We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk to Bath, helpful owner, comfortable rooms, off street parking”
Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulteney House
Ranked #21 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy walk to Bath, helpful owner, comfortable rooms, off street parking”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Good location with short walk into Bath, comfortable rooms, en suite, off street parking, breakfast, guest lounge room, owner good knowledge of area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMem0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    167
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
126
211
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Had night away from home to shop in the City and wante to be within walking distance - perfect location for this, nice 5 minute walk to centre.
We had double room in building to the rear of the property and it was lovely, clean, cosy, just what we needed for a night away.
Staff were very helpful and polite.
Breakfast was more than enough
Surprised at bad reviews, maybe other rooms in main building are not as pleasant as the one we stayed in, we would definately use this hotel again.:)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janette291167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed overnight at this B&B. The couple running it seemed nice and polite enough when I checked in but were really cranky in the morning. The wife seemed overworked and the husband seemed kind of rheumy (alcoholic?). Room was really tiny and narrow. Carpets were beautiful but needed deep cleaning. Bathroom - Yikes! When I used the sink the toilet gurgled. When the toilet was flushed it gurgled and echoed in the sink...ewww. The headboard had been slipped between the mattress and the wall, not connected to bed frame. Breakfast was all right.

Many areas of this B&B were really beautiful, especially the exterior. Just seemed a little run down. I would recommend this as a no frills stay. Great location, but I felt that it was really pricey for what I paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Room ok for one night. Breakfast a nightmare. Uninterested staff, breakfast room poorly cleaned. Overrated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familiefromzeeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I read a ton of bad reviews of Pulteney House before my trip, and was extremely nervous upon my arrival. However, I soon found out that those bad reviews were dead wrong. The staff was friendly throughout my entire stay, cheerfully accomodating my weird arrival and leaving times. Breakfast was delightful--I loved the poached eggs. To the reviewers who said that the rooms were small, I feel that this is to be expected, since it is an English house-turned-B&B. For being small, they were very nice. The location was excellent, well within a short walking distance of everything in Bath. I had a lovely view of the abbey from my window.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctina1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#26 of 157 in Bath
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#30 of 157 in Bath
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Property: Pulteney House
Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing