We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed.

This time we were allocated the Bamboo room which is a little unusual as it has views over the rear, side and front of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. There was plenty of drawer space and hangers in the wardrobe. Provided in the room is an iron, ironing board, safe, tv and music player, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary bottled water and biscuits, nice towels and flannels and complimentary toiletries.

The breakfast is very good. There is a choice of cereals, yogurts and a fresh fruit salad. A full English breakfast is offered along with a vegetarian option. Toast and pasties are also offered along with a choice of teas and coffee.

The hotel is nicely situated for the city centre (about a 10 minute walk to the Abbey) and there is sufficient parking.

The only downside to the hotel is that there is no lift so if you have difficulty with stairs this could be a problem.

We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Bath.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked the Ayrlington on recommendation, but sadly felt it didn't live up to expectations.

On the plus side, it's in a great location with free parking (though there are only 14 parking spaces for 16 rooms and it is VERY tight!), the bed was very comfortable, the receptionists were very friendly and helpful and I liked the cats! (Though maybe not good a good choice of place to stay if you are allergic). Breakfast was okay, nothing special, though we felt it a bit rushed and weren't offered more tea or toast, which is usually the norm in B&Bs and hotels.

On the downside, we had some issues with room cleanliness and had to ask for a re-clean of the bathroom on arrival as there were longs hairs and dust on the surfaces and an empty loo roll on the sink (which I just tossed into the bin). We asked for no cleaning service on the 1st day but on coming back on the 2nd, found the rubbish bag removed from the bedroom bin just left on the dressing table. The room itself was nice and large and adequately furnished but I'm not sure it was worth the £350 we paid for 3 nights. We were in 'Poppy' which is at the top of the building and at the front and as the room was hot, we kept the windows open at night. Just as well we can sleep through traffic noise as it was relentless!

It didn't spoil our three days in Bath and we will definitely be back as we love the city, but next time we won't be staying at the Ayrlington.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be very noisy because of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuesday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a great place to park your car, forget it and enjoy all that Bath has to offer. We really enjoyed our stay here which was comfortable, clean, and so well positioned to walk into the centre of Bath (about 10 minutes to the Abbey). The room (Emperor) was sizeable, with a four poster bed and views over the garden towards the City and so was quite remarkably quiet and very little, if any, light pollution at night. The staff were friendly and accommodating and found time to have a chat and impart information if asked. For a complete picture of the Ayrlington some of the decor could be in need of refreshing, but this is a very minor negative comment in comparison with the overall comfort, position, breakfast (very good) and the positive attitude of the staff. Would we return..oh yes!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed two nights to explore Bath and from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out and left through the front door, we were made to feel like very special guests! We had the Iris Room on the top (3rd) floor. As there is no elevator, it was a tough climb up the broad staircase with a heavy suitcase. However, we were rewarded with a beautifully appointed room which was very comfortable and which had a lovely view overlooking the playing fields towards Bath Abbey. The full, cooked English breakfasts were very generous, as were the choices of breakfast cereals, fruit and yoghurts. Wireless internet was strong and fast in both the public areas and our room, thanks to the generous placement of wifi routers throughout the property. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and helpful. The location is great: outside the bustle of the town centre, but only a very easy 10 min walk to the Roman Baths and Abbey. All-in-all, a trip to visit Bath made all the more memorable by a wonderful stay at the Ayrlington. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: The Lilly Room was quiet, beautifully appointed and had a great view towards Bath Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Ayrlington bed & breakfast is a five star establishment which, for me, lived up to that ranking. The rooms are all different & nature themed. We were in ´Iris` room. There were pictures of iris on the walls & the curtains had iris on them. The room had all the facilities we could have wished for. There was ample cupboard & drawer space. The fittings (such as hair dryer) were of good quality. There was a small safe for our valuables. The hospitality tray was well stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate & biscuits. The lounge area was very comfortable with a small bar, competitively priced. The breakfast room overlooked the garden with views towards the city which is a twenty minute walk away – I´m a slow walker. Anyone who walks at a more normal pace could probably do it in fifteen. The proprietress is of Chinese origin so the public areas are decorated on a Chinese theme – all very tastefully.

Breakfast was all I could have wanted. As well as coffee or tea, there was a variety of fruit juices. There was a choice of yoghurts, fresh fruit & cereals plus a traditional full English breakfast with vegetarian options.

There are three resident cats who are only allowed in the reception & lounge areas.

The staff were all very friendly & obliging. Nothing was too much for any of them. They were like family.

Just be aware that if you have walking issues that even if you have a room on the ground floor there are steps leading up to the front door!

Would we stay there again? Yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Staff and comfort very good. Large rooms and good size beds and had a perfect nights sleep. Breakfast excellent. Arrived early and allowed to leave our car whilst we went shopping. Same on the day we left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and did not have one single problem. We read the reviews before we went and cannot see that any of the bad reviews were justified. The room was just right. We had the poppy room. Possibly a little more dated than some of the other rooms, but it was clean, comfortable and any noise from the road was due to having the window open. once closed there was no noise. And the bed was so comfortable that I think we could have slept through anything anyway. When we arrived at the hotel the CD playing was broken but it was replaced immediately, reception had been unaware of the stuck CD from the previous guest.
The staff were all very friendly, efficient, and more then willing to help.
The breakfast was superb and plentiful. There was no noise from other guests so all in all this was a very pleasant and memorable hotel and trip.
The hotel itself is situated just a 10 minute walk from Bath centre. Brilliant for visiting all the local attractions.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath.

Room Tip: If you want the windows open ask for a room at the back. However please remember you are booking a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpeters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $151 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing