We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deservedly amongst the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #23 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deservedly amongst the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

Can this place be as good as others have said? Well to be honest yes. We (I, wife, and our 12 yr old son and 77 yr old mum) stayed in room 3 1st floor (Jacuzzi queen dble) and room 7 ground floor (twin with shower) on Sun august 5th. Henry and Claire the onsite managers were courteous, friendly, willing to assist from the moment we picked up the phone to book. We rang back to enquire re possible rooms and Henry had remembered who we were, 'off course sir I would not consider putting your 77 yr old mother in any room other that the ground floor”. Impressed already. When we arrived at 12 noon, we were greeted by name, and offered coffee/tea, served prompty, with a smile, silver service, in the comfy lounge, before being offered a tour of the hotel (16-17 rooms), and maps of Bath plus a series of recommended restaurants, where to park, what buses to catch, a local value taxi service and then cases whisked off until the rooms were ready. “We pride our selves in listening to the reports our guests give us of the local restaurants so can assure you our recommendations are accurate". When we returned at 6pm after an afternoon of shopping and walking/cycling we were very impressed to find our luggage neatly arranged in our respective rooms, bright, truly ever so clean, my wife exclaiming wow, its nearly as good as home, air-conditioned and very quiet, spacious rooms. Lovely bedding, sheets, cushions , coffee/tea making facilities, small LCD TV/ wireless internet for those of us who have to check the Stock market and e mails and an atmosphere of real effort to please. They even have a laptop with free broadband for those without their own equipment and arrange taxi's to suite those who did want to spend the 5-10minutes walk to central bath. Even though the hotel was full we barely saw or heard any of the other guests. This hotel is very quiet in the evenings and we slept very very well well, helped by a wonderful meal at Martini Italian restaurant, George street , one of several recommended by Henry. Taxi was less than 4 pounds each way before tip. We had a walk for an hour after the meal and then rang the taxi at 10pm who came and picked us up where ever we were. Breakfast was sumptuous, plentiful and served in a friendly though not overcrowded room, quality crockery and linen, seemingly limitless choices, hot food was hot, haddock, wonderful scrambled egg, full cooked English breakfast, numerous sorts of teas, even dare I say chilled cava for those who like to be indulged. This breakfast is 95% of the way more expensive Royal crescent offering. Check out was as the check in ,hassle free, time for some chit chat and please come back to visit us. . For us, we can’t think of any nicer to place to stay and off peak you could get a discount for 2 or more nights. Honestly this is in the best B+B we've had so far. Forget the big hotels, who needs a pool onsite. Spend some of your savings you achieve by staying here on a 20 pound bath spa treat. Henry and Claire, and team, well done, you should be proud. Hope the boss pays you what you all deserve

  • Liked — Quiet, clean , clean ,clean, quality, and small enough to really take care of the guests
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank markiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    279
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
734
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at Oldfields over the bank holiday weekend in the end of May and found it to be absolutely lovely from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was a perfect mix of old style B&B with modern amenities. Breakfast was fabulous...a true hot breakfast with lots of choices. The rooms were quiet and extremely comfortable...we had a great jacuzzi bath in ours. Close to town, but far enough out to be quiet at night. Oldfields does a lovely ThermaeSpa package deal where they provide return transport (which was nice because it was raining for most of the weekend when we were there), robes and slippers, shower supplies, etc. Highly recommend the spa, even in the rain! Be sure to go to The Pump House for traditional afternoon tea, which is the perfect close to a day at the spa! I would come back to Oldfields in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyHighStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

This hotel was absolutley stunning. We were greeted on arrival and given a very welcome pot of tea whilst sat in the tranquil, comfy lounge. The staff were on hand and helpful but definately not intrusive. They really have got it 'just right' here. The bedroom and bathroom was lovely and had a great view. Breakfast is served in a very pretty dining room and there are so many options for breakfast - even a vegetarian version of the 'full English'. Free internet access too. I'd definately recommend it and will be staying there again next time I'm in Bath. It's a 10 minute walk into Bath city and very easy to get to lots of tourist attractions. Fantastic!

  • Liked — The whole package was brilliant
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank em1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

I was recommended this on this website and it lived up to the hype. Good location, very tatfully decorated, air conditioning, very nice breakfast- plenty of choice.

Do go to the therma spa in Bath - well worth a visit - so relaxed after .

IF stopped in Bath again def would recommend. One of the best hotels I have stopped in Britain

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank themangottaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

This hotel was the highlight or our trip. We stayed in the two double rooms in the top/attic floor. The rooms were plenty big, immaculately clean and very comfortable. In the parlor there was plenty of room to enjoy tea with your party (we were a group of four). It was a very relaxing facility. The breakfast was amazing. My personal favorite was the smoked samon with scrambles eggs. The staff was very friendly and informative. They even helped park our car for us (the onsite spots are very small- unless you have practice parking in them). The staff would join you in the parlor area and make converation furthering how at home this place made you feel. It is little bit of a walk into town but not more than the 10 minutes others have mentioned. They have a computer set up in the parlor with internet access and board games to play as well.

  • Liked — The comfort it provided.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank momm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

Lovely building, ideally located. The rooms are beautiful - lovely high ceilings, flat screen tv, molton brown toiletries. Beautiful breakfast room with a lovely selection of fresh tasty food. Great attention to detail.

The staff are very friendly and were delighted to give advise and information on the local area. We look forward to returning.

  • Liked — beautiful room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

excellent place very friendly greeted with a tray of tea and biscuits. Beautifully furnished. Champagne breakfast if desired. Could not fault. 10 mins from centre could be walked but up hill on way back. less than £5 taxi fare so no problem.

  • Liked — the accommodation
  • Disliked — stairs not many but I live in a bungalow!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing