We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why would you expect better in a city like Bath?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulteney House
Ranked #22 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why would you expect better in a city like Bath?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Bath is much like Venice. If you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation, expect a tourist factory. That's pretty much what this hotel is. We were in the old stables and our room was very small and we could hear every step and almost every word the people upstairs said. We weren't too impressed when on our last day the new towels had brown spots and holes. On the upside, the breakfasts are generous and hearty and the managers and staff very friendly. The location is great, just a short walk into town.
The Internet connection is only available in the old house, in their computer room.

Room Tip: You may be better off in the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShlomGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    155
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
112
189
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed at the Putleney House with my wife and in-laws in June 2011. We shared a four-bed "family" room (room #1) on the main floor for two nights. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and graciously appointed, the beds comfortable, and the location excellent -- outside of the city center, but an easy ten-minute walk from the central rail station. THe free wifi is a tremendous plus and performed very well.

The only real flaws we experienced were fairly minor, but the one real annoyance is the breakfast schedule. Breakfast is only served between 8:00 and 9:00 am. For us, given our schedules, that meant that even though we had paid for breakfast with our room we couldn't really take advantage of it. (We grabbed some fruit and yogurt from the continental buffet on the first day, but couldn't even do that on the second day as we had to leave by 7:45 to make our coach back to London.) I've stayed in many British hotels, and normally breakfast is available between 7:00 and 10:00.

Still, I would strongly recommend the Pulteney House to any visitor to Bath -- advising only that you pay the room rate only and get breakfast elsewhere at your leisure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed at Pulteney House for two nights with my wife and ten year-old son at the end of April 2011. Our room, located on the front of the coach house, to the rear of the hotel, was small but comfortable and adequate for our needs, with sufficient storage space, a good-size bathroom and tea/coffee-making facilities.

Being situated behind the main building, we were well away from the main road and heard no traffic noise at all. There is a railway line to the rear, but we heard minimal noise from our room and this was not a disturbance.

Breakfast was good, with a wide selection hot and cold food on the menu, and efficient, friendly service too.

A real bonus also was the onsite car parking at no extra cost. Given that the hotel is within ten minutes walk of the centre of Bath, we did not need to touch our car from check-in to check-out.

We found Pulteney House a good, convenient location for a short break in Bath.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I just enjoyed a two night stay at the Pulteney B&B in Bath. 

Location - The b&b is a 15min walk from Bath Sap Station and 10mins tops from the shops, bars and central attractions. Despite being situated between a busy main road and a stretch of the Western Railway line the place was far from noisy. At night the roar of a train thundering past could he heard every 30mins or so but this never kept me awake. Lovely gardens with picnic benches surround the b&b. Our visit coincided with a particularly sunny bank holiday weekend so I spend the odd hour reading out there, with only the b&b pet - a huge white bunny rabbit - for company. I felt safe although take note that the main road is fairly deserted and dark at dusk. 

Room - We were allocated a room in the second, smaller house at Pulteney. The room was on the ground floor and have to admit that the noises from our upstairs neighbours was audible: doors closing, walking across the floorboards etc. Wasn't so much of a problem but again worthy of note. Rooms clean and shower (no bath) worked and had tanks full of hot water. Not always the case! Tv worked with a full range of freeview channels. Most hotels these days offer a scrambly bbc3, CNN and some crappy local commercial radio station so quite a nice surprise for my girlfriend to be able to watch doctor who! Rooms cleaned at noon every day. 

Breakfast - Place scores excellent marks here. Top notch selection served in a lovely, homely decorated room in the basement of the main building. Lazily, I chose the fry up both days and really should have given the kippers a go. Aw well, be hitting the gym during my lunch breaks for the next fortnight! Staff were late teens that were polite and attentive. Friendly bunch. B&b apparently run by a married couple who were affable without coming across as wanting to be your best mate. Haven't read any previous reviews but my gf mentioned some tripadvisors had claimed they were rudely dealt with. Never saw any of this behaviour during our stay. 

We paid £80 per night. Whilst not peanuts I've paid a similar sum to stay at less welcoming hotels in comparatively unattractive settings. Would recommend the Pulteney b&b to all and sundry really!  

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

On arrival your welcomed by the site of a beautiful grand Victorian house, and the staff are equally welcoming. Having the on-site car park was lovely and convent, and the fact that it was included in the price i paid for the room was real delight. Considering i know Bath quite well having the on-site car is a real bonus, especially when parking is Bath cost a fortune, with this in mind the size of the car is irrelevant. The room i stayed was lovely and cosy it was a single en suite situated in main house. I thought the room was decent size for a single. Clean, and was decorated nicely to help complement the Victorian feel of the house, which i liked. The complementary breakfasts were lovely, they had wide variety and the breakfast staff was warm, welcoming and helpful.

I have no problem recommending this b&b to my friends and family and i will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossSwinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Three of our wonderful daughters booked this "Hotel" as a present for my fiftieth birthday. On arrival we were taken out back to a separate building. I had read the reviews that had said that the coach house was noisy because of the trains so I asked and the owner, he said that they had spent a lot of money on glazing and that it was no longer a problem . On entering the building it smelt of cheap air freshener like a badly run charity shop and the smell in the room was the same. He said we had book the family room for two. The room was very small, the decor out dated, the on-suite had a boiler in it and only a small wall vent for air. The train noise was very audible and we could clearly hear the people upstairs. We couldn't open the window because of the train noise so it was like staying in an air tight box. The kettle was full of black lime scale bits floating in the water and I had to wash out before we could use it. After a restless night we went to the main house for breakfast this was very poor the sausages were horrible and fried bread inedible. This was served by polite staff but it did not look very professional or tidy as most were wearing jeans. On checking out my husband was asked to enter his pin without knowing how much we were paying, we had to ask. Our daughters had paid a deposit and had given us money to pay the balance. When we realized that they had paid £90 for our night we were sad. This was way to much for this room. I would not recommended this poor B&B. THIS IS NOT A HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BATH-TORIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed 1 night in Bath to visit the Christmas market. Was recommended the hotel by the tourist centre. Booked a family room. Very beautiful room witth classic decoration. Very spacious even with 4 beds and luggage. Breakfast was superb and the service is friendly. Only drawback is quite a distance if by foot from town centre.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INNALOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#38 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Property: Pulteney House
Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing