We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A little oasis of calm right in the city centre. You couldn't ask to be located more centrally. We stayed on the top floor - please note there is no lift and the staircase is narrow. Our room was spotless and really nicely furnished with a brilliant bathroom and great shower. With no air conditioning, the rooms can get warm, and without double glazing, rooms at the front could be noisy - especially with seagull noise! The staff are really really friendly and helpful, breakfast is cooked to order and to a very high standard. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that isn't a chain hotel, this could very well be perfect for you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Teppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of you stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am happy you found the room and bathroom to your liking, as well as finding everything clean and tidy. I am also glad you found the breakfast to be of a high standard.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of town. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was yummy. The only downside was the seagulls make quite a bit of noise which woke us up early. Besides this we were very pleased with our stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. I am extremely glad to hear that you found everything to your liking and had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am sorry you were disturbed but and glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel from 26th August for 2 nights 2013. The staff are so helpful and friendly they couldnt do enough for us, the breakfast is lovely and the eating area very clean.the room was cosy and nicely decorated with a big bathroom, tab hotel the best locationhe first night it was quite noisy outside due to it being bank holiday ( perhaps) and the seagulls are very loud. but the second night I didnt notice the noise but if you have trouble sleeping ask for a back room, All in all a fantasic hotel we will be staying there again and the perfect location. ( A visit to the thermae spa is a must :) )

Room Tip: back room less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 50stephz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us at the hotel. I am glad that you had enjoyable stay and found everything to your liking.

We are lucky with our location being so central, I am sorry to hear you were disturbed on your first night. Generally we do not suffer from noise due to being on a small side road.

I am glad to hear you will stay again in the future and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed on Sunday night as part of a very special anniversary weekend. We can both honestly say that we would not stay anywhere else in Bath and felt we must leave a review for such a wonderful establishment. The staff were amazing, any help, advice or extras we needed came promptly and with a smile. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean with lots of lovely little touches making Haringtons stand out from a chain hotel. Location was ideal and breakfast was delicious - we got the impression that we could have ordered the whole menu if we had wanted. We were asked to move rooms to accomodate a larger party however we were upgraded as a result with the added bonus of a complimentary bottle of bubbles which we enjoyed in the hotels private hot tub - much more exclusive than the fully booked twilight package at Thermae spa! The member of staff who came to help us move seemed utterly mortified at having to ask us but to be honest I think we got the better deal!!! Do not hesitate to book your stay with Haringtons, we were sad to wake up in our own bed this morning. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review od your stay with us at the hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the use of the hot tub.

I am happy to hear that you found the room upgrade to your liking and enjoyed the complimentary bubbles, and thank you for agreeing to the room change.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the hotel as a whole. I am glad that you enjoyed your 1st anniversary with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family of 3 stayed here for 2 nights in August, during a 2 1/2 week vacation to England and Paris, and found this to be one of the better spots to stay. We stayed in cheaper B&B's, more expensive hotels, as well as apartments in London and Paris.
The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, the room was attractive and comfortable, the location was central without being noisy, and the breakfast was better than most of the competition (although at this point I never want to see another "English breakfast" again!).
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in the hotel. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am happy to hear that you found the room attractive and comfortable, and found all the staff to be friendly.

I do hope we welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I don't often leave reviews but always check trip advisor when booking a trip and I always find the reviews very useful.
Our stay at the harington's hotel was excellent, the staff were amazing and so helpful, nothing was too much and even offered assistance without being prompted, which is rare these days.

We were loaned towels for our visit to the bath spa, our bags were carried up to the room and loaded into the car when we left. We had a parking space and were allowed to keep th permit after checking out, so we did not have to worry about moving the car and were free to enjoy a day in bath.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be telling all my friends to stay here.

One last thing there is a great Gin bar down the street which is a brilliant, (if you like gin!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dands1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel and your stay. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am also glad to hear that you found the staff to be helpful. We are always happy to help where we can, and I am certainly glad that you found this to be the case.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a one night stop over in Bath and we were not disappointed. First class staff, excellent location and great buffet breakfast (continental). Car park not too far away and everything was clean and tidy. Only drawback was the two flights of stairs to our attic room. My fault, I should have checked first. Okay for my fit young daughter (22) but a bit much for a puffed out old dragon like me(55) ! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room and avoid the attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumsTheWord57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all the staff helpful.

Our standard rooms are all on the top floor, however we are always happy to assist with bags to the rooms.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $101 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing