We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!!”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #28 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
1,020 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2006

This was a great bed and breakfast. We managed to get a good deal and stayed in their master room with jacuzzi for our second night which also had a fabulous view. The bathrooms also have Molton Brown products which you can buy from reception.

Stella gave us an extremely warm welcome and gave us information on what to see in Bath.

The breakfast was superb, plenty of fruit juices and cereals to start followed by a hot choice from the menu. I had one of the most delicious cooked breakfast that I've ever had. It's been two months since we stayed there and I can still remember the tast of the mushrooms, sausage (which I don't usually like!), perfect fried eggs and bacon! With plenty of toast and lovely individual jars of jams/marmelades! It is a little annoying to have to get up to make breakfast by 9.30 but at least it got us out of bed and forced us to have a little extra time, plus once I had the breakfast for the first time, I was looking forward to getting up the next morning!

The location was good, although it is a ten minute walk from the town centre up a hill but the walk was well worth it.

Both rooms we stayed with had a proper hairdryer, TV, DVD player and tea and coffee facilities which was great.

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the walk up the hill
  • Tips/Secrets — go to bed early so that you can get up happily for breakfast
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    317
    74
    13
    4
See reviews for
95
804
71
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, Leics
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

This is a charming, well appointed hotel with delightful staff. We've just returned from two nights in Oldfields staying in room 17 with 4 poster and jacuzzi. The bed was extremely comfortable and I loved the way it was made up with sheets and waffle blankets rather than a duvet. The bathroom in this room is large and luxurious. We were also shown the triple room (as I'm planning to come back with my mother and sister when they start offering spa packages), which was equally delightful. Breakfast was delicious, especially the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and the coffee, for once, was strong enough for my wake-up kick. The only thing I would change is to substitute fair trade products for Nestle in the rooms.

  • Liked — Luxuriously appointed rooms, friendliness of staff and location - quiet and convenient
  • Disliked — Non-fair trade tea & coffee in rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ryancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I stayed at Oldfields for a wedding in Bath along with my mum and dad and sister. I run a B&B myself (---) so am very good at comparing (!) and my stay at Oldfields was very pleasant. Set up a steep hill (taxi is a must for the faint hearted!) it has its own parking which is a bonus in big cities. The entrance is homely and includes a nice lounge where you can have tea or coffee. Our rooms were good sizes and beds were comfy. The bathrooms had lovely spa baths and fabulous hair and shower products were provided. Tea and coffee facilities were there, TV (with sky sports too!) and a DVD player (DVDs available from reception). Only gripe would be that one of the rooms didnt have a mirror of any sort except in the bathroom but that was a minor problem! Good choice of fresh food for breakfast and staff friendly. About 15 minute walk to centre- Lovely. On the pricey side but no doubt that is only due to being in one of the most touristy cities in England.

  • Liked — Comfortable good sized rooms and on the spot parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Emcart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I stayed 5 nights at Oldfields Hotel and enjoyed it very much.
Oldfields is a large Victorian Bath-stone house located on a hill, which is an easy 10 minute walk down to the centre of Bath. Local shops and pub are just 5 minutes walk up the hill. The hosts and staff were friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, and well appointed with a LCD TV, air conditioner, and a shower with plenty of hot water. Each morning a delicious cooked breakfast was served in the dining room, which has views over Bath. I would recommend Oldfields to anyone looking for an excellent standard B&B/Guesthouse in Bath.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dehauteclocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Up a steep hill, away from the city center lies Old Fields - a serene and comfortable bed & breakfast in Bath. My husband, daugther and I were greeted and checked in while seated in a common room which contains soft sofas, magazines and newspapers, tea facilities and a computer for guest use. During our July stay, the UK was experiencing record high temperatures. We were delighted to find that our first floor room #7 had a silent, remote-controlled air conditioning unit installed high upon the wall. The staff advised that not all of Oldfields' rooms can be retrofitted with AC, so check with the proprietors if this is important to you. I am sensitive to traffic noise, yet this room was almost absent of outside sounds even though it is on the street side. Recessed lighting provided excellent illumination for reading. The room had high ceilings, beautiful crown moulding and drapery. All were fresh and spotless. The room also contained tea making facilities (with real china), along with shortbreads and bottled water. The room was nicely set with a comfortable King bed and twin rollaway. The bath is modern - very tiny, hardly any space for toiletries - but includes the luscious Moulton Brown bath products. Full English breakfast is included - it was good but not noteworthy. I strongly recommend Oldfields.

Helpful?
3 Thank KatW-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My wife and I have recently returned from spending a very enjoyable week at The Oldfields Hotel in Bath. We looked at a number of different hotels in Bath before deciding to book a week at The Oldfields Hotel.
Their website is pretty good but you actually have to go and stay in The Oldfields Hotel to appreciate just how good the place is. The rooms are perfect, so clean and with high quality fixtures and fittings, the air conditioning was a particular bonus as we had very warm weather all week.
The public rooms are decorated to the same high standard as the bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent, superbly cooked and served. I've got to say that the scrambled eggs were the best I've ever tasted!
I cannot praise the owners and their staff highly enough nothing was too much trouble for them and they seemed to really enjoy working there. They certainly made it a wonderful week for us.

  • Liked — Bedroom with air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2006

It was lovely to walk on the grass in bare feet!! Coming from OZ with our drought, only an Aussie would know how nice it feels.
Sean, Stella, Barbara & Tasha made our 4 day stay memorable.
Nothing was a problem, good chats during and after breakfast. It really was a pleasure to stay with you, and may your individual noted aspirations achieve their potential in the coming years.
Thanks a heap from 2 'mature gentlemen'. Tom & Roger

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vhrnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#18 of 157 in Bath
1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing