We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #24 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Family Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Our family (2 kids and 2 adults) recently stayed at Marlborough House. Peter and his staff were courteous, professional and had a lovely manner with the kids. The house is beautifully decorated with antique style furniture and fixtures. It is clean and within walking distance to town. Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable and had all the amenities of a big hotel (tea making facilities, plasma TV, etc). The children thoroughly enjoyed their cooked breakfast and ate everything on their plates! We would happily recommend this B&B.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    46
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
114
218
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at Marlborough House with our puppy just after xmas 2008. Though we didn't meet Peter the owner I did speak to him a few times and he was very helpful and friendly. The girls who cooked breakfast and checked us in (Lily and Sarah) were most helpful and gave the B&B a relaxed atmosphere. Both lovely ladies - thanks for your hospitality.
We stayed in the Victorian room (no. 2) which is a large room with brand new bathroom, though not our usual style (we like contemporary) it was a beautiful room and we could tell much effort had been made, right down to the decanter of sherry! There was little mold in the bay window but the rest of the room was pristine.
Just a short stroll up the hill is the Royal Crescent, and the centre of town is maybe 10-15 mins walk, not far anyway.
There is a great dog friendly pub at the top of the hill (Marlborough Tavern I think) food is great there, the organic veggie breakfasct in the hotel is fantastic too. If we go back to Bath (which I think we will as it is beautiful) we will definately come back to Marlborough House.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mybestchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

Very charming B&B with wonderful customer service. Peter, the owner, was a pleasure to deal with. The breakfast was outstanding! Got a chance to see several of the other rooms as the doors were open when we got there and though the Victorian is the largest, they were all very charming with different period furniture in each. Extremely clean and comfortable. It was an easy 20 minute walk up the hill from the train station and 10-15 walk to downtown core. Would absolutely recommend and stay again.

  • Liked — level of comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cremeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

I slept in the attic room previously mentioned. Personally, I had no problems with mattress or outside noise - 2 nights of lovely sleep. Smashing breakfast, close location to Bath centre.
Many thanks

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank mopkopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed here for four nights in August 08. Peter the proprietor and his staff are very friendly and approachable and the tasteful decor is a pleasant surprise. The chopped fruit at breakfast is a nice touch, and the allowances in the room of tea, etc and shampoos are generous, though the towels are not. We were allowed to park on the small forecourt which was great. The walk into Bath via the nearby Royal Crescent and park is a steep one but lovely, while the dull level walk along the A4 is to be avoided. FYI the north end of Bath has the 'best' restaurants.

We squeezed into the 'Floral' room - which isn't floral - in the converted attic with a late booking. There's an older review of this room (prior to Peter's ownership) on this site which is very negative, but we found it clean enough and fairly spacious, considering it contains a kingsize bed, a single bed, a cramped ensuite and has a sloping ceiling. No full-length mirror, if that bothers you. The small shower was OK, no more, and there's no way to close the door except with the bolt. This August was cool and overcast, and it was a shame that the towel rail (and the rest of the heating) seemed to be turned off. A fan was provided which was useful when it got muggy, but we were half-seriously considering buying a fan heater on the first night...you know how us English hate to complain.
There is an actual bathroom on the landing; some proactive advice about protocols for its use - and a dressing gown - would have been welcome.

None of the above would stop me going back, but the following would, particularly for the rates charged:
1. The traffic noise is very intrusive indeed - the window isn't doubleglazed and the noise from the main A4 road - cars, sirens and drunks - is pretty constant, even at night, and keeping the window open isn't an option.
2. Personally, I found the mattress hard and saggy, though that might not bother you. The springing on the bed is non-existent. Combined with the traffic noise this made for poor sleeping!

Other rooms may be better appointed, but if offered the Floral room I'd look elsewhere.

One more niggle - hearing the same CD of Burt Bacharach hits every morning made it feel like Groundhog Day...it was us who turned it down!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The room - the price was lower, but for a reason.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

My Husband and I recently stayed at this Guest House, and all I can say is WOW, Peter is THE most wonderful host, he really looked after us during our stay as did the two ladies who made our breakfast each day, which was delicious and for a change was organic vegetarian which was lovely. Peter even rang us en-route as we travelled quite a distance to see how we were doing and if everything was ok, which I though was genuinely lovely and considerate. The rooms are decorated to the highest standard and the entire house is immaculately clean, all bath products and refreshments are organic too, there was even a little decanter of Sherry for a nightcap which was wonderful.
Highly recommended can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — The sumptuous decor !
  • Disliked — Nothing at all !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigetteJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Marlborough for two nights in April while at a bread making course at the Bertinet Kitchen. This BnB is one of the best I have stayed at for quality of food, service and the warmth and friendliness of the hosts, Peter and Lily.

We were made to feel so welcome, like well respected old friends, a complete contrast to another place in the Lakes I stayed recently where I was made to feel a complete inconvenience. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and the service was not only impeccable but had a personal touch.

We had a thoroughly lovely time, the Marlborough House Hotel added greatly to our enjoyment of Bath and I would not hesitate to recomend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — there was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Auroraluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#84 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#44 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Marlborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing