We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveler rating
800
326
98
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
326
98
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand suite empire room zen room darwin room tulip room city centre chinese room bath abbey lovely hotel beautiful garden rugby ground breakfast was excellent ten minute walk car park top floor underfloor heating breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017

My wife and I stayed for two nights in August while visiting relatives in Bath and having a look around town. The room was not ready when we arrived but we were able to leave the bags at reception while we went for lunch.

On return we found we had been upgraded at no cost to a magnificent room on the ground floor, the Grand Suite. It had a large bed room, bathroom with all the expected amenities and best of all an atrium with direct access to a private area of the delightful garden.

Breakfast was more than adequate and service good. We did not use the bar.

The hotel is a short, flat and pleasant walk to town but removed enough to feel relaxed. We traveled to Bath by train but there seemed to be adequate parking at the hotel.

All staff we met were helpful when needed and check in/out went smoothly.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Grand Suite if within budget
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank srat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrlington, Manager at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ayrlington.
We look forward to welcoming yourselves, friends or family back to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in easy walking distance of town centre-spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard-staff all friendly and helpful -excellent breakfast-off street parking included is a bonus -Jonny and manager David particularly worthy of note-

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank colin732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrlington, Manager at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ayrlington and your kind words about the staff and the hotel, i will be sure to pass your comments on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Ayrlington in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

This is a well managed, tastefully decorated small hotel with very attentive staff. We stayed for a night in a spotlessly clean standard room with comfortable beds and a really good shower, and had a good breakfast in the morning. On the downside, the road outside is busy, so there was a bit of noise in the morning. I found this hotel good value for money and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippokultur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrlington, Manager at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ayrlington and our beautiful city of Bath in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

The Ayrlington is perfectly situated for a quiet night, but handy walking distances to Bath's shopping, restaurants, tour buses and other attractions. The staff is proactive to make your stay enjoyable. I wish I could remember all of their names, but Johnny was a standout. He is very friendly and helpful when it comes to finding a great restaurant, and helping travelers become oriented to Bath. Our room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We were in the back of the hotel, looking out on a park-like back garden with a grassy athletic field beyond. We were able to get our needed rest, and enjoyed our entire stay immensely. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank ShirleyM2889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrlington, Manager at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ayrlington. I also wish to thank you for the kind words about the staff and the hotel.
Having a great team at the Ayrlington makes my job so much easier so we can all concentrate on whats important to us..... Our guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

This is a lovely old hotel in a superb location in Bath. Super plus point was the parking. It's within walking distance to most of the attractions. Staff are really lovely, Thanks to Johnny for everything. Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was great.
Only down side is that the decor is very tired but they are due to be refurbished within the next year. Great place and can only get better after they modernise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CBM237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrlington, Manager at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ayrlington and share your experience.
We will indeed be 100% completely renovated in all of our rooms by March 2018. We look forward to welcoming you back to our period guest house on your next visit to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews