We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #23 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    279
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
734
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Four Poster room on the lower floor (rm 17) and we had a lovely stay. We were welcomed with an offer of tea in the lounge while we went to our room which was most appreciated. The room is a lovely size and the Jacuzzi bath was amazing, Molton Brown products were an added bonus. The breakfast was lovely and had everything you could possibly need including Cava! Overall we had a lovely stay and thought the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17, nice and quiet, very comfortable, garden view and no traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipsqueak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I booked a spa session in Bath as a Christmas present to each other, and settled on Oldfields House as our choice of stay for two nights while we were there. What can I say, the whole experience was perfect, down to the tiniest detail.

We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly, welcoming and helpful member of staff. She sat us down after our long drive in the communal area with cups of tea and coffee, before showing us a map of Bath and the proximity of places of interest, including bus routes etc. It turned out these were not needed anyway as the B&B is no more than 10 mins walk from the centre of Bath.

We were then shown to our room, which was lovely. Very clean, spacious for what it was, with all necessary conveniences available to us. The bathroom was also very clean and well-kept, with a very powerful shower. The bed was lovely and a few good nights sleep were had in it. It was almost a shame to leave the room, but we had much to pack into our few days in Bath.

In the morning, breakfast was delicious and the selection ample. We grew accustomed to the friendly and helpful staff who would literally cater to almost every need.

I could go on, I really could. There was absolutely nothing at all to fault. This place was wonderful and it meant so much to my partner and I to stay somewhere which looked after our stay so well. A big thank you to all and I recommend this as a place to stay should anyone consider it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the purple room, king size bed and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We only stayed one night but were extremely impressed with the warm welcome and general friendliness of all the staff we met. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and then shown to our rooms. It was a short 10 minute walk downhill into the centre of Bath and not too much of a drag back up hill on return. When we got back to the hotel we were again offered tea or coffee witch was very welcome as it was a very cold day. The fire was lit in the sitting room so we took full adavantage because as I said it was a very colf day. The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The followin morning we enjoyed a very nice breakfast with as much tea and coffe as we could drink. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigethedrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed visiting Bath recently. We received a warm welcome on our arrival at Oldfields (no tea or coffee was offered on arrival as per other readers reviews though). We stayed in room 15 which had a clean ensuite shower room and the bed was very comfortable. However the decor of this particular room did feel rather tired and in our opinion wasn't anything special for the price and not as good as we were led to believe from other reviews, so unfortunately slightly disappointing. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful though. Parking wasn't a problem as once parked, we walked down the hill into the town. I think the walk would be more enjoyable in the warmer weather and lighter evenings. This hotel would suit all who like good service, reasonable food, in very traditional and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are sorry that this guest's stay did not meet his expectations. Especially since most guests are more than happy with the facilities and standard offered by our budget loft rooms (see earlier reviews below...)

We really apologise that the guest was not offered refreshment on arrival - it is a hard and fast rule of the house that the offer should be made, irrespective of arrival time or any other circumstances.

A change in the decor of the loft rooms is in the pipeline and we hope that we can please all of the guests all of the time once this has been accomplished.

On a related subject, we note that, once again, we received a score of 3 out of 5 for "location". Perhaps TripAdvisor would like to clarify the purpose of this rating. Are they suggesting that guests are booking rooms without knowing where the property is situated? Or are owners expected to relocate their properties as a result of low "location" scores?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in Feb 13 and booked in advance via Trip Advisor after reading good reviews. On arrival we were early but our room was ready as no one had stayed the night before so we got straight in. The lady on reception was fantastic, friendly and gave us a map and explained how to get to town and what to see etc. she even gave us a promotional discount card for some of the sights.
The hotel was clean, breakfast was gorgeous and everything we needed was provided.
The main town was a 10 minute walk away (we did it in less but walked fast as it was quite chilly!)
We are already thinking about going back and would look to stay here again. Have already recommended to a friend!
Marie & Russ

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the loft rooms and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife, Son and myself had an excellent short break in Bath this week despite the outside temperature not rising above 3.5 degrees C. !!. We did the City Bus Tour (recommended) and visited the Roman Baths (a "Must see" in our view) and walked for several miles amidst amazing architecture. I wish I could afford a house in The Circus or Royal Crescent !.
Our trip was made even more enjoyable by a stay at Oldfields House. We were warmly greeted upon arrival with tea and biscuits, given a briefing on what to see, where to eat etc. before being shown our rooms which were immaculate, warm and very comfortable. A couple of minor housekeeping issues were dealt with courteously and efficently by Karen. Breakfast was prompt and delicious with top quality ingredients used. All staff were smartly dressed and extremely helpful...all having been well-trained and seemed to really enjoy helping their guests.
As Arnold once said..."We shall be back " !!.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing