We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Camper”
Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulteney House
Ranked #22 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, VA USA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Happy Camper”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I made this reservation with trepidation because of some of the reviews, but I needn't have worried. Everything was flawless. Check-in was a breeze. Although there isn't much parking, there aren't many drivers, so that was fine. It's located closer than I thought to everything, so walking was also not a problem. The bed was comfortable. The water pressure and temperature were good. I liked that the place had character and was done in the old style. The room and bathroom were larger than most places I've stayed (they even had a desk so I could sit down!). I was in the basement, but had no problem picking up wi-fi in my room. Breakfast was hot, quick, plentiful and fresh. I am not sure what else anyone would ask for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    159
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
114
194
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Girlie weekend away in Bath, couldnt have asked for a better place to base ourselves. Room was immaculate, spacious and well decorated. Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was to die for!! We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

On arrival we had to wait to be seen and let in by another guest! Although owner was very helpful we were surprised to be led outside to the annex and were told that although we could use their computer wifi was only available in the main house. Sound proofing was not great and you could hear the man below coughing and we were conscious of the squeaky floor in our en suite. The bedroom and en suite was clean and spacious but could do with updating. The towels seemed so thin and old. Breakfast was a big let down. Not the quality of food but by being rushed to order off the menu but we didn't even have time for our cereals. I had to lift my bowl off the mat as my breakfast was brought in so quick and finish my cereals holding my bowl. The staff seemed too eager to please which came across as false. Unfortunately I would not recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfbubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom clean and roomy. The proprietor was fun, full of history, and helpful about where to go and how to get there. The breakfast was awesome and the ladies working the breakfast room and housecleaning were well above average. We recommend this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a very attractively decorated single room with a comfortable bed and a large, separate bathroom. Staff were very friendly and everything was clean and well presented. The freshly cooked breakfasts were far better than I often get in 4 star hotels where everything is pre-cooked and kept warm - the light and buttery scrambled egg was wonderful!
Although the hotel is close to a main road and train line, effective secondary glazing ensured that my room was quiet and I slept well. The separate bathroom was not ideal but, considering the price and the fact that it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bath, I was very happy and would stay there any time I visited the city.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimble_cornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just returned from Bath having stayed in Pulteney Hotel Overall this was a superb place to stay its location could not be better as its only 8 to 10 minutes walk from city centre. The owners were helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and beds extremely comfortable and we had great sleeps each nignt. Even though our room was at the front of the house and the hotel is on a busy street we did not hear any of the traffic.The room was well furnished and very clean.Tea and coffee facilities were in the room and this was well stocked with very nice biscuits supplied each day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The location is great! Only a short walk to town and super close to the swimming pools and criket ground.
The room was good, three star is a good rating for the room. It was clean and comfortable. The shower pressure was weak so not easy to wash long hair. Also, when people were moving around upstairs it was very noisy.
The service...well...not great. When we first arrived we rang the bell three times and knocked loudly with no response. Finally someone came to the door she said she had been out the back so couldn't hear the bell - maybe they need a portable bell? At breakfast time we were pretty much ignored both mornings; other tables were seated, asked for their order and fed before we were even asked for our order. On the second morning, we left our room key on a table while we got some juice and when we went back to the table the staff had seated someone else there and moved our key! We did feel a bit invisable during breakfast. On the bright side I liked the music they were playing which I hummed along to to drown the noise of my rumbling tummy. When we checked out in the morning we asked if we could leave our bag there as our train didn't leave until the early evening. Unfortunately they wouldn't let us do this as it was mother's day and both owners would be out, at the same time...luckily the people at the swimming pool around the corner we super helpful and let us leave our bag in the office there, for free! They suggested the pools but said we might have to pay for a swim. They did not offer to phone anyone to ask where we could leave our bags. I asked if there were lockers at the train station to be told that they were taken out due to IRA bombings (wasn't this decades ago?) and that finding somewhere to leave bags is a problem in Bath. I'm not sure why they haven't made any effort to find somewhere for bag storage since they have clearly known about the problem for decades. I recommend that if you stay here and need to leave your bag, ask before you book. I never thought to ask prior to booking as I have NEVER had a problem before, anywhere in the world. I think this is being run as a B&B not a hotel so beware.
To top things off it was my birthday so this was not the best way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#30 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Property: Pulteney House
Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing