We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Staff and comfort very good. Large rooms and good size beds and had a perfect nights sleep. Breakfast excellent. Arrived early and allowed to leave our car whilst we went shopping. Same on the day we left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and did not have one single problem. We read the reviews before we went and cannot see that any of the bad reviews were justified. The room was just right. We had the poppy room. Possibly a little more dated than some of the other rooms, but it was clean, comfortable and any noise from the road was due to having the window open. once closed there was no noise. And the bed was so comfortable that I think we could have slept through anything anyway. When we arrived at the hotel the CD playing was broken but it was replaced immediately, reception had been unaware of the stuck CD from the previous guest.
The staff were all very friendly, efficient, and more then willing to help.
The breakfast was superb and plentiful. There was no noise from other guests so all in all this was a very pleasant and memorable hotel and trip.
The hotel itself is situated just a 10 minute walk from Bath centre. Brilliant for visiting all the local attractions.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath.

Room Tip: If you want the windows open ask for a room at the back. However please remember you are booking a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpeters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Ayrlington about eight times in the last ten years. At our recent stay there was the usual very high standard of cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff, particularly in the dining room, who seemed genuinely pleased to see us. On this occasion, when we had to leave very early in the morning, a breakfast tray was provided the night before. The hotel has an excellent atmosphere and the lounge is a very calm place to enjoy a quiet drink.

Room Tip: Carnation is small, but comfortable and has a view over the Bath RFC ground and Bath Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked to stay in this hotel for 3 nights and it was lovely. Our room was right on the top floor and we didn't hear any noise from anyone else. The room is a little dated but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable!
Breakfast in the mornings was fantastic and staff were very attentive. All staff we met around the hotel were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, it only took us 10 minutes to walk to the city centre and has free parking out the front.
Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Bath - thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Positives:
The B&B is extremely well situated and there is free parking, reception staff are kind & well mannered.
Negatives:
Our top floor room decor was dated and somewhat dingey.. we were facing the street and it was noisy. You cannot open the windows. Breakfast was disappointing.. opted for the cooked breakfast without a few items.. the waitress therefore offerd baked beans to compensate .. i thought this was good of her.. They arrived stone cold so I comented..she checked with the chef.. the reply was that they were cooked for 2mins!! no offer to re heat thems!! also no pastries or croissants even though they were advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We decided to have a last minute weekend away in Bath is one of our favourite places to visit. We were going to visit by train but the improvements in the Severn Tunnel put paid to that. I visited Late rooms and trip advisor to see what rooms were available. As it was for that night, there wasnt many place available. I came across The Ayrlington and thought it looked a lovely place. The pictures of the rooms and the house were stunning. I compared the prices to the Holiday Inn and Hilton in Bath and for a 5* hotel, its cheaper than the chains. I immediately booked it, after reading such lovely reviews. I went onto their website and had a confirmation straight away.

We found the hotel no problem, parked the car in their free car park and knocked the door to check in. We were shown to their lounge to wait, I think her name was Becky, was showing other guests to their rooms who had arrived just before us. It is a beautiful lounge with stunning views over the garden.

Before we went to our room, Becky asked us if we've been to Bath before and wanted to know if we needed a map, which we did. She also said if we wanted any advice about where to go and any restaurants to recommend, to let her know. We were shown to the Pulteney Room and our first thoughts were "WOW" it was absolutely stunning with a 4 poster bed and fabulous views across to Bath. We had a de-luxe double and it had robes, tea and coffee and a jacuzzi bath. Everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There was a rugby match just starting and you could see the back of the small stadium. You could hear the crowds but they weren't loud.

Its a very short walk into the centre of Bath and a pleasant one at that. The houses are stunning. We went to Caluccio's in Minsolm Place in the arcade and had a fabulous meal.

We had the best nights sleep in our 4 poster bed. You have to climb into it as its so high, but it was so comfortable and the pillows were lovely. The place was so quiet, considering the house is old with squeeky floorboards. I didnt hear anyone above us, only in the afternoon, not overnight.

We awoke refreshed and headed down to the breakfast room. There was toast, and you could have a traditional cooked, vegetarian and continental breakfasts available. You could have smoked salmon with egg but you had to tell them the night before you wanted that. The breakfast was really nice and piping hot.

If was time for us to go and we checked out. I was interested in the history of the place and its 250 yearsold this year and belonged to a brewery family, its a listed building and its so well maintained.

I would definately recommend The Ayrlington and wouldnt hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Though we live in Bath, we chose to spend 2 nights at the Ayrlington for our wedding, and arranged for most of our wedding guests to stay there as well. From the very first email communication I had with the wonderful Audrey at reception, the service and professionalism were outstanding!! The staff were so helpful as I tried to coordinate all of the guests, which of course required many changes and adjustments to check-in dates, etc. Plus, the rooms were very nice, and we had many little touches from the staff that we truly appreciated. We stayed in one of the beautiful deluxe rooms, and it was perfect for getting ready the day of the wedding, and our guests really enjoyed the lounge as well. Thank you to everyone at the Ayrlington for a lovely and stress-free experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mettrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $166 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing