We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - but thats about it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - but thats about it!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I have just come back fro a 3 night stay at the Haringtons hotel in Bath, and have to say i am very disappointed with the hotel.
After reading numerous reviews myself and my partner picked this hotel due to its location and reputation for service and stayed over valentines day.
We stayed in room 10, and it is described as one of there largest rooms with a bath and cost £150 per night.
The room was quite small with a lack of storage space for the two of us to use - just one small wardrobe and 3 small draws.
The bath was broken - the decorative metal trim around the overflow was not fixed and kept falling off, and it was nearly impossible to get the plug out unless you used a knife to prise it up.
The floor in the bedroom had such a slope on it that i could not put a drink on the bedside table without it sliding off, i had to prop the table up with magazines to level it up and use it.
Also the housekeeping was not up to any kind of descent standard, once cleaned empty drinks bottles were not removed, and generally the room appeared not much cleaner than before. Also on one occassion our towels were taken and fresh ones not left, and i asked for 2 spare pillows to be told they only had one.
On Sunday 14th Feb at about 4pm i asked if they were still serving food to be told by a member of staff that she did not know, and i would have to wait until her manager came back. About 30mins later i managed to get a sandwich and a drink, but the general attitude of the only staff member on duty on Sunday was 'i don't know' (a phrase she used constantly on the telephone.)
There was also a lot of noise on the floorboards from the room above, and my girlfriend stated the sheets on the bed were like hospital sheets, a fact i agree with as they make you sweat alot, even when the room is cool.
On the plus side location is great, breakfast was good, and they sorted out the car parking with no trouble.
Finally on a general houskeeping point, as you enter the hotel there is a mat to wipe your feet set into the floor. It is surrounded by brass edging strips, and the largest of these was not fixed and i constantly tripped over it or kicked it as i entered or left.
It was like this from when we arrived till when i left, and only needed a couple of screws to hold it down. It is only a small thing but sums up in my opinion the failings of the hotel when it comes to customer satifaction and service, they could do a lot of things a lot better.
So in overview we found the hotel is in a great location, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchkin079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
The team at Harington's are very disappointed to hear that the above reviewer was not satisfied with their stay at the hotel. We will look to rectify any of the failings that he has brought to our attention immediately.

I would like to reassure people regarding a few points made. As the building that the hotel is housed in is an amalgamation of three town houses in the centre of Bath room shapes and sizes are not uniform as in many conventional hotels. We feel this adds to the uniqueness of Harington's. We are not a run of the mill high street brand. The room the guest was in has a king sized bed with bath and shower en-suite. As the bed is over 6ft in width and 6ft 6" in length it does take up a large amount of space. Some of our ceiling slant and some door heights are low but as we are a Grade ll listed building we are legally obliged to keep them as they are. The building is of historic significance. Having said that we offer a modern environment in a old setting. All rooms and bathrooms have been refurbished in the last three years. We have already started refurbishing some rooms after less than four years.

We have already rectified the pop up plug in the bath that was not working correctly. Unfortunately we were not aware there was a problem with this until the customer had checked out. Had the customer brought to light him dissatisfaction with his room we could have tried to rectify his problem at the start of his stay. It is always unfortunate when we learn of these problems after the guest has departed.

Regarding the delay in getting a sandwich on Sunday I can only apologise. I was personally on site at the hotel from 8am till 7pm that day and was not aware of any difficulty. We serve food all day from breakfast time with last orders up until 8pm. Our bar is open until 12midnight 7 nights a week.

We take criticism constructively and all points raised by the customer where he feels we left him down will be looked at in detail and the necessary action taken to rectify the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    337
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
192
646
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I arrived for a 4 night stay and were put in room 11 on the top floor although we are in our 60's! There are no lifts and the room was disappointingly small but clean. The bathroom was a cupboard with washing and toilet facilities! I requested a move to a lower floor the next morning which I thought would be possible as 2 young couples booked out as I waited to speak to the receptionist. However, the receptionist said she would have to consult the owner who consequently refused the request.
The breakfast is definitely to be recommended and the waitress' are very polite and competent. I fail to see how this can be referred to as a hotel, I would rate it a disappointing B& B. On our last day we had to use our own shampoo and shower gel as we were left insufficient supplies for our last morning. Definitely would not return especially as there is a very good hotel, Mercure Hotel, and several other good B&B's just around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner/Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
We are disappointed to hear that this couple were not happy with their room. The booking for this couple was made through a third party booking agent. The room that was booked was one of our standard double rooms which are our smaller double rooms and are on the third floor of the building and as we are a listed building we do not have a lift. We do make this clear on our website and share this information with our booking agents also. So the couple should have been aware that the room was one of our smaller double rooms on the third floor. All direct booking confirmations from the hotel will clearly state this information.

Unfortunately we were unable to facilitate a room switch to a lower level room as we were fully booked for their 4 night stay. We have only 13 rooms with 3 different room types so as other people had specifically booked certain room types we were not able to move them to a different room type. We would have needless to say facilitated their request for a room move had we been able to accommodate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Planned to stay in the premier apartment here last weekend with family members who were stuck in the snow and unable to make it. When we tried to cancel with 3 day's notice we were told with no exception that we would be liable for the full cost of the stay with no refund. Decided that 2 of us would go anyway so as not to completely waste £360 and found they had locked us out of half of the apartment they were charging us for full use of. A great pity as we are back in Bath next weekend but it will be in another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekender95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed at the Harington for two nights recently on a short break in Bath with my fiance. For starters this hotel is in the perfect location, close to everything, bars, shops and restaurants galore, including Jamie Olivers. Is set on an idylic cobbled street, which was very quiet night and day. Allocated parking was a two minute walk, which wasnt a problem (maybe could have been if it had been raining). Our room was spacious yet cosy, modern and very clean. For a standard double it was very good value! Love the pink patterned blinds and cushions!! Breakfast was extremely good, great fry-up! Staff were friendly and helpful. Bar was reasonably priced. We were on the top floor and there was no lift but this was clearly stated at booking so no problem at all. Will be returning to Bath around Christmas time for the markets, would not hesitate to stay here again, and I have already recommended to friends! Recommend The Raven Pub opposite and Jamies Italian :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

"About as big as a minute," as my mother would say, but that's only on the outside. Inside, it's warm and roomy, with a very friendly staff. Room was huge and comfortable; only drawback was that the bed was a little small for two. My reaction was that any move made while sleeping became a group decision. Other than that, it was a gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights, and I would recommend the full English breakfast! very very tasty! Great location about a 1 minute walk to the shops! and near to Jamies resturant which I would recommend a visit. Above all a pleasant stay, room was comfy the windows are a little thin and allow some noise to come in. Bathroom is superb and very pleasant and modern. The only issue is the car park, which is about 4-5 minutes walk and costs £9 a day but this is great when you see how much everywhere else is, so best to drop the luggage off pick up the pass and take the car to the car park as you cant get in other wise. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmwcsl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
Dear Guest, We never get tired of hearing how much our customers enjoy their stay. We strive to improve our hotel for our customers every day. I hope we can welcome you back to Harington's very soon. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY Greater Metro Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Right in the center of everything...which makes for an easy walk. Smart, clean,lupdated decor. Public areas -lounge,bar,dining- nicely conducive to socializing. Comfy bed. Friendly staff. But this is a compilation of Georgian apartments so our "room" had 2 formidable staircases: one to get to the bed area, another to get to the bath area...no hair conditioner, blinking hall lights, dirty carpet and highly fragranced. The car lot was inconvenient and quite a rainy walk away, valet would've been appreciated. Next time the Francis? or Brock's Guest House...they both looked lovely and were similarly well-located.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nameburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing