We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Aquae Sulis twice now and will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Bath. From a practical point of view, it's within easy reach of the city centre - regular bus services if you don't fancy the walk - but also close to the hospital. But what I like most is that I feel comfortable there as a single traveller - Jane and her staff are friendly and helpful, and want to make sure that everything is just right.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 980 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this well run and friendly hotel and will be staying there again on our next visit to Bath!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel very comfortable, the room was large, bright and clean. the atmosphere very "English". Only one thing it was negative: The furniture of the room is not up to the style of the hotel, too ordinary and modern.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomeFilippo_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stay at Aquae Sulis Guest House for two nights, and I would like to say I got great experience at Aquae Sulis Guest House and really enjoyed our stay with staffs of Aquae Sulis Guest House. They provided excellent services and breakfasts to us. Moreover, You also could have a cup of drink in the inside bar, and chat with other tourists if you like.

I benefit much from Aquae Sulis Guest House anyway.

Niko

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Warm welcome, furniture in lovely british style with a touch of modern. Spacious and cleaned room, very nice breakfast (you can choose if continental or english). If we consider the free car park and the fast wifi in room, this hotel will score the max rating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il_mazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Every aspect of this place's promotion of itself is pretentious. It tries to make out that it is a magnificent hotel with premium facilities in a prime location of Bath with a tradition going right back to the Romans. In fact it is an ordinary pair of semi-detached houses in a very boring suburban street on the outskirts of Bath. It may be lit up at night like a casino, and charge outrageous prices, but at heart it is a boring guest house with poor facilities, run only to make money and with minimal concern for the guests. In fact my wife and I didn't even feel like guests. We never spoke with the owner, and hardly even saw her. Instead the duties of reception, serving and cleaning were left to a team of teenage girls, who were polite but not really up to the job.

Specific negative points about this place are:
- Excessively expensive - it would be poor value at half the price.
- Careless cleaning and room maintenance - we arrived to find that the sheets had not been changed on the bed and to make matters worse there was blood on them.
- The bedroom was small and very awkward to move around, and over-filled with cheap furniture.
- Located at least two miles from the town centre, so you have no alternative but to drive or take a taxi.
- Insufficient off-road parking for the number of bedrooms, so some guests always have to park on the street.
- The only lounge room is reserved for smokers.

My advice is to avoid this tawdry place and stay in a proper hotel in the town centre.

Room Tip: Check the bed to see whether the sheets are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Subject: Aquae Sulis Guest House

Location: Bath

Title: Owner response

ID#: 127747287

This guest has made serious and specific allegations that we mis-represent our business. In response, we would point out that we, to the best of our knowledge, conform properly to trading standards law.

1. We do not advertise or portray ourselves as a 'magnificent hotel . . . with a tradition going right back to the Romans' . We are clearly advertised, categorised and graded as an Edwardian style 4 star guest house by all agencies and on our own website. Our photographs are a clear representation of our Victorian/Edwardian heritage and style.

2. We do not advertise 'a prime location' but a suburban location - 2.5 km from the centre of the city.

3. We do not advertise 'premium facilities' and our facilities are comprehensively and clearly stated, with no qualification, along with photos of all rooms, including the room this guest stayed in, which indicate style and quality.

4. We provide a prominent photograph of the whole property (night-time shots too) for customer viewing which indicates the style and heritage. Our address itself indicates that the property was originally two semi-deatched units.

5. A sincere assessment of value for money is an important part of the review process. The comment that "the business is only run to make money and there is a minimal concern for the guests" goes beyond such an assessment and implies that there is a deliberate intent on the part of the owners to provide a substandard product and service to maximise profit. The prices that these guests were offered by the agency for the Easter weekend are well within the average for Bath for our grade of accommodation and it is beholden on the customer to exercise the right to shop around before booking. City centre accommodation is generally more expensive.

There are other more general opinions and allegations. No issue was made known to us during their stay concerning careless maintenance other than the guests asked for their sheets to be changed on their second night of use at 11 in the evening, which was happily complied with. The size of the room is 4.5 metres x 3.5 metres and has an 11' ceiling and photographs are supplied for prior viewing. The furniture is quality solid wood furniture, barely two years old and and the style can be assessed through our photographs. We have a non-smoking policy throughout, which is clearly stated everywhere. Jane, the owner, did meet with this guest at breakfast - it was the busy Easter weekend. Our manageress/receptionist is 25 years old, experienced and well trained - and on call 24 hours, as are the owners David and Jane. Whilst some of our weekend chambermaids and waitresses are young, they are well-trained and Jane keeps an eye on what is going on in the dining room and the bedrooms. The rooms are checked by an experienced housekeeper.

We were made plainly aware and accept that these guests placed expectations on us that were beyond our resources; however we remain very concerned about the specific allegations concerning our misrepresentation of the business. The only possible explanation we can have for these allegations is that these guests booked our guesthouse through the agency thinking that they were booking a large city centre four star hotel (with Roman traditions etc) and did not check the details on the form, which can easily occur with internet booking systems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our room was very spacious and very clean. Comfortable beds with beautiful bedding. Everything is efficiently run and staff are very polite and friendly. The breakfast was very good with a good selection. The garden is very pretty. There is ample parking and a bus stop just outside which takes you into central bath. Would highly recomend the Aquae Sulis.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,951 reviews
2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $96 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing