We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #29 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel is situated about a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre (depending on how fast you walk). We had driven to Bath so this was perfect for us as Oldfield's has the added extra of off street parking. Greeted by friendly sincere staff with excellent knowledge and suggestions of the where to go first and what to do. Very nice staff at breakfast, great choice and very well presented. Room was clean and well presented. We would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The only problem was that we were on the top floor of the house and there is no lift. We are both in our sixties and struggled with our cases, as no one was available to help. I would check which room you are in before arrival, and only take the top one if you are very fit. They give a very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't choose the top floor unless you are fit. (no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gorranbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and adult daughter stayed in Oldfields House for three nights while holidaying in England's southwest. Our daughter had a single room and we had a double. We were very comfortable and appreciated having the tea making system in our rooms. Breakfast was excellent. The bedrooms are up two or three flights of stairs as the hotel resides in a large Victorian house. The staff were uniformly cheerful and helpful and one even carried one of our suitcases up two flights for us. Parking on the property is limited but street parking is available nearby. The location is excellent: a ten-minute walk down a steep hill to the centre of old Bath, the Avon river, the theatres and numerous restaurants and pubs. A taxi ride back from a performance late one night was not expensive. If we are ever back in Bath we will definitely be looking for a booking with Oldfields.

Room Tip: Book early so you can get a room on the first floor as this requires going up and down only two flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Oldfields for only one night and it was great! Arriving at Bath by rail, it is about a 10 minute walk uphill to get to the house, do-able with light luggage. On arrival, Karen took the time to show us on a map some of the major sights and let us store our luggage in the room, although it wasn't quite ready yet. We were on the ground floor in the back (room #7) which was quite nice: a non-functioning fireplace, king bed, huge ceilings, coffee/tea/kettle/biscuits and air-conditioning (I guess since the room is next to the road, the windows don't open). The bathroom was small, but not any smaller than other European bathrooms I've seen.

Breakfast the next morning was nice. As a vegetarian, there was a lovely "English breakfast" with vegetarian sausage, egg, tomatoes, and beans. Toast, French press coffee, fruit, cereals, were also provided. My partner had the salmon and scrambled eggs which he said he liked.

When we checked out that morning, we were able to leave our bags with the front desk while we visited the town some more which was convenient. While I shopped in town, my boyfriend was able to go back to Oldfields and wait/work in their sitting room. He said to mention that they were very kind in offering him coffee and biscuits while he worked using their wifi. :)

Highly recommended, I'd come back here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just checking out now after a VERY pleasant stay. Very clean premises, professional and friendly staff - delicious breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. Conveniently close to the bus station and the centre of Bath. Thank you Oldfields House !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed overnight but the team were very accommodating allowing us to park the car early whilst we explored Bath, we had arrived early having driven back from Cornwall. The team were so nice and directed us to the best places to visit and eat. Breakfast was of a high standard, had to wait a bit but it was worth waiting as it was very fresh and well cooked...and to be fair we were warned the night before and there was a nice disclaimer on the menu. Rooms tidy and clean, I don't mind a double bed, so swapping the king to a double would have given us some more space. This is picky, well done Oldfields for being so hospitable and making our short stay a pleasure, be sure to drop in on our next visit to Bath

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikkiinBicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I can't say one bad thing about our experience staying here during our 5 night stay.

Overall the rooms were clean and bright. Breakfast in the morning is excellent, served hot and offers you some good choices. Staff and the owners are professional, friendly and make you feel extra welcome.

I would gladly stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: One caution if you are very picky about noise is room 16 (lower level, under the dining area). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onorth1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 32 in Bath
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 159 in Bath
396 reviews
0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 159 in Bath
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#11 of 159 in Bath
1,014 reviews
0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 159 in Bath
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#10 of 159 in Bath
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $96 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing