We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading information” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #25 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misleading information”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

The information given on their website is misleading. It sates on their 'Breakfast' page that "we strive to cater for everyone". This is clearly NOT the case. They are a vegetarian house and not prepared to serve non-vegetarian food. This was not made clear on their website or at the time of booking. The attitude and response of the owner when challenged on this point was not one you would expect from someone in the hotel industry. The cost of staying at this guest house is also quite high compared with other hotels/guest houses/B&Bs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HogTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    46
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
114
217
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the last night of our trip to Paris and wandering around the UK. Peter was extremely helpful in getting us settled, giving us the choice of several rooms. We selected a very roomy spot on the first (2nd to Americans) floor with a king sized bed, and a lovely view of the town out the window. He recommended the upper floor if we had any troubles with traffic noise, but we were never bothered the whole night into morning. The room had lots of nice extras like bottled water, full tea service, biscuits, and decorative features arranged just so that made it really special. Peter also provided a map of the town, recommended several walks about, a restaurant for dinner, and was very warm and helpful during our entire stay. The bed apparently has a new mattress and was incredibly comfortable - I didn't wake up through the whole night and slept great. The bathroom, as many seem to be, was very small for us tall Americans, but clean. My boyfriend loved the big flatscreen tv, and the location was excellent - just a few blocks from the downtown so we walked everywhere. Breakfast was delicious, and I wish we could have stayed a few more nights to fully relax. Next time we're in Bath, this will be our first choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tankycmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

What more can I say? From the minute we walked in the door, we were welcomed by a very friendly Peter. He gave us advice on sightseeing, showed us to our lovely room. The house is beautiful, we felt right at home.
Room was spacious, immaculately clean, had everything we needed and more, including beautiful en-suite, flat-screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities! Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plenty! Everything is fresh, organic and made right in front of you. Great cook!
The guest house is located minutes from the centre of Bath, walking distance from the main attractions, and easily accessible from the train/bus station (4/5min drive).
There was not one thing we didn't like about it and would DEFINITELY recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Before I start typing the review I wanted to inform all the readers that this is a VEGETARIAN guesthouse. There is no bacon, sausage (except for the vegan one) or any other form of meat for breakfast. I was not informed about that, which made me upset, but that still did not destroy my great experience with this guesthouse.

As I was living in Bath as a student and required accomodation for myself and my parents during graduation I had a comfort of checking most of the offers around Bath in person. I can honestly admit that no other guesthouse that I visited was as nice as Marlborough House. I was given the Floral Room. It was spacious, the double bed was large (single bed was sufficient), with a nice decor and view. The bathroom was clean and modern. I really enjoyed the tea and coffee station, as they also included a bottle of home made liquer which was refilled daily.

The whole guesthouse is spotless. The smell of flowers that strikes everyone once walking through the main door is amazing. The breakfast room is great. The location is perfect.

One more time, the only thing that I did not like was the fact that there was no information that this is an entirely a vegeterian guesthouse. On the website it clearly says "At Marlborough House, we strive to cater for everyone" - well, unfortunately they did not cater for me as I eat meat. But I settled for some yoghurt and eggs and I made it through.

All in all, in my opinion if you are vegetarian you will not find a better guesthouse in Bath.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuba24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Marlborough house is an easy walk into Bath. The room was large and the hospitality was wonderful. We had a large bed and a flat screen TV. The breakfast was good but not great. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Spent a wonderful day and evening in Bath, choosing Marlborough House for its location. Could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. Peter is a warm and charming host and most gracious. The rooms were beautifully furnished and very well kept. When we walked into our room my sister wanted to spend our entire stay there and skip seeing the town. There was a bit of street noise but did not keep us from drifting into a wonderful nights sleep in very comfortable beds. The breakfast was well beyond our expectations and a welcome relief from the usual "English Breakfast". Perer sent us to eat dinner at the Circus and it was a great find. All in all a 5 star experience for a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

The guest house was everything that was described in their web site. Rooms were immaculate, furniture was stunning and well chosen. The staff made us and our little dog very welcome; being vegetarian and having a dog might have made our holiday uneasy, but the host was able to suggest a wealth of restaurants and places to visit. Absolutely splendid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#53 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#18 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#89 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Marlborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing