We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended, Can't Be Bettered!”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #21 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Highly Recommended, Can't Be Bettered!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Marlborough House is an absolutely gorgeous, well presented guest house, in an excellent location close to the Royal Crescent and Victoria Park. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts are sublime. However the most impressive part of our stay here was the warm and friendly welcome from Peter, Sarah and Lily. I have stayed in many places, but have never had such a welcome as I did on my visit here. Peter took time to tell us how to get to the attractions of Bath plus he made sure we had a place to eat for our evening meal. We will most certainly return here on our next visit to Bath and I would not hesitate to recommend my friends and family to do the same. Thank you, Peter, Lily and Sarah for making our stay so special!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paulette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    48
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
121
226
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great welcome from Peter with lots of information about the city and his lovely house. Our room was great and very comfortable and we enjoyed the extra touches like the decanter of sherry which we enjoyed every evening. The location is very good, only 5 min from the Royal Crescent and a pleasant 15 min walk into the centre of Bath. However Peter's greatest assets are the lovely ladies who looked after us every morning at breakfast. Lily and Sarah's welcoming smiles and lovely breakfasts were a great start to our day.
Don't be expecting a big ensuite bathroom because it is tiny but manageable and certainly doesn't detract from a great B & B.
Can highly recommend a stay at Marlborough House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wery very tired and cranky when we finally found Marlborough House. No fault of theirs; we were Yanks drivin' on the wrong side of the road! We cheered up almost instantly with Peter's gracious welcome and orientation to Bath. The room was cozy and just right, as was breakfast with Sarah.
Thanks, Guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraughtfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Marlborough House. We stayed for 5 nights in mid April 2013. Peter, Sarah and Lilly took excellent care of us. They were friendly and full of information to help make our stay there pleasant. The morning breakfast was execellent. By far the best breakfast that we had on our 17 day trip. The wifi was weak, but that was easliy overlooked. The room (we stayed in the quad) was spacious and beautiful. It was also clean and quiet.

We would definitely stay at Marlborough House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Gorgeous place, perfect location and a sincere, caring service. The Marlborough House made for a pleasant and easy stay in Bath. Thank you Sarah, Lilly & Peter, we'll definitely stay with you the next time we visit Bath!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our host took time to recommend restaurants, walks, and sights. He was spot-on. The room was beautifully appointed, and breakfast was delicious. We were on a quiet street just a few minutes from the Royal Crescent and even closer to the Botanical Gardens where we had a pleasant afternoon stroll.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Marlborough house for three nights over the weekend. The experience was entirely positive even from on-line booking. The proprietor, Peter answered promptly and at length providing advice on travel, parking and making helpful suggestions on suitable places to eat.
Marlborough House is about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the centre of Bath, you can follow the main road into the City which is not especially scenic or else you can climb up to Royal Crescent and wander through the park with wonderful views of both the Crescent and the City below. We are not enthusiastic walkers but the distance was perfectly manageable and public transport would not be required unless you were infirm. The House is situated on the corner of Upper Bristol Road and Marlborough lane. It has two available parking spaces for guests with small to medium sized vehicles. If these spaces are full, then Peter offers a complimentary parking permit enabling you to park in the streets nearby. To be honest you won’t need your care to wander around the City and if you do not plan to travel elsewhere then there should be no need to bring your car.
The Guesthouse is late Victorian and offers a dining room on the ground floor and rooms on the first and second floors. The House is full of original features which add a certain quality to the building. The converted gas lamps and large framed mirror on the landing were especially appealing. We stayed in the Bamboo Room (R4) on the first floor which overlooked Marlborough Lane.
The Bamboo Room is a decent size and comes with an extremely comfy super-king size bed. Furnishings are pleasant and interesting and the en suite bathroom is excellent, with a full sized double ended bath, with overhead shower, and quality tiling, everything is wonderfully clean. Peter spoils his guests with tea and coffee making facilities, a decanter of super smooth sherry, and a flat screen freeview enabled TV etc. The temperature was fine while we were there and in hot weather air con is available. When especially cold this can be used to provide warm ambient heating to boost the radiators.
This Guesthouse has a focus on organic products. Please do not feel however that this is a bohemian hippy paradise. It is calm certainly, but select and everything is of a high standard. That goes for staff members also. Lily and Sarah who prepare and serve breakfast are truly delightful, helpful, cheerful and sincere. Lily’s “you are so welcome” comment stays with me as being heartfelt. Food at Marlborough House is excellent; vegetarians or vegans will be at home here. There is a decent selection and portions are ample.
Peter’s introduction to Bath with map, routes and suggestions for eating and other activities is the mark of someone who takes his job seriously and is proud of his establishment. He has every right to be. Unfortunately I managed to leave a bunch of keys behind, this was not a problem and they were posted on to me promptly by Recorded Delivery. Sometimes it is the small things which mark out a first class establishment. The Post-it on the door to each room reminding people that the clocks were to go forward was a helpful touch.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Room has a large ensuite with full size double-ended bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 158 in Bath
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#12 of 158 in Bath
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 158 in Bath
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#57 of 158 in Bath
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 158 in Bath
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 158 in Bath
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Marlborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing