We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POSITIVES AND NEGATIVES”
Review of Aquae Sulis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“POSITIVES AND NEGATIVES”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Positives, breakfast was good, staff were friendly, room was clean, parking in front of house car park, wi fi. What more can you ask I hear you say..
I booked this on the strength of the reviews for the Aquae, proving once again to me the different standards people expect.
Well it's not a Hotel it's a guest house, I expected a hotel, especially at £110 a night. !
Negatives , cramped breakfast room, not enough space when many guesta breakfasting, bar shuts at 22:30, too far to walk to Bath need a bus, grubby paint work and old style decor. Ancient pc in the ' internet cafe room' Basically a hundered and ten quid a night B
&B guest house, which in my humble opinion, is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Mr Moff,

It's upsetting to disappoint a customer. We work very hard not to. We are sorry that you were expecting a 4 star hotel. We are graded as a guest house and advertise ourselves as such and no agencies should refer to Aquae Sulis as a hotel.

Bath is not a cheap place in the high season, but owners do try to give value, both in service and comfort. As a guest house, we do aim to provide a comprehensive service - bar, evening snacks, free computer use, Sky Sports and satellite, free WIFI, garden.

The old computer in the lounge for guest use was due for renewal and was replaced earlier this month.

We hope that we do not mislead people as to our proximity to the centre. We are clearly marked on Googlemaps.

We make every effort to keep the décor and fabric fresh, updated and clean throughout the seasons but also try to give an experience of the historical nature of the building in appropriate areas.

All our guests' feed back is treated very seriously, taken on board and is used in our future developments.


Jane and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    228
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
309
301
62
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I, together with three kids aged between 6 and 15, stayed at Aquae Sulis for four nights, and we were all happy about the stay. The rooms and bedding were clean, and the toilets were spotlessly clean. A wide range of choices was provided for breakfast and each day we left the hotel with a full stomach. Jane, Rose and the young ladies who served the breakfast are all very helpful and cheerful. While the hotel is located outside town centre, it is easy to get a bus ride to town centre. All in all a good place to stay, and we would certainly recommend it to friends who are visiting Bath.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiyi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A bit pricey but otherwise great value. Next to bus stop with frequent service to center of Bath. Room well appointed and clean. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

stayed here in a family room, very comfortable, staff professional and helpful, good car parking available on site.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the hotel August 2011 and was pleasantly surprised! Stunning hotel with the largest room we had since staying in Paris and London. Good location, easy reachable with bus from Bath city centre, about a 10 minute drive. Janet was so kind to meet us at the metro station just to pick up our luggage, so we can spend some time in the city. Great pubs and restaurant walking distance from the hotel. We had a scrumptious breakfast in the morning with the best cup of coffee since arriving overseas! Absolutely loved the hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilseuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have stayed at this b&b twice now (first time in 2009) as it really is a nice place. We have had the Dr Oliver suite because it is out the back and separate from the rest of the building so it's really quiet. You can park directly at the front of the entrance also which is a bonus.
We have stayed for three nights on both occasions and have not been let down by the standard of accommodation, friendliness or the quality of food for breakfast.
We stay there also because our friends live just along the road which is great for seeing them and it Is well served by buses into the city centre.
It's the only place to stay for us when we are visiting Bath.

Room Tip: Really like the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MahoneyclanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My family of 4 including 2 teens stayed at the Aqua Sulis just outside Bath for one night. We stayed just one night because we wanted to stay within walking distance to the Bath sights and this inn was about a 5 minute cab ride from downtown. Other than that, the Aqua Sulis was excellent. Impeccably clean, very well appointed, spacious room, excellent breakfast, very nice innkeeper (Jane) who picked up our luggage from the train station so we could stay in town and sightsee. I think they are willing to take you in town and pick u up, or will call you a cab. If you can't find a nice b&b in town this is a wonderful alternative.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquae Sulis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Hotel

Property: Aquae Sulis Hotel
Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quieter location in the beautiful Roman Spa city of Bath, away from the noise and congestion yet just minutes from the Roman Baths and city centre attractions, our lovely Victorian guest house maintains many of its original features whilst being thoughtfully restored to offer the high standards of comfort and convenience expected by today's traveller. All fourteen rooms have their own unique characteristics, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Rooms are ensuite with accessories such as flat screen TV with Freeview and Sky Sports, free WiFi access, Ipod docking station and refreshment tray. In a city renowned for its expensive and restricted parking, we offer a free private car park as well as unrestricted on-road parking. Take time to explore the stunningly beautiful world heritage city of Bath with its limestone Georgian buildings and crescents; visit the 15th century Abbey and the historic Roman Baths, unwind in the modern Thermae Spa fed by the same natural hot springs, shop till you drop in the myriad of unique shops and revive in one of the many cosmopolitan restaurants. Take in a play in the Georgian Theatre Royal, simply stroll around the city and soak in the atmosphere of this unique city or take a guided tour of the hidden gardens lying behind the honey-coloured stone houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Aquae Sulis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing