshly done up. Our room, on the third floor, was very attractively furnished and comfortable. We had to go up steps to the sparkly new bathroom, which worried us a bit, but we dealt with it just fine. We are still able to carry our bags up and down stairs, but the lack of an elevator could definitely be a problem for some.
The location was great, just off the major shopping street and we found good restaurants nearby.
Bath is a lovely small city, great things to see in every direction. We took the free, 2 hour "Mayor of Bath's Honorary Civic Walking Tour" which gave us an excellent overview of the major sights.
We would definitely stay here again, but want to make it clear that this is an old building with lots of levels and steps and no lift. Very charming but not suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Dear Guest, Thanks for the great review. Great to see you found us such good value for money. We have made a lot of changes here at Harington's and hope you are able to visit us again soon to show off our re-energised hotel. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    335
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
185
637
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The room was comfortable and clean; the staff were helpful and pleasant. The location is ideal for visiting the centre of Bath. We had a great night's sleep and a very good cooked breakfast. We are planning to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

This small boutique hotel is in the perfect location in the centre of bath. All attractions, shops & restaurants are within an easy walking distance. The staff are were all friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

As first time visitors to Bath we were very impressed with Bath and the hotel. Australians aren't used to seeing too much snow and to wake up to a 3 inch covering of snow added to the beauty of Bath. We chose Harringtons because of its very central position, its reasonably close car park and previous favourable Trip Advisor comments. We were not disappointed. The room was modern, clean,quiet and the beds were very comfortable.. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.. The only factor holding me back from rating the hotel 100% was the tariff.which ended up being the highest rate we paid during 5 weeks overseas. We decided that for just a single night, the position and the car park made it wortwhile.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Lovely small Boutique Hotel in a great location. It can be found in the town centre within walking distance to the Shops, Restaurants and Roman Baths. The room was clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was great in the morning with a good choice of cooked or continental. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearnFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Our recent trip to the lovely City of Bath was enchanced by the fact we chose Harington's as our base - right in the centre of the City . Friendly and most helpful Staff who cared for us from our arrival to our departure. We had a most comfortable room with all facilities required and an excellent breakfast each morning. Would highly recommend for a few days R&R in the beautiful City.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenndyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed in the Appartment attached to the hotel for the weekend with friends, doubt you could get better placed accomodation, the appartments are nicely appointed with all the comforts of home, although there is only a small amount of living space the bedrooms (awful pillows!) and bathrooms are modern abd spacious the only downside were the uncomfortable settees which could be used as additional beds. My biggest gripe was with the pricing, please check their rates as the rates on the internet are not what you are charged, they apply "special rates" at their discression very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiD_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear reviewer, having investigated the matter you have brought up in this forum regarding our rates for the premier apartment I would like to answer your questions. The period you booked was over the Christmas market in Bath which is a peak time of year. We were charging full rates at this time of year as it is such a bust time in the city. This was explained to you when you made your initial telephone booking. We then e-mailed you confirmation of the rates you were going to be charged. You e-mailed back that you agreed with our Terms and Conditions. During your stay you queried the rate and we explained the rates to you again and you seemed happy with the explanation given and the reason why the rates were the full rates irrespective of the amount of people in the apartment during the Christmas market. We always try to be as transparent as possible in all our bookings. We will look at this issue to see if there is a way we can avoid any confusion in the future.

We are disappointed to hear you did not like our sofa. It is a top of the range leather four seat sofa which cost £3,500 and is only 2 years old. We do try and put the very best into our apartments and hotel rooms. All our pillows are sourced from the White Company and we do replace pillows on a regular basis. Unfortunately as you did not bring this to our attention we were unaware that you were unhappy with the pillows provided. We would of course given you alternative pillows. Housekeeping will be informed to check the quality of all pillows tomorrow.

We work very hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay. If we have failed you on this occasion I would like to apologise and hope you give us a second chance in the future. I hope you enjoyed you stay over all with us at Harington's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing