We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the first hotel we have stayed in for years with no complaints! We are seasoned travellers and came here with some Australian visitors including their 3yr old. Couldn't have been more perfect and we managed to get a mid-week deal. Very comfortable beds/rooms, lovely bathrooms, excellent breakfast. Soup and sandwiches also Yummy. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and you weren't made to feel you were putting them out with the slightest request and they all made you feel very much at home . Situated In a prime central location where all the main sights were within walking distance. Allocated car parking spaces in car park 5 mins away. A real bonus - they will look after your luggage if you check in early and after you have checked out and still sightseeing. Thank you to Julian and the ''A" team for making us feel so welcome. I can honestly say we will be back! :-)

Room Tip: We had rooms 9 and 10 - on one floor. No lift but a listed building so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocksLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of what we have on offer.

I am also extremely happy to hear that you found all the staff at the hotel helpful at all times. I will be sure to pass your comments onto all the staff involved.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    325
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
608
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I loved my stay at Harington's Hotel in Bath. I had room number 6 which is a little attic room on the third floor - it was delightful and cozy. Harington's is a true boutique hotel with a small staff, everyone seems to play multiple parts. The breakfast is delicious. It's very homey and friendly and the location cannot be beat. It's right in the center of Bath, easy walking distance to everything I wanted to see. The receptionists were incredibly helpful, especially with choosing restaurants and getting directions.

When I return to Bath, I'll be staying at Harington's again!

Room Tip: Although there is no elevator here, I didn't find the stairs to be a problem at all. My room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel after you recent visit to Bath. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff helpful.

I am thrilled to hear that you loved you room. This room has recently been re-furbished, as have many of our rooms. I am glad that you found the decoration to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Harington's Hotel in bath and it was simply fabulous! This boutique hotel is located in the center of bath, within a five minute or less walking distance from anything you could ever want! The hotel beds were comfortable and the breakfast, which you could choose your option off a menu was very tasty and rivaled any restaurant! The staff was very accommodating and helpful as they were willing to book restaurant reservations and offer friendly suggestions on what to do around town. If you are looking for a great location and top notch hotel, make sure to visit Harington's!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and rated the hotel top notch. I also am glad to hear that you found all the staff helpful and enjoyed the breakfast offering.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved the whole stay. Appreciated a quiet room (as requested). Clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Superb location, quiet, off a busy street. Great gin bar across the street, too. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel, and found the room clean and comfortable.

We are always happy to accommodate guest requests, and I am glad that you found your room to be quiet. We are lucky in our location being right in the heart of Bath.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This was out 2nd visit to the premier apartment.As before, the accommodation was fantastic for our family of 5.The staff were very friendly on arrival and accommodating to our requests.Location was perfect and central for the shops and restaurant.seagulls can be a bit noisy in the early hours but there are alot of them in Bath!Definately booking again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybaby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in our Premier Apartment. I am glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Bath and our apartment.

I am glad you found the accommodation provided fantastic as before, as well as finding all the staff friendly and accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic place to stay as part of a little surprise get away for my partner. The staff were extremely helpful, someone was always on hand. They allowed us to keep our luggage in the hotel before we checked in at 2pm and after checkout for as long as we wanted. We only paid £11 to keep our car in the long stay car park on Charlottle Street from 11am Wednesday to 4pm Thursday thanks to the hotel (only a 5min walk away). This car park is normally £12.50 for 12 hours. The location is perfect, close to all main attractions. The breakfast was delicious and lots of choice available. Our room was a treat! Happy to stay again and cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Haringtons. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the room to your liking. I am also glad to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and always on hand.

We are always happy to hold luggage in the hotel on departure if required, and if possible we will extend parking when available.

I am glad that you will visit us again and recommend to friends. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this small boutique hotel for one night in March. The location of the hotel is ideal, with a short walk to the main shopping streets and Roman Baths. The hotel is in a quiet, cobbled street opposite a pub and just up the road from a number of good restaurants. We received friendly service and although the hotel did not have any parking spaces available, they were happy for us to drop our luggage off, then provided us with a map to the closest and cheapest parking area. Our room was immaculate and modern. The bathroom was lovely and the shower was spacious. The staff were happy to hold our luggage while we continued to look around this amazing city. We could not fault this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone going for a break in Bath. Reasonable priced also.

Room Tip: If you have any type of injury and don't cope well with stairs, we would recommend requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole081973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of he hotel. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff to be helpful. I am happy to hear you found your room and bathroom to be clean and modern.

We do hope you will visit again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing