We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our party of 3 adults stayed here on Bank Holiday Monday. They were very accommodating, the staff were friendly and on the whole we had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was very comfortable, we had a wonderful nights sleep and the breakfast didn't disappoint. We will definitely be staying here again and are already planning our next visit for later on this year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write your review. We appreciate all reviews for the valuable feedback they provide. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 980 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, they were booked out for the third. Absolutely spotless. We were given a lovely room. Breakfasts were good and substantial. The staff very helpful and friendly. This B & B is on the outskirts of Bath but there are buses right outside the door. We look forward to returning again later in the year

Room Tip: Ask for the Disraeli room. Nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We read carefully all our reviews for the helpful feedback they provide. They are a good incentive for us to keep on the straight and narrow. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you later in the year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B just outside of the main area of Bath while attending a family wedding. The owners and the staff are warm, caring, and helpful. They are ready to provide for your every need and made excellent suggestions in many areas. The house is inviting with a nice living room, bar area, dining room, a lovely garden, and nice size rooms. All the rooms are named after famous people who lived in Bath (and in the morning your table for breakfast is designated with the name of your room in a holder which includes a whole write-up on that person). The breakfast menu is extensive and the food is excellent along with the service even when everyone is down at the same time. Our room was quite large, on the first floor, had a large bathroom with window, and a door leading out to the garden. All the normal amenities where there and some extra touches that made one feel pampered. The bed was very good and you can get a variety of pillow types. In addition you can bring in food for snacks or evening meals and you are asked to eat in the dining room. (They do not want people eating in their rooms as a consideration for other current and future guests who would find the odors a problem. GREAT!) Along with drinks from the bar, it makes for a nice evening. In our case there were some rather noisy guests in the bar and dining room and before we even got settled, one of the staff came over and quietly asked whether we might not be more comfortable eating in the living room. She then brought plates, etc. and we had a lovely time on our own. Also note: there is plenty of parking in front of the house and it is easy to get on and off the main road. We have stayed in wonderful B&Bs, but this one gets the highest rating.

Room Tip: I forgot the name of our room, but the description should help you book it. It was also straight ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking so much time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review. Such reviews are very helpful to both us and to our guests. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and we were able to look after you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Aquae Sulis has everything that a good B & B should have. The bathrooms are modern, the rooms are comfortable, bright and airy, the entire place is squeaky clean, and the breakfasts are sumptuous. Eggs to order, lean, quality ham, croissants or toast, a big bowl of cut fruit, cereals, yogurts, and tea or coffee. There is a pleasant sitting area in the back, a large breakfast room in which one in the evening can have prepared a light supper or enjoy a delivered meal, and a comfortable sitting room. There is even a small bar. A five minute walk in one direction is the River Avon where a pleasant restaurant has seating next to the river and a fifteen minute walk in the other direction is a clean pub with very good food--try the house lasagna. Next door is a bus stop and just down the way toward the river there is a park and ride where one can ride the non-stop into town center a few minutes away. Aquae Sulis is set far enough away from the rode as to be quiet. The pluses to this wonderful B & B are Jane the owner and Ana the manager. They obviously care deeply about the comfort of their guests and are wonderful people. With their presence they create a very welcoming and comforting environment that makes for a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I could not recommend this B & B more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write such a thoughtful review and we are very glad you were comfortable and we hope you are feeling refreshed after your stay. Thank you again from Jane and Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is a great place to stay in bath, away from horrendous traffic and scores of tourists but near enough to get into town when needed. Lively clean rooms with lots of little extras. Breakfast was lovely and the service was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We do provide a good location in Bath for guests who are looking for trouble free parking and a stay just outside the 'madding crowd'! At the same time we have a convenient local riverside 'eaterie' and pleasant walks. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

very clean - comfortable - quite - pleasant welcoming staff - good access for town or country - car parking (which is a must in Bath) - ticks all the boxes
have stayed here on two occasions and not been disapointed

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

It was good to see you again and thanks for taking the time to review us. Guest reviews really are our 'shop window' these days and we do really appreciate the time you take. They help us to keep our standards up

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located on the edge of Bath city centre, this is a friendly and comfortable guest house well located for access to Bath itself and the surrounding countryside. We have no hesitation in recommending this guest house since it is just about the most flexible establishment we have ever stayed in. The staff were quite happy to literally bend over backwards to give any assistance you might need, and did not wait for you to identify that you needed help. We look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We very much appreciate all your comments which encourage our staff, who are very dedicated, to continue providing the best service. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,951 reviews
2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $96 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing