We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #27 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversay on 13/09/13 for two nights. We were made so welcome on our arrival, and Jools took the time to tell us about the hotel and the places to visit whilst we were in Bath, she also gave us a map to help us get around. The bedroom was lovely, just what we expected, so clean and the bed was so comfy, although you are about a 10 minute walk to the centre, it is well worth it to stay in such nice accommodation. It was such a a pity that the weather so bad, as the room had a lovely balcony overlooking Bath, but we were unable to use it. The hotel does not have a bar, but the staff are more than happy to chill your wine, provide glasses and a wine bucket. All the staff were lovely and obviously take great pride in providing a first class service. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    289
    62
    11
    4
See reviews for
89
751
61
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here last weekend on our way down to Torquay - beautiful property, fantastic hosts and clean comfortable room. Breakfast was great - freshly cooked and well presented. Would definitely recommend a stay at this place. The hosts could not have been more helpful and we followed there recommendations and had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our bathroom was quite small and the layout could cause an issue for anyone with mobility issues - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The best B&B I have stayed in, if it had a bar it would be one of the best hotels. Parking tight and a little dated on the outside but a delicious breakfast. Definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely couple of nights at Oldfields. There are no doubt lots of places to stay in/around Bath with decent facilities, but what made our stay at Oldfields special was the warm welcome and the friendly feel of the place - on arrival we were greeted by Casey, who made us tea/coffee and gave us some information about Oldfields and about Bath. Casey also made us tea the next day, when we got back from our day out.

Staff were similarly friendly/helpful at breakfast - and the cooked breakfasts were excellent. The relatively short window for breakfast (orders 8.00-9.20) was fine for us as we had full days planned so needed to be up at a reasonable time; it may have been less welcome had we wanted a long lazy brunch type breakfast one day.

The room (deluxe with four poster) was very nice - beautifully decorated, clean, big enough, and with everything we needed in it.

The hotel's location is good - the short walk out of town was fine, and the hotel is ideally located for The Mint Room, a local Indian restaurant which we loved (really interesting dishes as well as all the traditional ones, food tasty and beautifully presented, good service - don't be put off by the ugly exterior of the building as the restaurant is a gem!).

We loved Bath and hope to visit again - if so, we will definitely stay at Oldfields.

Room Tip: We splashed out on one of the deluxe four poster rooms and it was lovely - plenty of space, nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliC1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Oldfields in the deluxe four poster room in August. Its situated a 10 minute walk from the centre. On arrival we just managed to squeeze the car into the small car park and checked in. The welcome was great, we were offered tea or coffee and were given some guides and discount vouchers for various restaurants etc.
We were then shown to our room which was lovely, we had a little balcony area which gave beautiful views over the city.
The bed was very comfy and the room was bright and spacious. We've given a 4 star rather than 5 because there were a few very minor things wrong with the room. One of the spotlights wasn't fitting right in the ceiling, the bathroom could probably do with a bit of an update and the little "C" cap on the top of the tap wasn't stuck to the tap. Every time we turned it on it would fall off and we'd chase it round the sink. Its really just minor little things which could easily be fixed and didn't impact our enjoyment of the place.
We visited Jamie Oliver's Italian and the staff at Oldfields kindly arranged a taxi for us to take us into town.
The next morning we had a beautiful breakfast, the staff are very good at their jobs and couldn't do enough to help. We asked to change tomatoes for baked beans on the cooked breakfast which was no trouble. There was also a large selection of fruits and yoghurts to help yourself to whilst waiting for the cooked meal. We wished there were more of the sausages as they were delicious but only one was provided and they were half the length of a normal sausage!
All in all it was a relaxing and comfortable stay and their staff are a credit to them, well done Oldfields.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a one night stay at this hotel and we would recommend it and definitely be back to stay. The service was very good and the breakfast was lovely - including vegetarian sausages which was a delight for me. It is a ten minute walk into town, and has great views of the city centre. Each room has a DVD player and a the hotel has a DVD library where you can borrow any movie. The one small complaint was that the water was not warm enough for my partner's shower in the morning, but may have just been a one off. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family in two of their superior rooms for a couple of nights. We were greater by Karen who gave us tea and coffee in the reception area. A lovely spot to stay in Bath a ten minute walk from the city centre and all the attractions. Breakfast was good and the service was reasonable. On our first morning they "lost" lost our order in the kitchen which giving hat there are only about 10 tables in ten breakfast room seemed ridiculous. The breakfast did make a huge effort the next day to ensure that the mistake wasn't repeated. Food was good but they really need to organize the restaurant staff better, I think that's how our order got lots. No one person is in charge and they seem to fall over each other a lot.
The garden oaf the house is beautiful although the rain did stop us enjoying it.
The front desk staff made some good recommendations for eating and if they suggest the local Indian restaurant don't be put off by its size and outdated decor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing