We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Boutique Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Luxury Boutique Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Wow we have just returned from a fabulous stay at this gem of a hotel in the centre of bath, away from the noise. We chose it based on other reviews but our stay exceeded our expectations. Its the little things that matter. Our room was exquisitely finished with unusual touches from which you knew there was a lot of thought put into the whole place. The breakfast is the best we have had at any hotel and we travel a lot. Fresh Juices, Freshly baked breads, and the English Breakfast was to die for. No excess grease you often get in some places. Every request was met with enthusiasm and there was never a problem with anything we asked for. We even wanted a particular Champagne for an anniversary celebration and they ensured it was got. We have recommended it to our friends who are traveling to bath shortly. We can't wait to return. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff at Haringtons.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteljunkie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest, myself and my team were overjoyed to read your review. It is really lovely when we can see people appreciated all the extra things we try to give guests during there stay at Harington's. We are constantly working on further enhancements to our product so you might notice some changes when you next visit. Once again heart felt thanks and we hope to see you back soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    343
    52
    11
    8
See reviews for
202
668
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed just for the one night with my friend. We are local to Bath but wanted a night away in our 'old' stomping ground without husbands and babes. We know Bath well and I have stayed previously at The Abbey Hotel, but would choose the Harington's over the Abbey next time, much more intimate and friendly.

The room was lovely, clean, decor was up to date, extremely comfy. Great night's sleep, and surprisingly little noise considering so centrally situated.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, convenient parking in Charlotte St Car Park with a permit provided by Harington's. We booked the hot tub for an hour, which was lovely! Great position for shopping and restaurants, tonnes to choose from but best to book if you have a particular preference, we forgot! We have eaten at Jamie's many times but they could not fit us in, Carluccio's did and we enjoyed a lovely meal there.

and breakfast was fab, what more could two tired Mum's in need of a break need? Would stay again and would even take husband : )

Room Tip: Our Deluxe Double to the front was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank East0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you returned back home refreshed after your night away in Bath. Not sure how long you have been away from Bath but we have gained some amazing new restaurants in the city over the last few years. Next time you come to stay please ask our reception staff for some recommendations. We can point you in the direction of the best old and new restaurants in the city. We like eating out a bit too much ourselves so are up to date with what the best current restaurants are.

Especially delighted to see you were delighted with your room comfort and decor. We are always looking to improve our room offering here at Harington's. As we speak the decorator is currently working on one of our rooms. Catch the new pictures on our website soon.

Many Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harington's. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room was very good, clean comfy and nice though compact bathroom with plenty of hot water. Staff very welcoming and warm. Would most definitely stay again and would recommend. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, location superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear KM, Thanks for your review. One of the big things we like to think we provide our guests at Harington's is a friendly yet professional service. We are a small hotel that adopts a relaxed and friendly approach to our guests, but at the same time staying professional. I'm delighted that you feel we have got the balance right. Our central location really adds to the fun and enjoyment of spending a few days in our wonderful city. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel is small and cosy with a personal and friendly feel to it. Ideally located in centre of the town and close to all attractions, shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere and returned to the hotel for a lovely private hot tub experience with half bottle of champagne in the moonlight!! A room at the front of the hotel did give rise to some noise from people leaving local drinking establishments but it was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Amanda S, Thanks for your review on your stay. Our outdoor hot tub is very popular with our guests. You get exclusive use of the hot tub when you book it, along with robes, slippers and complimentary sparkling water. Or even better have a glass of champagne or a drink from the bar, while watching the stars!
Our location is perfect for visiting Bath, no taxis required as you just walk everywhere when you are staying in the very center of the city. I hope you come back to visit us soon. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Parking was worth the extra £11. The car park was only a 4 min walk away and I would recommend booking, as parking is not the easiest to find in Bath.
The hotel was very central, attractions and shops literally on the doorstep. The room was comfortable and we had a room located at the back which was very quiet.
The staff were very helpful me and my partner arrived on Sunday and as my partner is a keen rugby fan wanted to watch the rugby. The staff were more than happy to put the TV on for us in the lounge area so we could watch it. We had a lovely little lunch and drinks by the bar. The cream tea was lovely.
In the evening my partner and I decided to use the hot tub we didnt book this in advance but we booked it in the evening with a bottle of champagne waiting for us it was lovely. I would definitely recommend as we had the hot tub to ourselves. :-)
The breakfast was lovely. The pancakes are a must and it was nice to have freshly squeezed Orange Juice.
Overall I would recomment this hotel. Central location, staff friendly and helpful and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a large room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed lunch in the bar. We were more than happy to put the rugby on for you. I am also glad you enjoyed the hot tub, it has proved very popular.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and our new orange juicer.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel is very convient to Bath centre. Staff very helpful. Breakfast is excellent, freshly squeezed orange juice. Very good hair dryer. Stayed here for two nights to celebrates wife's birthday and go to rugby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Busterneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Busterneil, thanks for taking the time to leave you review. As you say our location is great for seeing everything in Bath. We are only a 10 minute walk to the Recreation Ground where bath play rugby. There is always a great atmosphere in town on match day. Good banter being had in all the local hostelries!

Delighted you enjoyed our new juicer, it gives great tasting juice and you cant get it much fresher. Just press the button and 5 seconds later you have a perfect glass of freshly squeezed juice. Presto!

Many thanks again. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A charming little place in a nice spot in Bath. The room was a miracle of getting a lot of function into a small space--something I love about UK hotel rooms generally. Service was fast, friendly, and unassuming; just right for a good welcome. The staircase was a bit of a challenge for this somewhat overweight old Yank, but should pose no obstacle to the young and sprightly. The bathroom was extremely well thought-out--much better than encountered in most US hotels. Sleep was only so-so for me. For some reason, probably my own traveler's agitation, the duvet and I didn't get along quite so well. In the duvet's defense, my wife slept wonderfully. Checkout was a breeze, the young lady at the desk unhesitatingly fetching our bags from the basement in a trice. Should good fortune lead us back to Bath, it will, as well, lead us back to the Harrington. Well done, and many thanks.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the street. The view was charming and made me forget all about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Joseph D, thank you so much for your kind words. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Bath has so much to offer to anyone visiting it that it nearly always leaves a very positive feeling. We often get people from the U.S who may have been to Bath 20 years previously but wanted to come back again. So you never know we might get you back to Bath and to Harington's, hopefully sooner than 20 years!

Many Thanks

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing