We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #24 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2007

We have just returned from a 3 day break in Bath. We stayed in this Guesthouse which is wonderful and I would recommend it to couples of all ages. We stayed in Room 10 which has wonderful views and it also had a balcony with similar views. The bed was extremely comfortable and the general ambience was luxurious.Breakfast is devine with prompt and friendly service. There is a terrific choice and the standard of food and presentation top class. All the staff are friendly and very helpful and we will definitely return soon.
Bath is a wonderful city break with plenty to do and lots of bespoke shops to visit. There are loads of good restaurants and the people of Bath are so friendly and helpful...3 days were not long enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2007

Just back from a 2 nights stay in Bath - booked to stay at Oldfields, after hours of searching for somewhere special to stay, with my husband for a rare break away from the kids !!Oldfields had fab reviews on Tripadvisor and am happy to report they are all correct - stayed in room 16 - nice and quiet, lovely room with a nice big bathroom - b'fast in the morning was perfect. The attention to detail second to none - with candle lit in the evening, lovely cosy fire in the reception area - just perfect...

Ate at Maritni (italian) and Hudson Bar & Grill, both great restuarants - lots of walking, the B&B is about 10mins from town and yes it is abit of an uphill walk on the way back, but a great way to walk off our evening meal.

Would recommend to anyone - thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank natkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We had a great stay at Oldfield's. Rod and Alex were so helpful and warm. They provided excellent directions and suggestions. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and accommodating and made our stay a pleasure. The breakfasts were great, too, with a lovely view of Bath from the dining room. they suggested a dinner at the Ring O Bells which was a real find - fried bire and Moroccan lamb stew!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

The reviews are correct, a real find. Everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel, but with the itimate feel of a 16 room B&B. Although some hotels should take note of the little extras that make the customers very happy. My daughter loved the laptop available to be used in the lounge. With an open fire and newspapers to read, plus a wide selection of tea and coffee. near a busy road but they have put measure in place to overcome any problems you might have. A short stroll into Bath and a £4.00 taxi ride home (all up hill coming back). Bath is a wonderful place to shop, lots of interesting places to visit and wonderful eating. We will return, if we can get in!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Buckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Oldfields Hotel last weekend, having booked it based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Once again, Tripadvisor came up trumps, because this is a great little hotel and an awesome discovery!

The staff are friendly and helpful, even coming out to meet us in the carpark when we arrived (although that may have had something to do with me blocking part of their admittedly small car park!) Our room was very light and spacious, helped considerably by the very high ceilings, and beautifully decorated. The hotel is an old Victorian town house and they've retained most of the original features in the rooms, such as the fireplaces, ceiling roses and decorative friezes at the tops of the walls. The bathroom was, like the rest of the room, spotlessly clean and had a nice powerful shower with complimentary Molton Brown products.

Our only minor criticisms would be that our toilet seemed to take forever to refill after each flush (hardly a disaster, but slightly irritating) and the use of sheets and blankets on the bed rather than a nice duvet. Personal choice, but I would have preferred it. Having said that, the bedding was again spotless and crisp, so I've got no complaints with the standard of what was provided.

Breakfast in the morning was also very impressive. The spread of cereals and fruit was slightly limited but would easily cater for most travellers and what was there looked good. We then opted for the full English and vegetarian breakfasts respectively, which were clearly cooked freshly to order and must easily rate as one of the best hotel breakfasts we've enjoyed for a very long time.

Basically, a little gem and I would heartily recommend it!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank snafu_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed at the Oldfields Hotel for one night and it was great. The manager(s) at the time (the owners were away) were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The walk to town was about 15 minutes. We purchased a spa package and were provided with robes and slippers and other essentials, and had a great time at the Thermae spa in town. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

This was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in the UK although it is probably best described as a boutique hotel. The service and attention we received upon arrival was amazing and the equal of any 5 star hotel.
The room was was spotlessly clean, well fitted out and tastefully furnished. The public rooms were lovely and the free internet access most useful.
Are only regret was that we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 159 in Bath
833 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $118 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing