We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent @ Bath-time....”
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We used Bath YMCA for our U12's rugby tour to attend the Bath RFC tournament. The stay in the YMCA was very reasonable cost, £36 at a weekend for a single. Much cheaper if you have a group n the dorms. The breakfast was fine, full English for little extra cost and the room was fine. The bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, sunny and had all the essentials.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter weekend, we had a private double with shared bathroom. Room was clean and bathrooms where spotless, plenty of showers/toilets so no queuing or waiting around. Breakfast was great, basic toast, cereal, fruit, tea coffee etc but considering it's included can not complain. Could also pay to upgrade to a cooked breakfast which we didn't bother with but it looks very nice.

Location is perfect, a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath and not far from the station. Only downside was that the room was really hot and there was loads of birds on the roof outside our rooms so felt a bit funny about opening the window as one flew in at one point!

However other than that no complaints and would stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great hostel in all respects. The room was neat and tidy with a wardrobe and table (in the single room). The bathrooms were kept impeccably neat, and there are separate facilities for men and women. The breakfast was a good continental spread and was laid out on time each day. And oh the staff - they always had a smile and prompt helpful answers to all the questions I had! The proximity to the center of town makes this an unbeatable value in Bath. The only downside is that the internet was VERY slow. Although I did manage to get some bookings done, I think I was just having a lucky day. The speed is just about enough to check emails but not much more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkshataRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Gave it four stars on the fact that it only cost 24 quid each and was worth it. You get what you pay for. If your expecting TVs and kettles in the room forget it. I stayed there for a stag night and it served it purpose. It's hidden away behind some shops and I found it by fluke as I happened to look down the alley.
The rooms were very clean and the showers are what you'd expect from a decent camp site. Breakfast is cereals and toast or for an extra 3quid you can have a cooked one but it didn't look all that great.
The location is great. As for parking, there isn't any. If you can handle a ten minute walk, google "free parking in Bath". I wrote down six postcodes and the first one I went to there were plenty of spaces just outside the permit zone. It's either that or pay about 1.50 an hour then getting up at 8am to put a ticket on it in the morning.
Overall, if you're on a budget, well worth a look. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Bath YMCA due to the central location and the low price of the dorms. I was quite comfortable there, the hostel felt just like school dorms. In fact, the building is shared with student dorms in the other side of the building. And I'm very glad there were students there. I visited at a quieter time of year (october) and I was the only person staying on the entire top floor of the hostel. It was a little eerie, as it is located in a big old building. It's full of character, but I would much prefer to stay there with friends or even with other guests. So I was comforted by the quiet sounds of the students in the other half of the building, and for their presence in the lobby on my way in and out of the YMCA. The staff were very friendly. I was so happy that it was right in the center of Bath. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Although it's a little hidden. If you can't find it, just ask a shop owner on the main street. You have to walk down a pleasant little alleyway to reach it.

Room Tip: It was a very spacious dorm. I would definitely opt for the bigger dorms in this hostel if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went to Bath for a hen weekend and were dubious when we were told where we were staying.

However we were proved wrong, there were 11 of us in a dormitory with triple bunk beds, it was great fun. Clean fresh bedding and plenty of space.

The bathroom facilities are shared but this was not a problem, especially if you ventured upstairs and found a quieter one!

Really helpful staff let us lock our bags away after check in for the next day so we didnt have to carry them.

Good stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not a bad hostel. Really friendly and helpful staff, the room was small but all we needed. The shared bathroom was clean and close to the room and the breakfast was adequate with cereal and toast. The rooms were quite loud though.
It was in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range: $30 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing