We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else- Overpriced, unhygenic and noisy”
Review of Pulteney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pulteney House
Ranked #18 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We arrived on the night without pre-booking. so we were delighted that there was a room available for £90 as rest of Bath seemed to be booked out or overpriced. we were given a room out back in a stand alone sort of coach house. As we were discussing conditions with owner/manager in the drive a train ran by very noisily at high speed behind the coach house. The owner said that this wasn't possible to hear from inside the room. He obviously never slept there himself because it was very noisy! The room was outdated and room felt like staying in an elderly aunts house. Bedding felt damp and coach house itself smells dank like a caravan opened up after being closed for a long wet winter.

The breakfast is in a small cellar. Staff were friendly but the lady who took our order was very unprofessional in that she had very dirty long fingernails and a beehive of untidy hair and kept coughing into her hand. Just as an anecdote Its probably worth a laughable mention that after we ordered breakfast they then delivered it incomplete. They said they had run out of sausages so they could only give us one sausage each. When my wife complained they came back and said they had found another sausage so they could now give her two. Needless to say by the time the breakfast arrived our appetite had disappeared and so did we without eating.

I made my observations known to the owner who looked surprised when I said it was noisy and quickly changed the subject. He thanked me for discretely letting him know about the breakfast situation as he wasn't aware of it. Maybe a visit to the breakfast area on his part wouldn't go astray.

No re-numerations were asked for on our part or disappointingly offered by the owner. We ate breakfast in Bath. On return to the guest house to collect our car we saw same lady from breakfast cellar and owner sorting out all the bed linen which was strewn about the long gravel drive and a little washing machine going in a garage at the end of the drive. This may explain the damp bedding. They didn't speak to us and we left.

Altogether not a very good place to stay which is a shame as its in a great location and very good for off street parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 553 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

My daughter and I stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Completely charming and comfortable with exceptional gardens featuring roses of every color and description. A delight! Our hosts were also charming and welcoming - would have enjoyed the chance to get to know them better as well.

Stayed: June 2010
Thank MumandJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in bath on numerous occasions and I must say that this guesthouse has got to be, for the price, the best we have stayed at. The location is an easy level 5 minute stroll from the centre, our car was safe and secure at the rear of the guest house, the bed was comfy, the room spotlessly clean, the breakfast was spot on, the staff were friendly and helpful and It also has a lovely garden to sit and relax in. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

really nice place, great location, nice and clean, only let down was breakfast, lots of people complaining re having to wait, i had a bacon sandwich on first morning - stale bread, improved on the second morning, but didnt get what i ordered though, overall great place to stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed for just 1 night, as in Bath for a county cricket match. The hotel had its own car park. Very friendly on check in. Stayed in a double en-suite room with single occupancy.
The usual amenities, tea,coffee etc, shower cubicle (bathroom quite small), all the room was spotlessly clean. Location is great,just a short walk into Bath, ideal for Bath rugby club. Breakfast was very good,with plenty of choice. Would certainly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazmoz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Selected Pulteney House purely because so many other B & B's already full - Bath is a BUSY place !. Only four poster available @ £120.00 per night. No complaints about accomodation - spotlessly clean, big enough room, great breakfast freshly cooked to a high standard and location brilliant, 5 minutes walk into town. Can I fault anything ? - yes, the price !. It might be OK for Bath, but this is simply too high for a "simple" B & B even in Bath. The place was full however, so I must be getting old !.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Good location with short walk into Bath, comfortable rooms, en suite, off street parking, breakfast, guest lounge room, owner good knowledge of area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMem0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#20 of 157 in Bath
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#27 of 157 in Bath
656 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 157 in Bath
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $69 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pulteney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing