We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, friendly, budget accomodation”
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I stayed in Bath YMCA with a group of friends for my hen weekend. It is in a great location, within walking distance to town (although it is up a fairly steep hill.) The rooms were basic but clean and bedding was supplied wrapped in plastic. The rooms were of varied size - one of our rooms had 2 beds and it's own en-suite so not much different to a hotel really. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the communal areas were fine. There were families, older couples and young people staying here so it seems to suit different needs. I think they probably get quite a lot of hen parties so some rooms might be noisy at night - not the best place to stay if you are on a romantic weekend in Bath, unless you're on very tight budget!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

Great location! Basic accomodation.

But FLEA infested, my party all got bitten and one has had to take the whole week off work with medication and now having her house fumagated!!

Never again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBB087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

It was wonderful being SO close to the center of Bath, and everything felt very safe and secure.

From the moment we checked in, the staff were immensely friendly and helpful. They even let us keep our dinner leftovers in the staff fridge!

The rooms were a tight fit, but of course this is to be expected. It was disappointing that there was no kitchen facility, but it's not quite a regular hostel. GREAT that they have included continental breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letter_to_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

It is what it is. If you just need a place to lay your head, then this is it. The bathrooms were clean. The room (two bunk beds for 4 people) was very basic. Breakfast was good and included. Staff were very friendly. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobroliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

While looking for an accommodation in Bath, keep YMCA as a last choice if you can't find better. It is central and affordable however the rooms are very basic. Common facilities were ok (bathroom and toilets). The matresses in the room were absolutely uncomfortable. The breakfast room was dirty and the breakfast itself was very poor. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janko973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I booked a room for one night to experience Bath. Check in went fine, though the service is kind of minimum. You have to ask about what you need.

The room had the minimal things needed. A metal frame bed, a desk, a closet and a sink. The room could need a layer of paint, and the temperature was a bit chilly. The carpet seemed old and could need some cleaning. Bathrooms were just down the hall, shared between the genders. The bathrooms were mostly clean. However, the hallway smelled is if someone had just barfed. Be aware that the doors are not very sound proof - so anyone talking while passing your door will sound as if they are in the room. With a bunch of teenagers down the hall, this was a big annoyance when being tired and wanting to sleep. The guy next door who snored so loud was not ideal either...

There is no common kitchen or place to make anything. You can buy water for tea in the caferteria room. That is the room where breakfast was served. Breakfast was basic.

The location was conveniently near the city center and all the sites I wanted to visit. As a single traveler in my 30s I will prefer a more quiet place next time. When staying in other hostels I have found them to be more social and have a more international crowd. This hostel seemed to be used by local youth groups for weekend trips - and consequently noisy at night.

What I liked the best was the price and the seating area downstairs. I also liked that the free WiFi in the reception reached all the way up to my room. The look of the room and the noise were the drawbacks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakaduen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Staff was friendly. Parking was nearby, just across the street. Very central.
Rooms reminded me of dorm rooms in college and so did the bathrooms, but smaller.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazybear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
3.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
7.4 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range: $30 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing