We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Cannot fault this guest house. Super friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous breakfast. We had 3 nights here and wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    224
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
301
293
58
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night with friends from Australia. All staff very helpful with information. Lovely rooms clean and everything as needed. Enjoyed breakfast too. Only problem the weather!! Would stay here again if in Bath and recommend highly to friends.

Room Tip: Top floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A well deserved four stars here. Attention to detail to cater for guests' needs is exemplary. We stayed in one of the family rooms which had plenty of space and all of the facilities that are required. The guest house is extremely clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends. Very good location just outside of Bath city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We chose to stay at the hotel as a base for seeing Bath, Longleat and Stonehenge with our 9 year old daughter. It was a good choice, the room was very clean, the staff very welcoming and attentive and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My mum and I stayed at Aquae Sulis for a week and felt very welcomed. As soon as we signed in, the staff explained the Bath area and gave us suggestions of places to eat. They also did our washing for us saving us the trouble of finding a laundromat.

The room was beautiful and so comfortable and we were welcomed with a gorgeous tea set with a variety of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Breakfast was great with an impressive selection of the great englist breakfast.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

To get into the centre of Bath, it takes about 20-30 minutes on foot depending on pace and direction. There is also a bus stop very nearby.

This Guest House is great for a getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed to wonderful stays at Aquae Sulis. The first was booked through the Visit Bath website, so pretty much site unseen, but the pricing looked very good. Blown away by the room and the sensational bathroom as well. So much space, brilliant little touches and the breakfast was fantastic. The hosts are very friendly and helpful to the point where they will collect you from the train station as needed, and drop you back. It was so good that when it came time to return the car to Bath, we rolled up on the off chance of getting a room. They only had one available, but again it was beautiful. Cannot recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14, it is staggeringly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We arrived here tired of travelling all day. We had a nice afternoon in the beautiful garden with a nice lager which was very relaxed. The lady that checked us in was very helpful and showed us the way into town with a map. It;s very easy to get into bath by bus. Walking is quite a long walk and I wouldn't do that again. The room was small but the bed and shower were excelent.We had to wait a bit long with breakfast since it was totally booked an therefore busy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing