We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming guest house with everything you need and great service.”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A charming guest house with everything you need and great service.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is a great place to stay in bath, away from horrendous traffic and scores of tourists but near enough to get into town when needed. Lively clean rooms with lots of little extras. Breakfast was lovely and the service was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We do provide a good location in Bath for guests who are looking for trouble free parking and a stay just outside the 'madding crowd'! At the same time we have a convenient local riverside 'eaterie' and pleasant walks. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    227
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
309
300
60
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hitchin
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

very clean - comfortable - quite - pleasant welcoming staff - good access for town or country - car parking (which is a must in Bath) - ticks all the boxes
have stayed here on two occasions and not been disapointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It was good to see you again and thanks for taking the time to review us. Guest reviews really are our 'shop window' these days and we do really appreciate the time you take. They help us to keep our standards up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located on the edge of Bath city centre, this is a friendly and comfortable guest house well located for access to Bath itself and the surrounding countryside. We have no hesitation in recommending this guest house since it is just about the most flexible establishment we have ever stayed in. The staff were quite happy to literally bend over backwards to give any assistance you might need, and did not wait for you to identify that you needed help. We look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We very much appreciate all your comments which encourage our staff, who are very dedicated, to continue providing the best service. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bath is expensive so you expect value for money.This Guest house was clean, well appointed, lovely breakfast, helpful, friendly staff and easy to get into the city centre from. We used a taxi to get into the city in the evening and the nearby park and ride during the day, although it is possible to walk in aswell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us - it was nice to see you again. We find reviews an essential part of our process of self-assessment and our efforts to provide the experience that guests are looking for. Thanks once again and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Needed to stay somewhere near Twerton while visiting my daughter. I plan to use Aquae Sulis again, welcoming efficient staff, lovely room to relax in as well as public lounge and bar if necessary. Great breakfast. I liked the atmosphere. Shame Bath bed and breakfasts are so expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take notice of all comments which help us to maintain our standards and provide good value. We hope to see you next time you visit your daughter. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel has good location located in living area. Even a bit far from Bath's city center, it's ok for us traveling with a car. The bedroom has clean and comfortable beds, also well equipped with tea/coffee/hot chocolate.The bathroom is great size with full of amenities. The breakfast is tasty and variety of choices. I strongly recommend it to other.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornrujira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are pleased to you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them in our on-going efforts to maintain the best standards. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay at the guest house. Nice rooms and fantastic breakfast. They offered NHS discount which is always handy. Staff were helpful, told us what to see and where to eat. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your comments and use them all in our self-assessment. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing