We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed and a yummy breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came to Bath for a spa weekend with my mom. We loved staying in the quirky Harington's Hotel. It was a nice room, super nice staff and a delicious breakfast. The room set up was a little weird with the bathroom being upstairs and there was some street noise as the bars let out at night. But overall, everything was great -- very clean, really close to the spa and shopping. It was everything we wanted for our weekend trip. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbender26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am very happy that you had enjoyable stay with us at the hotel, and found everything clean and comfortable, and found the staff helpful. I am also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.

I am sorry you experienced some street noise, due to the hotel being in a side street we don't often suffer from noise. The majority of our rooms at the front of the hotel do have secondary glazing which cuts this out. We are in the process of installing this into the remaining two rooms.

All of our rooms are different in layout due to the age of the building; this means our rooms do have some quirky features.

I am glad you would stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came here for the weekend with my boyfriend and booked the only room they had left which was the Feature Double room(14)actually rather glad now as it was amazing!

The room is separate to the other rooms and has an individual spiral staircase leading up to the room which was nicely decorated and had a comfortable bed and pretty furniture.Shower/wetroom was nice,clean and modern and the stairs on a seperate level made it feel quite homely being a duplex room. The coffee machine was a nice touch as I love my espressos and we also took advantage of using the DVD player and borrowing a DVD ,another nice touch I felt.

The location is great ,right in the centre and if using the satnav the car park was very easy to locate and a short walk. We dropped our bags in the lobby first and was made to feel very welcome and even offered to use one of their umbrellas as it was raining when we arrived.

Breakfast was nice ,a good choice of cereals etc and there was a cooked breakfast option which can be ordered at the time also.

We took advantage of the hot tub both nights and thoroughly enjoyed doing so ,nice way to relax before our evening meal.

This place was lovely and the staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble,they put a fan in the room for me and then swapped it when I said it was a little noisy,didn't seem annoyed either seemed happy to help.

We plan to go back very soon

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel.

I am glad that you found Room 14 to be to your liking, and found it clean and comfortable. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed using our hot tub, which is a recent addition to the hotel and proving popular.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to pass these on to all involved. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Harington's Hotel is a constant for our visit's to Bath.
The staff are always happy, willing to help with anything from minding your bags if you are too early, the same for check out if you are leaving Bath later.
The porridge with a drop of whiskey excellent on a cold day. The central location makes this a good stopover for both Theatre Royal and The Little Theatre. Restaurants all round with an abundance of choice.
Another great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about the hotel. I am glad you had and enjoyable stay with us again.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the coming year.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My partner booked this as we had some treatments she was given at the Thermae Spa thing round the corner and I am the laziest tourist on this planet for walking anywhere.
Arrival was no problem, very helpful and polite. I requested the parking and went off to their 'off site' parking, thought...'Hmmm' ... But that's just me......the chap behind the counter who looked like Alan Carr, said my vehicle might be too large for their on site parking and yes it was tight, very tight but I got my big off roader in at a squeeze which similar to the previous disgruntled reviewer mentioned she did not fancy leaving her expensive car at the car park, I agree entirely, I had visions in the dark of bandits, cut purses and highway men walking back to the hotel but had to get out 'Dukes of Hazzard' style as the walls squashed me in.
Ok, the hotel was clean, decor was fine, no complaints really, couldn't have asked for more really, our room was up two flights, bad for me, fine for others no doubt.
I actually liked Bath as I found shop staff polite, friendly and helpful but the staff at Harrington's were outstanding for a little place like this. A lovely lady on reception was more than helpful, charming and polite and gave us directions to Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant....next review coming folks!)
Breakfast was just fine, good quality stuff, I very rarely having breakfast but this was great. They kindly let me keep my car there even though we had checked out and offered to pay but they daid it was fine until I wanted to go but we scooted out of Bath just before 1600 and they were a lovely bunch people working there. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time for making such a positive review about the hotel and staff. Charlotte Street car park does have CCTV, however whenever the space behind the hotel is available we are happy to assist. I am glad I was able to help in this case.

I am glad you found the rooms and breakfast to your liking. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff I will be sure to pass these on.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked a feature room for my wife and I for a lovely weekend. Room 14 has a spiral staircase and is well equipped with TV, coffee machine, free WI-FI, and complementary bottled water. We had a lovely choice of Breakfast each morning, which consists of Full Monty (cooked), Salmon and Scrambled egg, along with buffet style, which was Cereal, Fresh Fruit and Juices.We also had lunch there on the Saturday afternoon which again was lovely. We wish we had a drink in the Bar at night though. All in all it was a great stay, helpful staff, great location ( 5 mins from everywhere it seems !) and nice food. The parking is as others have said, in Charlotte Street carpark but its 5 minutes walk and perfectly secure. Haringtons comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for traking the time to wrie such a positive review. I am extremly glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel. Thank you for the compliments on the breakfast and luchtime menu I will be sure to pass these on.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of December for a couple of nights and found it well positioned to do the central sights of bath and our Christmas shopping.
Our suit was very confortable, although the bin and delivery lorries start early in the morning.
Breakfast was brilliant and the residents bar stayed open until midnight.
A Very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Back rooms might be protected from early morning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blissetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel. We are lucky with our position being in the centre. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast and had a comfortable stay.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A small 'boutique' hotel with 13 rooms situated in the heart of Bath city centre. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Bath Spa Station and within a short walk of all Bath's attractions. Parking can be arranged by the hotel if required. The hotel is a conversion of an old traditional Bath stone building and features individually designed rooms fitted out to a very high standard. The staff are friendly and very helpful and there is a pleasant resident's bar and restaurant on the ground floor. The restaurant only serves breakfast but there are a host of eating places round and about which the staff will be happy to discuss, book if required and provide directions to etc. There is a good quality continental breakfast included in the room rate but you can chose to pay an additional £7.50 and upgrade to a cooked one. I would recommend the upgrade as the quality of the cooked breakfast was fantastic, cooked to order and comprising first class locally sourced ingredients.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, my bed was very comfortable, fitted with lovely cotton sheets etc and the bathroom facilities were excellent. Mine had a good walk in shower stall but no bath. I was perfectly happy with this. There were excellent complimentary toiletries provided. There is genuine free wi-fi throughout the hotel and complimentary bottled water in each room. Bath is not a cheap city but the hotel is fairly priced for it's central location and quality of accommodation. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will certainly return.
The only word of caution I would make is that the old building is tall and there is no lift. My room, 12, was on the top floor and there were 52 steps and four landings between it and reception. Staff are happy to carry your luggage for you if required but for anyone with mobility problems it is worth checking with the hotel to see if they can have one of the lower rooms at the time of booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the room clean and comfortable.

Unfortunately the town house does have a number of stair leading to the top floor and do to our listed status we are unable to install a lift. However we will allocate rooms on lower floor if available and we are always happy to assist with luggage to rooms.

I am glad you found the breakfast to your liking. We do offer Full English Breakfast included in the room rate when booked directly with the hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $125 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing