We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient City centre Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient City centre Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the receptionist friendly. Our only hiccup was found when booking the hotel through last minute, they hadn't booked a triple room, however we were luckily still accommodated, although assume had this been a weekend night we would not have been so lucky. The hotel has no parking facilities. They have some reserved spaces about 500metres away.£11 for 24 hours. We had also booked B&B. The breakfast was a continental. An extra £7.50 each for cooked.In the morning we were greeted by the very friendly hotel manager who was very understanding on the booking mix up with regard to the triple room situation.

If you are looking for somewhere reasonable to stay in Bath then we recommend trying this hotel, particularly as it is very central.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet backstreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterBathBoy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about the hotel. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable and found the staff friendly.

I am glad we could assist with the mix up over the booking when it was sent over via the agent.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    325
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
608
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'll start off by saying that the room we stayed in may not be reflective of all the rooms in the hotel. We also understand that places like this are limited with what they can do with the space they have given these are period buildings.

As soon as we opened our room door we could smell damp. We had to climb a spiral staircase to get to our room where we discovered it wasn't an en-suite toilet but a shower-room that was in our room. We still haven't worked out where the condensation goes but the water from the shower didn't run away effectively therefore soaking the floor where you stand by the sink. We couldn't open the windows to give the room an air and to get to the toilet you have to go up some stairs (not good when it's cold and you're bleary eyed). My husband booked this hotel on the understanding that there was a bath... no bath and we still haven't figured out why you hang dressing gowns on the wall on the way up to a toilet when the shower is in your room on the other side of the door. Lots of features but not all beneficial to the guest.

Our room was above reception so we could hear everyone coming in and out (late and early) and we went out for breakfast because there was a charge if we wanted something more than continental. For the price of the room this didn't seem fair.

The bed is extremely comfortable so if it's location and a comfy bed you're looking for then this hotel will do the job.

Room Tip: Try not to pick the room by reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joroma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that your experience was not up to your expectation.

The room you stayed in is one of our Feature rooms. As you say this room is quirky. All of our rooms do differ in layout due to the age of the building. Due to the building having a Grade 2 listing we are limited in what we can do with regards to altering the internal fabric of the building.

I am also sorry that your husband believed he had booked a room with a bath. I have checked all agent booking sites, and the room descriptions. All of them state that the room you stayed in has a Wet Room off the bedroom and the toilet is up some stairs. It also does mention that the room is entered by a spiral stair case. I personally make sure that we are transparent as possible with our descriptions of each room.

With regards to the windows, the room has secondary glazing installed to cut out street noise. The secondary glazing can be pulled up allowing the window behind it to be open. I have also checked the Wet Room; the drainage seems fine as does the extractor fan. I have also checked the room and cannot smell damp myself.

Finally with regards to breakfast, when booking directly with the Hotel a Full English breakfast is offered. However when booking with a Third Party Booking agent we offer a Continental Breakfast, this includes freshly baked pastries, cereals, fresh fruits and Porridge can also be ordered, however you can order a Full breakfast for a small charge. We do make sure this is also clear on all Agents booking sites.

I am glad you found the bed comfortable and our location good.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, rooms very clean although our bathroom was a tad on the small size, however shops, spa and restaurants are only a short walk away. It was a perfect way to celebrate my birthday and seeing Bath in the snow made it that more stunning can not wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BecsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel. I am glad you found all the staff helpful and enjoyed our breakfast.

We are lucky with our location, being five minutes from all the major attraction and shops.

All of our rooms do differ in size and layout due to the age of the building, but we do our best to maximise the space available in each room.

I am glad you had a positive experience with us and will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms are always clean and well serviced. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The food is freshly cooked and superb. I have nothing to say against this hotel. Brilliant location and perfectly suited to what we needed.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stringz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to see that we have maintained our hight standards and that you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came to Bath for a spa weekend with my mom. We loved staying in the quirky Harington's Hotel. It was a nice room, super nice staff and a delicious breakfast. The room set up was a little weird with the bathroom being upstairs and there was some street noise as the bars let out at night. But overall, everything was great -- very clean, really close to the spa and shopping. It was everything we wanted for our weekend trip. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbender26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am very happy that you had enjoyable stay with us at the hotel, and found everything clean and comfortable, and found the staff helpful. I am also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.

I am sorry you experienced some street noise, due to the hotel being in a side street we don't often suffer from noise. The majority of our rooms at the front of the hotel do have secondary glazing which cuts this out. We are in the process of installing this into the remaining two rooms.

All of our rooms are different in layout due to the age of the building; this means our rooms do have some quirky features.

I am glad you would stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came here for the weekend with my boyfriend and booked the only room they had left which was the Feature Double room(14)actually rather glad now as it was amazing!

The room is separate to the other rooms and has an individual spiral staircase leading up to the room which was nicely decorated and had a comfortable bed and pretty furniture.Shower/wetroom was nice,clean and modern and the stairs on a seperate level made it feel quite homely being a duplex room. The coffee machine was a nice touch as I love my espressos and we also took advantage of using the DVD player and borrowing a DVD ,another nice touch I felt.

The location is great ,right in the centre and if using the satnav the car park was very easy to locate and a short walk. We dropped our bags in the lobby first and was made to feel very welcome and even offered to use one of their umbrellas as it was raining when we arrived.

Breakfast was nice ,a good choice of cereals etc and there was a cooked breakfast option which can be ordered at the time also.

We took advantage of the hot tub both nights and thoroughly enjoyed doing so ,nice way to relax before our evening meal.

This place was lovely and the staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble,they put a fan in the room for me and then swapped it when I said it was a little noisy,didn't seem annoyed either seemed happy to help.

We plan to go back very soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel.

I am glad that you found Room 14 to be to your liking, and found it clean and comfortable. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed using our hot tub, which is a recent addition to the hotel and proving popular.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to pass these on to all involved. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Harington's Hotel is a constant for our visit's to Bath.
The staff are always happy, willing to help with anything from minding your bags if you are too early, the same for check out if you are leaving Bath later.
The porridge with a drop of whiskey excellent on a cold day. The central location makes this a good stopover for both Theatre Royal and The Little Theatre. Restaurants all round with an abundance of choice.
Another great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about the hotel. I am glad you had and enjoyable stay with us again.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the coming year.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing