We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Bath”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #29 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just spent 1 night in Oldfields house and i must say it was lovely. We stayed in one of the attic rooms which i thought was lovely and had a lovely view over Bath. Breakfast was Lovely and the waitresses were very attentive as was the lady that greeted us when we arrived. Would certainly stay there again if we are ever in the area. The house is immaculate and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just got back from our 3 night stay, we booked one of the 4 poster rooms which we presumed would have been one of the best rooms as it was for our 20th anniversary. The room was on the basement level it had a jacuzzi bath which was nice. Unfortunately the room has a lot of mould we would open the windows every morning when we went into town but they were always shut up when we returned from town. The wall that faced the garden had mould behind every curtain and on the wall under the stereo, it was obviousness that this had been seen as it had had an attempt to wipe it off but it was never going to go away as there was no ventilation. The whole place needed a re-dec as the paintwork was looking very tired, also get some grout in the tiles ,many areas had it missing and was allowing mould to start to get a hold. We are not the type of people to complain and as everything else was ok with our stay we thought it best not to say anything, but I was disappointed with the state of the room and the cost per night.

Room Tip: Do not take room 17 unless its been redecorated and has an air brick fitted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We apologise to this guest for the condition of this room. On investigation behind the curtains we certainly did find mildew which has now been eradicated. The bathroom extractor fan had also failed and is being replaced.
The windows on the ground level rooms are closed in the afternoon for security reasons.
The owners have already started the process of re-decorating all of the rooms - but this does take time to schedule and complete.
Once again, we appeal to guests to bring any issues to our attention so that they can be dealt with immediately and the guest's stay made more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October as part of our honeymoon break. The hotel is presented to a high standard in a lovely large old mansion house around 10 minutes stroll from the centre of Bath. Our 4-poster room was excellent and we even had a balcony although being October we didn’t have much use for it, I can imagine it would have been fantastic to sit out there in the summer. We were greeted with tea and cakes on arrival and breakfast was one of the best I have experienced in a hotel. Parking is a bonus in Bath, although it should be noted there are only 7 spaces for 16 rooms and none were available when we arrived, we had to park on the service driveway which does risk you being blocked in although we had no problems whilst we were there.

Room Tip: We booked a "superior deluse four poster" which came with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Oldfields for three nights in October. Mostly we found the stay a good one, although a few things did annoy us somewhat.

The welcome we received was very friendly and included some tea and coffee in the guest living room. We were shown to our room, which had a modern television, tea and coffee making facilities, a big comfy bed and en-suite (although this was the smallest en-suite I had ever seen).

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and efficiently served by friendly waitresses. There was the usual English breakfast fayre, of course, but also the option to have smoked salmon, fresh fruit and even a glass of cava!

There is parking on site (although I doubt everyone could fit in if the place was full). The spaces are quite tight, but since we have a small car, and didn't use it during our stay, this was also satisfactory.

The B&B seems to be run by three people: an older couple and a younger woman. The latter was very friendly and keen to help us out. She sorted out our Thermae Bath Spa vouchers and was always there with a smile and assistance. We had very little to do with the older woman aside from our initial welcome.

However, there were some gripes which we took to the male manager and, to be honest, his response was less than satisfactory. All through the first night there was an odd banging (from 1.00am until about 5.00am, albeit in separated bursts) on the wall. Whatever this was (it had never been reported before and we didn't hear it in the subsequent nights) it was very annoying and kept us awake. Sadly, when we spoke to the male manager about this issue, he was reticent to say the least. He mumbled something about a discount (not sought at the time and never subsequently offered) but clearly didn't believe us. Moreover, we were not asked whether the banging had continued the next day/night.

Also, the B&B is extremely hot. It may be October but the week we stayed was a very mild one (14C) and it was not necessary to heat the house to such a level. We had to sleep with the window open, which, as it overlooks a very busy main road, further added to our problems sleeping.

Overall Oldfields is a delightful place to stay. A quick walk into Bath, excellent breakfasts, generally very good service and well-appointed rooms means you'll have a good time. My advice would be to ask for a room away from Wells Road and to pack light clothing!

Room Tip: Rooms away from Wells Road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed just one night and found this hotel to both comfortable and relaxing. Very good breakfast served efficiently to order. When next in Bath will undoubtedly stay here again. Only negative is limited parking but this is easily overcome. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

by far the best breakfast we have had on holiday. room was quaint with a sloping ceiling but comfy bed. greeted with bubbles or orange juice on arrival. nice walk to town. great views over bath. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! Firstly the host Jill was extremely welcoming and wanted to help wherever possible. The room was lovely - spacious, had a TV with DVD player, very nice bathroom and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in! The breakfast was delicious and there was a wide variety of food and drinks to choose from. Overall we had an amazing experience in this guest house and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Bath. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#20 of 155 in Bath
1,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 155 in Bath
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 155 in Bath
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $123 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing