We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was extremely comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was superb and had a wide range of choice. The location was fantastic. It was easy to get to whilst avoiding driving through centre of Bath and there was plenty of parking on arrival. There is a bus into the centre of Bath that ran every 10 minutes and the stop is directly outside the guest house. It is approximately a 30 minute walk to the centre of Bath if you chose to stroll into town down the river. Overall I would highly recommend staying here.

Andy and Alex

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Bath. We make a particular effort to provide an atmosphere in which people can both relax and get the most out of their break in Bath. Your compliments will encourage us to continue our service. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    224
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
301
293
58
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Extremely comfortable two nights. The standard of service was above excellent. I would reccomend it to to all. The whole atmoshere is one of comfort and luxury and it tops my list for value for money, convenience and customer service.

Room Tip: Book in it's terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We always appreciate how busy people's lives are and so especially appreciate the time you have given to posting a review. Everyone here works extremely hard to provide a good customer service and we value your complimentary feedback which encourages us to develop our service further. Jane and Ana hope that you found your missing shoes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were on family vacation and stayed one night here. The location is not far away from down town by car and very easy to find. The staff was very nice and the room just gave you a feeling at home. The B&B provides free car parking which is convenient.

Room Tip: About 2.1 miles or 10 minutes drive from down town Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenxian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a review. They are always very helpful to us and we always take note of your comments in our efforts to provide good customer service. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy your stay in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Such friendly staff! A lovely place where they have thought of everything you could possibly need. We booked a family room and have teenagers so we were pleased that there were proper beds, plenty of space, free wifi and an excellent shower. There was also a fantastic choice for breakfast. the possibility to bring a take away back to eat in the dining room (if we had wanted), the free wifi worked really well, a free computer downstairs, free off street parking, an ironing board in the room, etc, etc. I usually find that I have to manage/put up with inconvenience in hotels. Not in this case. We kept trying to think of something we might need that they may not have, but they had it all! It isn't city centre but there is a bus stop practically outside the hotel with an accurate bus timetable in the room. Book direct if you can. It's cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for finding the time as a busy family to send your comments which we always find helpful. We have had a family of our own and enjoy meeting the many families that come to enjoy Bath. We appreciate and like to help with the needs of family life where we can. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for your important feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's the loveliest place! Being so tired from the journey, it was really pleasing to receive a warm welcome from the friendliest of the staff. It was also great to find the room tidy, spacious and nicely furnished, equipped with everything I might need (inc. TV, ironing board, hairdryer and kettle with provided teabags, coffee, sugar and some tasty biscuits). The bathroom was small, but convenient - towels, toiletries and all; the bed large and comfortable. The breakfast selection was also great - many options to choose from.
Another detail to note is the location, which is quite convenient - with the bus stop being just a few steps away from the house (takes ~10 min to get to the city centre and about the same time - to Bath Spa university).
The thing I loved the most, though, was the extreme friendliness and support of the staff. Jane (the owner) helped me to sort out the train times and even arranging the transporting of my luggage to the railway station (and not mentioning she agreed to spend some of her time listening to the audition speech I had to perform that day, which helped me greatly).
I just wish I could have stayed longer - it was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. As always, we find these comments essential in our self-appraisal. We are very conscious of people arriving in a strange city on their own with important appointments to attend. We do feel it is an important and satisfying part of our job to provide more than just accommodation - we are glad we were able to help you make your audition in Bath easier. We hope you were successful and will be interested to hear how the audition went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed again at the Aquae Sulis Guest House and as usual received exemplary service from Ana-Marie. I was late arriving and phoned ahead to alert staff of this. They welcomed me in and assisted me in ordering my late-night dinner which I was graciously offered the dining room to eat in.
I had a very comfortable room an was glad for the fact that it came with an iron and ironing board as my shirts were in need of a pressing.
The bathroom was well appointed with excellent soaps/shampoos and fluffy towels.
My bed was comfortable and warm.

My full English breakfast the next morning was very good and charged me up for my long day ahead.

I will continue to choose to stay at Aquae Sulis Guest House for their exceptional service and warm ambience and proximity to my customers at the RUH.

I recommend you try out this gem.

Dean Willems

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to post a review. We find business traveler feedback very important as it informs us of the specific requirements that are appreciated and needed by our business guests. It helps us to build our services and facilities accordingly. Thank you very much again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent guest house. The booking was simple and efficient, the welcome included advice on dining and places to visit and the room was comfortable and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well furnished and equipped with toiletries etc. The tea tray also included decaffeinated coffee sachets, relatively unusual in our experience. The tv had not only the normal digital channels but also Sky Sports - a bonus for a football watcher! The breakfast menu was comprehensive and was beautifully presented. Apart from the fire alarm (which was not the fault of the owners) everything was perfect.
A mention too, for the staff. Everyone was very welcoming and personalised each conversation, nothing was too much of an effort.
When we're back in the area again we'll definitely come back ( and we rarely, if ever, say that in a review!)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such an in depth review. We appreciate your assessment and we hope in the future that we can build on those strengths you point out to continually improve our guests' experience. Apologies for the false fire alarm which is, fortunately, a rare occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing