We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy room, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, comfy room, nice people”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed over after going to the theatre and will definitely stay again. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the location is simply unbeatable for sightseeing, restaurants, shopping and theatre. Our (standard) room was compact but had been well thought out and had everything you could reasonably need. Infact this applies to the whole place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilWragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all the staff to be helpful.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    338
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
192
648
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel based on Trip Adviser reviews and we were not disappointed.
Easily found with a sat nav, maybe slightly harder if no sat nav but once it's found you're not far from anywhere in city centre. We stayed one Sunday night, temperature was high during the day and pretty warm at night but no problem with noise anywhere nearby.
The hotel is decorated tastefully and well laid out although the building is relatively small. There is no on-site parking but you can book a local car park at an extra cost. The car park is close and within walking distance. We booked this at the same time as hotel.
The room was spacious, modern and the bed was very comfortable. the shower was a decent size, and toilet very well laid out.
Breakfast is excellent. There are continental breakfasts, orange juice, orders will be taken for tea and toast and breakfast is in menu form. We both opted for a cooked breakfast which was quite substantial.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel to your liking.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer for breakfast, and found all the staff in the hotel to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had an excellent weekend in Bath at Harringtons. I went for the package which included the private jacuzzi which was a nice touch. The hotel was right in the centre of town so everything was a maximum of 5minutes walk. Breakfast and the service was flawless. Wasn't the cheapest but it seems that the whole of Bath isn't either! Would go again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parmarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Hot Tub, it has proved very popular.

We are lucky with our location, and I am glad that you would stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a charming, small hotel in the heart of Bath's historic district.

Our room was larger than most rooms in older, boutique hotels and was well equipped with a very comfortable bed, large wardrobe and a bright, functional bath. There's no lift but stairs and landings are well designed and easy to navigate.

Breakfast was excellent, with a full selection of hot dishes and a good cold buffet spread. It's served in charming rooms that take you back to Georgian times if you squint your eyes.

The staff are friendly and helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. We will definitely stay here when we return to Bath.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

All of our rooms do differ in size, and we do our best to maximise the space. I am happy to hear that you found the room to be spacious and the bathroom to you liking.

I am thrilled to hear that you found all the staff to be helpful and friendly, and glad that you found the recommendations to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved this hotel! The rooms were nicely appointed, the location was outstanding (right down the street from the Roman Baths/other sights), and the staff was helpful/courteous. These were the most comfortable beds we slept on for our entire trip through England, pure heaven. The breakfast was outstanding: they offered a wide variety of choices as well as the standard "meatie" as well as a spread including lots of fresh ripe fruit, multiple types of juice, cereals, yogurt, etc. The only drawback is one that you find in most European hotels: no elevator/lift. However, the staff carried our bags up to our room and so we didn't have lug them ourselves. Felt like we had a little "home away from home" at Harington's and we'd definitely go back if we return to Bath.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make such a positive review about you stay with us. I am extremely glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all aspects of the hotel to you liking.

Unfortunately we do not have a lift, however we are happy to assist with bags to the rooms. I am glad you found the hotel to be like "home away from home", and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We checked in on Fri 21st June and stayed for 2 nights.

Haringtons is a perfectly pleasant base and we would stay there again - very central and we could walk all around Bath without having to get a taxi.

I received an email from the manager about a week before we were due to stay to advise us to book a restaurant if we were visiting at the weekend - we took note of this advice and did just that. (really wanted to go to Sotto Sotto but fully booked-hotel recommended this restaurant when I rang asking for advice on an independent Italian restaurant).

Our room (no 10) was nice and clean, bed & bed linen looked superbly clean.

I assume that for most people, all you need your hotel for is somewhere to sleep so I wasn't fussed that the room wasn't huge - it suited our needs perfectly. Nice hot shower, clean, good lighting.

Breakfast was nice my husband chose the full monty which consisted of 1 sausage, 1 bacon, toast, choice of eggs, 1 tomato, black pudding and 2 mushrooms. I opted for the veggie option which was veggie sausage (which was lovely), choice of egg, toast, beans, fried bread, tomato and mushrooms. There were other options available such as pancakes, scrambled egg & a bagel or porridge. They also had a selection of fruit, yogurts croissants, cereals and juices.

We heard no noise at all from any pubs etc only the seagulls (our room overlooked the back of the hotel)!!!! Next time I would take ear plugs (you can buy these from reception if you choose).

Staff were nice and helpful.

We visited the thermae bath spa (take your own towels) otherwise you get charged.

Would recommend a trip down the canal only £8 pp.

We went to an indian restaurant one night called Rajpoot - very tasty food-best curry ever.

The pump room was lovely - we went mid morning for coffee and a bath bun.

One evening we went to Martini Italian restaurant for an evening meal.

If I were to suggest anything to the hotel it would be menial things such as: have more than 1 teabag in the room per person - I did ask for another 2 teabags & they gave me 4 more.

Would have been helpful to know about taking our own towels to bath spa.

We did book a feature room but I'm unsure of what the feature was??

It is quite expensive and I would slightly agree with another review made re: I wouldn't go so far as to call it a boutique hotel more a very good b&b.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am glad that you found all the staff helpful and enjoyed your stay.

I am glad that you found the pre arrival email useful and that we could assit you with the planning of your trip.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer for brekfast, we do have many positive reviews on our breakfast offerings.

All of our rooms do vary in size and layout due to the hotel being a listed georgian townhouse, so we are limited on what changes can be made to the internal fabric of the building.

We are very proud that we are officially recognised as a 3 star Metro hotel by the AA. We do offer a fully manned reception desk and a residants bar up until midnight each evening. We have also a residants lounge serving light food up until 9pm each day.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and do look forward welcoming you again the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an extremely expensive b&b for what you get, I defiantly would not call this a hotel. The bedroom was tiny ( about two foot one side of the bed, 4foot the other side ), dont know why they call it a boutique room probably so they can charge more, ceilings low,bathroom barely size for a bath,guess that's why it was a half sized bath, the bed was really poor! Only place that in the middle of the night I had to get up and sleep on the floor... Windows had blinds in place but let in all the light,pointless there being blinds there at all 6am wake up call more a less. Breakfast was average, no fresh juice and hardly any toast, selection was poor, if you wanted anything over one sausage and and egg you have to ask for it... There is no outside area,they say a hot tub, to be fair they have one and the have blinds down so others can not see you, hot tub is right outside back door and window. The place is not for the elderly or disabled as there is a crazy stair system in place, steps everywhere and not just on the stairs!

Bath is a nice place, don't let this place spoil it for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farraige_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Harington's Hotel. I'am very disappointed to see that you were not happy with certain aspects of your stay with us. Our rooms do vary in size and as we are a listed town house building we are unable to alter the fabric of the building very much. So our room layout will be different from a new built hotel. But I think this is one of our strengths as we are individual unlike the big chain hotels. Again being a listed building we are unable to have a lift. Generally as you go up the building our rooms will get smaller. Our standard double rooms are on the third floor of the house. If a guest prefers a larger room and wants to be on a lower floor I would suggest they book a superior double or Feature double room which are on lower floors. Or best of all call us directly and we would be delighted to go through our various room options with you.

Our outdoor area consist of a patio courtyard with our hot tub. When someone books the hot tub we close off the area for the guests private use. Otherwise is is available for general guest use.As we are located right in the very hearth of the city of Bath we do not have a large outdoor area. I dont quire understand the point about our breakfast being only a sausage and an egg. Our English breakfast consists of 2 x bacon. 1 x sausage, 1 x flat mushroom, 2 x slices of black pudding and egg of you choice. So you can have as much or as little as you want. We also have numerous other options on our menu, such as pancakes, vegetarian breakfast, Kippers, our healthy morning glory, various gluten free products, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, not to mention all our options on our buffet table. Some days people order pancakes and a full English and this is not a problem. I apologise if you were not asked if you wanted more toast, if you had asked we would have been delighted to replenish the toast for you.

Regarding the level of light coming into your room, our rooms have a combination of curtains and blinds and we have not had any adverse comments from guests about his in the past. Having said that I would like to know which room you stayed in to see if we can improve in this area. All our bedrooms have top quality Hypnos beds which go into 5 star hotels throughout the country, so again I would like to know which room you stay in to access the bed.

I would like to take this opportunity to ask the guest to contact me directly (please ask for Peter or Julian) to discuss their stay, as I would be interested in understanding their concerns and how we can improve our level of guest satisfaction, and hopefully entice you to give us a second chance!!

We are really sorry you were not happy with your stay, but we work very hard to ensure all our guest have a great time when they stay with us at Harington's. We will endeavour to address the points you raised to see if we can improve our product and service. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing