We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Haven”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #16 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean, tidy, well appointed bedrooms with Wi-Fi & good TV. Classically English bar & communal common-room areas. Good breakfasts, plus extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. Well-located for a 25-minute riverside walk into Bath centre, bus stops directly outside, and onsite car parking which is a real plus in Bath, as it's one of the most expensive cities for parking charges. My partner & I spent 3 nights here over 2012-13 New Year, and had a really great time. Highly recommended, and I think we'll be visiting Aquae Sulis again soon.:-))

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Great to read your encouraging review - thanks so much for taking the time to post it. Many people these days check the reviews before booking somewhere, so our reviewers now represent the views of the hotel inspector, the management consultant and the advertiser all in one and they are very important to us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay over New Year's and hope you went back feeling chilled, recharged and ready for all that 2013 might have to offer. We hope you will come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 984 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very welcoming with a comfortable,clean room, bed and bathroom. Access to Bath was easy by bus and having free parking was appreciated. Breakfast was excellent with good choice. An overall pleasant stay at a good price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your review - we know how busy life can be. We really appreciate your comments, which are encouraging to our staff and helpful to potential visitors who check out the reviews before booking. We hope to have the pleasure of a second visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Aquae Sulis. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was wonderful! The breakfast was outstanding with many choices, all prepared with delicious, high-quality ingredients. The common areas are charming and inviting. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on your stay at Aquae Sulis - they are so helpful and both the room attendants and the chef will be encouraged to read them. We do hope will will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the appearance of the Guest House, it may not look too fancy. However, it was one of the best places I've stayed whilst travelling around the UK. The staffs were very friendly, and informed us about everything we needed to know about Bath once we arrived. The corridors were nicely decorated. The rooms were clean, relatively spacious and comfortable. They serve a very generous breakfast as well. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasKSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for posting your very encouraging review - and we are pleased that we came up to scratch. Your positive comments really help us as they will be read by many potential visitors and these days reviews are becoming one of our most important sources of advertising - so we really appreciate your time and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great New Year's Eve, very hospitable and nice and there was no problem with the rooms except was quite noisy in the morning. The only other issue we encountered was the lack of food- the only thing offered was sandwiches which wasn't really what we desired. Other than that though, good on every level.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for posting your review - we do appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that you were hoping to have a meal here on New Year's Eve. As a guest house B&B we do not offer the evening meal option, although we are always happy to prepare snacks from the evening snacks menu or prepare a table for a take-away to eat in the dining area. Alternatively there are a few local pubs which offer good food. We hope that breakfast on New Year's day made up it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Room is very clean and comfort. The landlords are very kind old couple, they make me feel like at home. They also help me keep the packages and bring it to the station when we ready to leave from Bath. Breakfast are good!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - many people tell us that they check the reviews before making a reservation so it is really helpful for them as well as for us to read the views of past visitors. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home and hope you will come and stay again. We are not so old, we just look it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay at Aquae Sulis Guest House with my family only 1 night and had a wonderful time there. My first impression was about the owner service, Dave picked me up from train station. When we checked in the staff also very nice and polite. I feel like home when stay there, the room was lovely decorated. Highlight is Hot Chocolate in room,, please don't forget to try :)
Location is not far for me to walk to city center, price is very reasonable compare to comfort room, cleanliness with full breakfast offer. Do not hesitate to stay here!!

Room Tip: If you need something special, Contact in advance directly with Hotel is highly recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review - your comments are really helpful to us and they will read by many potential guests and thus help us with our advertising. We are pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay - especially the Fairtrade hot chocolate drink in the room! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the UK and look forward to perhaps seeing you again on your next trip over this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $90 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing