We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but overpriced”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but overpriced”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a comfortable stay at this B&B, but at 110 pounds for a small double room (only a queen size bed) we felt it was overpriced.
The room was clean, but rather shabby, with threadbare curtains, and a visibly dusty wall above the shower in the bath. The bath was chipped.
Breakfast was fine, but totally standard. The kitchen door was kept open while we were eating, which made the dining room very noisy.
Public rooms downstairs are spacious and well-decorated.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the house to avoid traffic noise - and there are good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TevredenLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    297
    94
    25
    21
See reviews for
98
802
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cakeamatsui
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Ayrlington Hotel. I liked the fact that it had free parking and was a quick walk over the bridge into Bath. However, the room we had was at the top of the steps facing the parking lot. I don't know how the staff drag everything up and down those steps, kudos to them.One poor guy was lugging water cases up to a storage closet and I felt I should help him. It is no fault of the hotel that road work was being done outside, and those Brits start early and finish into dark! However, the room was very warm, couldn't close window due to the noise from outside. Would never book this hotel in summer weather. We were warned by the hostess that the tiling in the bath was falling off and needed repair so to be careful they were trying to get it fixed. Personally I won't have rented the room till it got done.We didn't take a shower because it was really grossly dirty looking with the tile hanging off and the tiles really looked like they were half way of the wall. Also several lights in the room didn't work. Room really needed some good reading light near the bed. Not the most comfortable room, chair was wobbly, mattress worn. However, the rest of the hotel was really quaint. Reading room downstairs was very nice.The breakfast was very good, staff very pleasant. I loved the convience of the hotel to Bath, however, too pricey for the room. In the three weeks we spent in England we stayed in some major places, and they were cheaper than here.

Room Tip: Avoid parking lot view, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakeamatsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Headed to Bath for a couple of nights and drove past this hotel, Chris at reception welcomed us and showed us a couple of lovely rooms. We checked in, went in to Bath city for dinner and had a night cap in the lounge at the Arylington the a very peaceful nights sleep. Woke up to a tasty breakfast served to a high standard overlooking the beautiful rear garden.

Comfortable and very clean. Highly recommend it if you are staying in Bath.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room, quite and peaceful, just lovely, we were to move to the Empire Room, but had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Ayrlington a few weeks ago and can highly recommend it. We were impressed from the start, when a charming chap asked us about our trip, showed us to our rooms and demonstrated all the features. I loved the quaint little nick-nacks which really gave the room a romantic 18th-century feel. The view outside was stunning - overlooking the oriental garden, and beyond that the rugby pitch (luckily for my boyfriend, he got a good view of the match playing!)

I enjoyed all the free tea, coffee, biscuits, hot chocolate etc, and free toiletries, although the shower was a little tricky to get the hang of at first, and the whirlpool bath mechanism didn't seem to work. I also enjoyed the lovely sitting-room with complimentary papers and magazines. The breakfast was lovely - a full English with all the trimmings, and all locally sourced food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location, friendly and obliging staff.
Nice and plentiful breakfasts.
Unfortunately, there were some less positive points. Our standard room was not at all clean, but won't go into that because the kindly gave us an upgrade to the garden room.
The bed was far too soft, the bathroom had black water stains in the shower and behind the taps. The light fixtures were not all working. Basically, the room and hotel was quite tired, old and outdated and needs a nice make over.
The ironing board had big burn marks and there was only one robe.
Spacious room but tired. If it were three star we would rate it as great. But for 5 star prices you hope for five star quality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straighttalking_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in 2 different rooms. The Garden room has a lovely view of the back garden. Bathroom a bit dated but adds to the charm. Then stayed upstairs in Siena room which faced the front. No problem with any street noise. Breakfasts really very good. Free parking. Easy walk into Bath.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelquest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Too expensive for what it is, room was ok, most of the "hotel" needs cleaning, painting or general repairs, I always find it telling when the owner reserve the best parking space for herself!!

Nail clippings on the floor and don't even look under the bed!!!!

Breakfast is passable not great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Apsley House Hotel
#11 of 30 in Bath
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing