We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful proprietors. Great services. Great place.”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #17 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel is definitely a good choice.
Location is at a main street that has good public transport directly to town. And taxi from town centre only cost around 6pounds each way.
People are very friendly and nice.
Rooms are tidy and decorations are new and traditional.
the whole place is absolutely clean and neat.
They have wifi internet in many locations and I could just stay in my room and access the internet.
They have skyTV in the rooms and during my 2 nights stay, I watched carling cup games in both nights.

The only consideration would only be the price. But after all I would still recommend you to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

I decided to go to Bath and booked the Aquae Sulis..the website was very helpful giving a very good idea of what to expect in each room and helped me in making my decision. It was also good that they have a per night charge for two people sharing a room ( rather than per person charge) and a reasonable charge for any additional people in the room. I found the fact that they offered a pick up service from the train station to be a very good touch..you feel welcome from the start and the owners Jane and David are very thoughtful and go out of their way for you. A suggestion would be to offer a continental breakfast as well as the English breakfast and cereals etc.I cannot fault anything though. One does need to use public transport or drive to the centre of Bath from the hotel , but would be ideal for people who don't like the noise that comes with being more centrally located. On the way back in the evenings, it was the most lit up hotel in the area! Looked lovely! The website's online booking option let you chose and book your rooms which is great!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redrose176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We enjoyed three nights here for the British Transplant Games in August.
Lovely room (possibly a little dated), very clean, good location on outskirts of beautiful Bath. Excellent breakfasts (best meal of the day !), served by exceptional staff. Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble - top marks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConwayReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great place to stay. We had terrific service from the greeting when we arrived to the information of getting around Bath and when to see sights. We were very grateful for the service of storing our bags and then delivering them to the train station when we were departing. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. We had a very delicious and plentiful breakfast in the morning. The servers were especially friendly at breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaSegstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I thorough enjoyed our stay at this lovely guesthouse recently. The hospitality far surpassed anywhere I've stayed before! The owners went out of their way for us and we're very grateful having never been to Bath before. We only stayed one night but that didn't make any difference to how we were welcomed. The room we stayed in and it's private bathroom were both fantastically clean & comfortable with everything we could need. Choice of breakfast was wide and wonderful, and delicious! Totally recommended! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alocinbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights beginning of May. First impression, very friendly, the girl who checked us in was helpful regarding bus times\numbers, how to get into Bath, where we could smoke etc.

We stayed in the Dr Oliver Annexe, we chose this so we would have quick access to the garden for smoking. It was very private with its own entrance to the street as well as the garden access. The garden was well kept with tables and chairs. If the sun had been shining it would have been lovely to have a drink sitting out there.

Small but well stocked bar, comfortable lounge. What we did notice was how clean everything was, the bedroom had plenty of storage, a lovely shower room and everything as advertised on the web site. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.

Bus into Bath centre was £2.20 single or a taxi cost just over £6.00.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

On arrival, the staff were very polite, welcoming, and provided us with all of the information that we needed, such as the best way to get into the city centre, and where to eat near to the B&B.
Our room was clean and well presented, and provided everything needed for a few nights, including tea and coffee making facilities, TV, and toiletries. The information book in the room was a welcome extra, providing information on the hotel, Bath, restaurants, places to visit, and the free internet access provided. However, with the bedroom window open, we could hear the large volume of traffic outside, although this was to be anticipated, and is a small compromise for being in such a convenient location. Another downside of the room was the sloping roof, associated with being on the top floor, which meant that you had to be careful when standing or leaning over the dressing table/desk and TV, so that you did not hit your head.
The breakfast provided was of a very good standard, with a good range of cooked, continental-style breakfasts, as well as cereals, hot drinks and fresh fruit juice. Again, the service at breakfast was of a good standard, though they did not seem one-hundred percent concentrated on serving each individual guests.
The provision of a computer that could be used by guests was a welcome extra service, so that anyone who did not bring their own laptop (as we did), could use it to check emails, and stay in contact with friends and family easily.
Overall, the hotel was very clean and well presented, with the exception of the small side tables in the entrance hallway holding leaflets, which looked a little cluttered and disorganised at times. The service was of a high standard, and the facilities and services provided to guests (such as towels, tea/coffee facilities, etc) were of an excellent standard. For the location and what is provided, Aquae Sulis proved to be excellent value for money.
I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone considering booking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $90 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing