We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class, First Rate along with a great Breakfast”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #29 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“First Class, First Rate along with a great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

In early August my wife and I spent two nights at Oldfields House. We arrived several hours early but we were greeted with coffee and cookies and given a through greeting and briefing of the town. After about twenty minutes our room was in fact ready and we left our stuff and set out.
It's down hill to the town so we walked about a half mile and began the great adventure. After several hours we rode the bus up the hill - there's a bargain day pass - and my wife took a nap. I went back down the hill, found the cigar store and smoked a cigar.
However back to the hotel. Room was small but all English hotels seem to have small rooms. But, it was big enough, clean and very comfortable. We slept well and woke up to a super breakfast with several choices. Very good. Staff was helpful and friendly one and all.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a king size bed. But, I don't think hotel has any rooms that are les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWJH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    294
    64
    11
    4
See reviews for
89
760
65
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed overnight with 3 adult children. Lovely welcome and orientation of the hotel and of Bath by the staff member on duty. Beautiful common room- living area with a computer available for guest use and plenty of sofas and chairs available for visiting and with a stunning view of the valley toward the city of Bath. We were shown our rooms and a primer on how the AC unit, lights and TV worked. Tea and biscuits in the room. Terrific hot water and water pressure, very good lighting in the bathroom, plenty of hooks in the bathroom to hang towels and robes on and surfaces to put out toiletries. The bed was comfortable with extra pillows and blankets available should they be needed. The rooms were quiet, even the one on the street level. Breakfast was excellent and in a bright and sunny dining room adjacent to the common sitting area. There is also a beautifully appointed garden sitting area if the weather permits.
The walk into town was a quick 10 minutes, although it was a long and steady downhill that might be a challenge for some. There are taxi ranks in town and a bus stop right out the door should you not want to walk it.
The only somewhat difficult part of the property was the entrance & exit to the parking area. It was located on a nearly blind intersection/corner. Parking in their lot was very tight...but it was free and manageable!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the valley side of the building, the views are tremendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were served tea in the beautiful, but relaxed, living room upon arrival, very nice! Short walk downhill to town, good for walkers, not for couch potatoes. Train station walking distance too. Amazing service (lots of servers!) and 5 star breakfast. Our room was noisy, because of the busy road. We closed the window and used air conditioning which was much more quiet. Very cushy comfortable bed and the room was small but not too small. Excellent big bath to soak in. Too cool to sit out in the yard, but a nice little sitting area in a well kept garden.

Room Tip: There is a noisy road, try to ask for a quiet room. Or close the window and use the air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a great midweek break in this lovely guest house. Great location with a nice walk into Bath, a city that is notorious for parking! so leave the car at Oldfields.
Breakfast was lovely, the staff friendly and always gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble.
We had a four poster bed that was great for a change.
Weather was superb whilst we were there and even enjoyed a bottle of wine sat in the garden overlooking the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst working in the area, received a lovely warm welcome on arrival , lovely room with big comfy bed so a great nights sleep and an excellent breakfast.
The carpark was full so staff gave us a pass to leave the car on the side road which was probably easier than tight manoevering in the carpark.
tiny grumble thought i had booked a room with a bath but the shower was fine plenty of hot water
will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Convenient to walk to the town or station & free parking is really useful. The hotel is very well presented. We had a room on the ground floor - great if you don't want stairs after the walk from town but it is next to the kitchen & dining room so not good if you want a lay in. There was an early morning low rumbling noise coming from somewhere below, too regular for trains? The bed was really comfy & room clean. I am not a fan of fixed shower heads & I suspect the plumber was tall, I had to reach up to use the shelf for shampoo etc ( I am 5'5") & the same for the one with the tissues. The breakfast was good quality ingredients well cooked. I prefer to just help myself if I want orange not lemon marmalade etc but the staff were friendly & efficient when you asked. One morning some guests had to wait for tables to be cleared before they had breakfast as dining room not big enough if all guests come at once. I'm trying the Paradise in a few weeks so will compare the two.

Room Tip: Room 8 is ground floor. Good if you don't want stairs & are tall, not the best if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alit0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great service, lovely building, excellent breakfasts. Initially we felt the room had been a little oversold on the web. Not quite as big and special as we expected BUT ......... The great staff who gave excellent service and the first class breakfasts served in that lovely dining room enhanced our stay so much, we left agreeing we would return if we come down this way again and will recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonBearsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 30 in Bath
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 158 in Bath
1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 158 in Bath
1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#12 of 158 in Bath
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing