We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the Molton Brown scam!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #23 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the Molton Brown scam!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Oldfields, however it was spoiled by being charged an extra £80 (without notice) for some Molton Brown products we'd taken from the room.

These products are advertised on their website, however, if you you stay in a deluxe room, you are then charged without notice if you take them home with you. Confusingly, if you pay less and stay in a smaller room you are allowed to take these home with you...

I wonder how much the owners have made by covertly charging people and assuming this won't be contested?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShenelOtkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
There is no "Molton Brown Scam" and we are upset that TripAdvisor continues to allow such unsubstantiated allegations to be made by anonymous reviewers; to the long term, lasting detriment of the establishments on the receiving end.

Some clarification of the facts is required.

Our policy towards the provision of Molton Brown products is clearly stated in Oldfield's room welcome pack. Other guests of Oldfields House have already seen fit to point out this simple policy in their reviews within the TripAdvisor site.

Oldfields allows its guests the luxury of unlimited use of the Molton Brown products placed in their room for their personal use and for the duration of their stay. With over one litre of a range of premium personal care products available to guests in our luxury rooms, we are happy for them to make maximum use of the products - Guests in our standard rooms are provided with exactly the the same range of products but in 30ml sizes; these are replaced free-of-charge on a daily basis.

When large containers of Molton Brown products are taken from a room, we immediately attempt to contact the guest to establish if the product had been packed by mistake (which is very often the case) In the case of this particular guest, we attempted to contact her over a period of 2 days, leaving a series of messages on her mobile. We explained the situation and asked for her to contact us. No reply was forthcoming.

Since the retail value of the products was £80 and the daily room rate was £97, we had no choice other than to charge the guest for the missing products. The guest then decided to contact us disputing the situation. Several e-mails ensued and it was agreed that Oldfields would reverse the charge against the guest and the guest would, in return, send the Molton Brown products back to Oldfields. We further agreed to reimburse the client for the cost of sending our own property back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    279
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
734
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We just spent two wonderful nights (Apr. 24 & 25, 2012) at this hotel/B&B. We drove from the Cotswolds and got lost several times on the way, once driving on the freeway out of the the way in the wrong direction, but the worst part was actually finding the hotel once we got to Bath. BTW, parking in Bath is not as easy at might first appear; it rivals London. If you go and aren't driving, you will probably do yourself a favor and take the cab from the station, especially if the bridge is still out that leads to the hotel (you can walk there via a pedestrian bridge, however, once you check in and know your way around).

The hotel is elegant and refined, a beautiful old building with impeccable, tasteful rooms and a wonderful full "proper" English breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make it easier for us, but we had to lug our (heavy) bags up a flight of stairs to our room, something we didn't have to do at any of the hotels we stayed at in London. Furthermore, we were able to get Priceline rates there as well. This made life a lot easier.

Bath is magnificent; make sure to see the Roman bath exhibit, the best interactive museum that I have ever been to, the best part of our two weeks in England.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrad0mski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

It was very nice to be given tea on arrival and I was pleased to see that there was plenty of tea and coffee in the sitting room as well as in the bedroom. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had a very comfortable night in the single room and once the traffic ceased on the Wells Road it was possible to have the window and double glazing unit open. I have stayed at Oldfields many times over the last 25 years and although it lacks the fine details I enjoyed originally, it is still very good value. Clean and comfortable with lovely Molton Brown products in the en suite. Boiled Eggs were not on the breakfast menu so I settled for scrambled and shame about the packet cereals and Robinson's Marmalade. The prunes were straight from a packet and not even soaked. Breakfasts used to be a bit of a highlight with home made museli, dried fruit salad, yogurt and marmalade and all accompanied by Mozart. Everything changes but I shall certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwichbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in one of the executive rooms, the room was very clean and comfortable with great views from both windows. There was only 1 fault and that was the step in the middle of the bathroom. Whilst both myself and my partner knew it was there we both found ourselves slipping down it especially during the night.
The service was excellent as was the kind welcome despite us arriving well before our check in time.
The breakfast was good, again the service was brilliant and the breakfast room was bright and comfortable.
Well worth the money and I would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Having just got back from Oldfields, I can only say excellent.
A warm welcome as you walk through the door as well as tea and coffee and the theme continues throughout the stay. The food is good too, well worth a visit to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andystriumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed one night in an attic room, similar to the other reviewer I found it noisy, despite double glazed window, and hot. The en-suite was a little cupboard with a big heated towel rail which pumped out the heat and didnt appear to be able to be turned off. Couldnt open the window as it was too noisy!
The room was clean and bed was fine, but the noise was aproblem, overlooking the busy Wells road.
Breakfast was pretty good, and the ambience pleasant.
The parking is very limited, and it can be hard to park on surrounding streets. I suppose you could walk into the town centre.
The price, however was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyareallchosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When reading other reviews about this place we thought we would be in for a treat. However when shown to our room , Number 15 ,it was in the attic space which was very small , also there was mould in the bathroom as the ventilation was poor and a large hole around the plug sockets which was unsightly. We wish we had chosen more wisely. The Welcome was warm and breakfast was okay but not exactly four star with the wait being 40 minutes from point of order. The location was a ten to fifteen minute walk into town . Maybe the room is awaiting its makeover?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We are sorry that this guest did not have the anticipated treat that is experienced by the majority of our guests. Our Standard Queen room is priced as our budget offering and, as such, is 15 metres square. The picture of the room shows the sloping roof-line as the room is in the eaves. Despite the room's budget pricing, the room still offers the same luxury items offered in our superior rooms (e.g. air conditioning, flat-screen TV and DVD, tea/coffee facilities and free Molton Brown toiletries).

Regarding the mould in the bathroom - our standard room checks and deep cleaning cycles normally keep this situation under control. The occurrence in this particular room was discovered and rectified almost immediately after the guest's departure.

Unfortunately, on the day in question, the majority of guests came down for breakfast all together towards the end of service. As all our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order, this caused a delay for which we can only apologise.

We are saddened that guests do not relate their disappointments whilst they are still with us and when we are more able to address their own specific issues. We endeavour to ask every guest (at checkout time) about the standard of their accommodation and if they were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing