We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy bed”
Review of Pulteney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pulteney House
Ranked #22 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an excellent B & B, clean tidy and friendly welcome. Location is excellent for walking and sightseeing. Bed was very comfy - even my light sleeper husband slept well. We stayed in coach house and trains were not too noisy at all. Plenty of choice for breakfast. One thing I will say is that you can hear people in the room below so can people be a bit more considerate. This is not a criticism of accommodation and would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlisonMellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 541 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Pulteney House was a super place to stay if you are thinking of visiting Bath. It is in an excellent location, a lovely stroll into the center of Bath. All of the staff were extremely friendly right from the moment we arrived. Our room was ready for our arrival and was lovely. Very clean and the bed was so comfortable.
We were delivering our daughter back to Bath Uni and we were asked if we wanted to leave our car in the car park even after we had paid our bill!
The breakfast choices were outstanding and the quality of the food was second to none.
I would certainly recommend staying at this super bed and breakfast if you are visiting Bath.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Pulteney House is a higher end traditional English B&B experience. The location is an easy walk to Baths many attractions, onsite parking is a great advantage. The breakfast is excellent with a long menu. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. The Manager and staff are very helpful and assisted us with computer and fax for an over seas real estate transaction. We would stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay with easy access to the city of Bath, and would definitely recommend to others.

The welcome we received on arrival was great. It was lovely to be offered a map of the city and given an idea of places to visit. An update on the weather was also much appreciated.

Being able to leave the car in such a central place was really nice and a much added bonus to this lovely place. It meant that we could go off exploring and not have to worry about returning to put more money into the ticket machine.

We stayed in the coach house, and yes you can hear the trains, but we are not talking about a modern hotel, so it is to be expected, and it didn't bother us at all. The charm and character of the place far superseded this. The room was spacious and had everything we needed.

One thing we would ask other travellers to be aware of, is that they will really annoy other people if they are not courteous in the way in which they conduct themselves. The building is not a modern building and it should be treated with the respect that it deserves, so please be aware that when you are trying to break a door down (quite a few times) at 2am it is not fair on those who are trying to sleep as it makes the room above rattle. **PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT A FAULT OF THE GUEST HOUSE AND PROPRIETORS AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT IT** other than for others to be aware of how they act in this lovely property.

Breakfast was really good, with great efficient and friendly staff, who were always willing to chat if you wanted to. Great selection of freshly cooked food and ample tea and coffee on offer.

A great place to stay, friendly staff who are willing to help out wherever they can.

Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely elegant place to stay. We had the large room at the front which was tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. We did not hear any traffic from the road or the train. The people there are extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast is perfect, with so many choices. The free parking is a bonus as it is difficult to park in Bath and even on the day we were leaving they allowed us to leave our car there until the new guests arrived which we thought was a lovely gesture. We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to Bath and would highly recommend to others. You can actually walk into Bath centre within 10 minutes. The gardens are lovely and on a warm summer's evening I bet it would be lovely to sit there. Must go in the warm weather next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a perfect one night stay at Pulteney followed by a hearty breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day. We took into account previous reviews that identified the proximity of the train line as a problem, however, we found no issue and had a sound nights sleep. Will be staying here again when we next visit Bath.

Parking and distance to town were also brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have visited bath many many times over the years and stayed in the best to the worst ,yes baths got them all folks
Having used the same hotel for years ( name excluded you know who you are ) as it was going down hill we decided to give the pultney a go having stayed 4 times now I feel I can give a balanced view IN A WORD IT'S VERY VERY GOOD the owners are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them ,they greet you on arrival which is nice
The hotel is very nice ,it's well looked after and very clean ,the rooms are very good and the breakfast menu is outstanding!!!!!!!!!!
It's location is good just a short stroll into town
Parking is very good at the hotel which was a must for us
So book a visit you will not be disappointed and if you are there on the first or last Sunday in the month visit the bath antiques fair at the old green park station where you can see me and even buy something from me Dave

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#10 of 159 in Bath
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#21 of 159 in Bath
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 159 in Bath
980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 159 in Bath
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $67 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pulteney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing