We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term break to bath”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #17 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Can really recommend this guest house. Very friendly staff and accommodating, rooms very suitable for our needs. Excellent choice of breakfast and staff will arrange light suppers on request. Use of the dining room is available for take away options too. Will hopefully stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We read all our reviews carefully as an important feedback for the business. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to make you feel comfortable and well attended to. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 959 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

A great welcome, nice clean comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast. There is easy access to Bath via the bus route that runs outside the guest house. Tourist areas are therefore easily accessible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your review as a valuable source of feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Aquae Sulis a convenient place from which to visit the sights of Bath. The bus company also provides a useful all day ticket for £4.20. Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A lovely welcoming guest house that is well equipped. We stayed in double room that was very clean, all the staff were very friendly and informative. There was a wide variety of choice for Breakfast, it was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68Kim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Aquae Sulis. We appreciate the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient place to stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a family room with lots of space, very friendly staff and a lovely breakfast.
We would stay again but our only remark is the beds, not very comfy and pillows were lumpy, but other than that we had a great stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Aquae Sulis. We read all our reviews carefully and we appreciate the feedback We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We note your comments on the beds. They were recently recommended by a leading bed manufacturer in the hospitality industry and we will pass on your comments. We will check our pillow quality. Thank you again and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Really quaint house and very friendly staff. Makes you feel like you're in someone's home rather than a hotel. The manager popped around at breakfast for a chat and there were some good breakfast options on offer. Would happily stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Aquae Sulis. We very much appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were so helpful and genuine, it was a breath of fresh air. We only stayed for one night, but our room was lovely, very clean and quiet with excellent facilities and a touch of homeliness - always a bonus! The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, there is a charming walk along the river to the city which takes around 20 mins, or if you don't fancy the walk there are bus stops to and from the city literally outside the front of the guesthouse! It was so good I was actually sad that we weren't staying longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnomelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Aquae Sulis. We read all our reviews carefully and appreciate the feedback. We are very glad that you found the atmosphere welcoming and warm. It is very much our aim to provide a sincere personal service as well as a good standard of comfort and cleanliness. We are glad that you enjoyed walking the city which is the healthiest way! Our doorstep bus service also provides a useful all day pass for £4.20 for the foot-weary. Thank you again and we hope to see you again sometime in Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just had an enjoyable stay at the Aquae Sulis. We arrived by train and took advantage of the courtesy pick up and drop off service that is provided, very useful as it is situated about 10 minutes outside of Bath. The place is extremely clean and well looked after. Our room was very spacious and comfortable will all the facilities you could ask for or expect. Rounding off our stay was a tasty breakfast which was cooked to order from a varied menu.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Aquae Sulis. We very much value your feedback. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and we were able to provide you with a good standard of service. We are located in Bath, but as you say, out of the city centre. We do, however, have a doorstep bus service which runs every 12 min and they provide a very useful all day pass for just £4.20. Thank you again and hope to see you one day on a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing