We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stress just pick up the phone and book this place.”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Seriously,if your looking for the perfect quest house you've just stumbled apon it.
Nothing to dislike about the whole place.
We stayed for 2 nights as a 25th wedding treat.
We stayed in room 5 which is very large and has 2 double beds an a massive bath room with separate bath and shower.
You get everything in the room you would ever need (tea/coffee/bickies/hairdryer in a lovely little velvet bag/emergency kit in the bath room for anything you may have forgotten).
It takes about 5 mins to get to the center of bath by taxi an costs £7.
The taxi co the hotel gives you the number for, is brilliant,you just call them from town, tell them what shop or restuarant your outside an they arrive within 2mins everytime.(the no is 444444).
They seem to use alot of women drivers,we even had women pick us up at night so if your a lady on her own or a group of girls just ask for a women driver if you feel safer.
When we stayed the owners were away but the girls who looked after us treated it as if it was there own business,nothing to much trouble.
If you have,nt been to bath before you must visit the baths and abbey, also you must do afternoon tea in the roman baths pump room resturant.(all very posh!).
The cooked breakfast was perfect,but i do think the time should be upto 9.30(not 8 till 9)im on me hols.
The cranliegh has about 4 parking spaces but you can park outside in the road with no problem.
A couple of reveiws on here have pointed out about there being lots of staires but if your going to spend all day walking around bath i really dont see the problem with 2 flights of stairs.
Theres nothing to be worried about at the cranliegh so just book up now and have a great break.

phil and judy

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gokartEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 833 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2008

Have just come back from staying in the cranleigh B&B in Bath.what a fantastic B&B it was!from the moment we arrived we were made welcome and shown to our room.the room was well presented,comfy and cosy!!the special touches such as the cookies,mince pies and emergency essential pack makes you feel that the owners of this B&B have really thought about their guests!!everything about this B&B was brilliant the location,room,breakfast and the kindness we received.I would recommend this B&B to all my friends and family!!
i would also recommend you spend the extra £10 to use the hot tub which is situated in the garden.when you step through that gate its like your own little paradise complete with robes,music and a summerhouse!!it was very cold when my boyfriend and i went in the hot tub but its under cover and when your in there its really warm and the summer house is heated too!!id give this B&B a 10/10!!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyg086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

My husband and I visited Cranleigh for our 2nd wedding anniversary in November, we stayed for 2 nights.

When we arrived at 1pm and our room was ready, we were shown to our room and given a guide to the city with information on places to eat.

We had booked room 3 and were not disappointed. There was a 4 posted bed, table and chairs, tea making facilites, a sink in the room as well as an ensuite bathroom with sink, shower and WC. We also had a dressing table and a wardrobe with robes in the room.

I asked for flowers and chocolates in the room and this was a lovely touch. The flowers were beautiful and lasted long after we returned home.

As it was our wedding anniversary Cranleigh gave us a complementary session in their outside hot tub with a bottle of wine. This was a lovely gesture and we enjoyed it more than expected. It was so cold outside but the hot tub was so hot, we spent the evening drinking the wine and talking, it was perfect and just what a romantic get away should be.

Despite there being other guests we didn’t hear any noise and we were the first room on the first floor. We were not disturbed by the staff yet they were on hand if needed. It was a very welcoming and trusting environment as the bar was done on trust, you take what you want and let them know on check out.

The breakfasts were fantastic. So much to chose from, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad which was amazing to full English breakfast, kippers, beans on toast etc.

Bath City was lovely. We visited the Roman Baths, Therme Spa, Bath Abbey, Circus and many other things along the way. We ate out and enjoyed it thoroughly.

On check out we were overcharged by £8 but a simple email when I got home saw my card refunded straight away, more than happy with their attitude.

Would recommend Bath and Cranleigh whole heartedly. I am even thinking of returning in March with my mum.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Super_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

What a supberb Guest House. Room was fantastic especially with the small extras i.e Mince Pies as well as cookies on the welcome tray. Tissues, cotton pads and even an emergency kit in the room. The breakfast menu very extensive for the price of the room. The staff and owners extremely professional and relaxed. Would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1shandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We had high hopes after booking this B and B - and at ninety pounds sterling per night, it was not cheap. Unfortunately, we found the bed extremely unconfortable and struggled to get to sleep and had sore backs both days. We had been looking forward to a lie in but breakfast was from 8-9am. We were woken long before that by noise from the kitchen which was right beside our room. Breakfast on Day 1 was really disappointing - cold toast and muffin, and pancakes that had been microwaved (or similar) to within an inch of their lives and were extremely hard and chewy.

Breakfast on the 2nd day was very nice as were the 2 hosts - so perhaps they were just having a bad day on Day 1. The location is good as it is out of the city itself and the street is quiet - you have to drive/taxi/get a bus in but it is nice to be out of the city itself. They do have a good selection of tea/coffee/biscuits and the room looked very nice and was spacious - obviously a lot of attention to detail and nice looking furniture. They have a good selection of DVDs and the room was warm when we got in in the afternoon/evening. The double shower was nice, but did go cold quickly. It would have been good if it had been half the price, but we felt quite cheated. One of the other rooms away from the kitchen would probably be better. If you don't like hard beds, bring a spare duvet to put under the sheet to soften the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Suilven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleighbb, Owner at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2008

We are sorry to hear that these guests did not have a completely satisfactory stay with us which we can only apologise for.

The most concerning point for us is that at no point during their stay did they let us know that things were not right – not giving us the opportunity to put things right

At breakfast they would have had ample opportunity to let us know the Pancakes and Toast were not satisfactory – it’s the time when we can chat to our guest, ask them their plans, do they need more tea and toast, was everything Ok with the cooked breakfast . etc

But at no point during breakfast did they inform us of their disappointment. We pride ourselves on our breakfast menu and everything is freshly cooked . I’m not sure what happened on this day but if they would have told us we would have replaced the items immediately

As for the other points – these are more of a personal nature but we could have helped if they had let us know.

1. Breakfast time – 8am – 9am is our normal midweek breakfast time. We do serve later at the weekends. Having breakfast served in your room until 9.30am is available to all our guests on any day of the week.

2. The bed- This is a new Italian super king size Four Poster bed with a top quality medium/firm mattress. This bed cost over £1,500. Obviously the mattress was not to their liking. We know mattresses are a personal thing; what is hard for one person may be firm and comfortable for another. We do have spare mattress toppers and could have made the bed up with an extra topper for their second night.

3. The noise – We know these guests live in the country in a sparely populated area of Scotland. We are in the suburbs of a city. We consider we live in a quiet area. We are a b&b in a family house where normal household sounds can be heard from time to time. We have had no other comments about noise from this room. Other rooms were available. If they have asked we may have been able to solve their bed and noise problems by switching them to a different room.

4. The price – This is a large high quality room with antique furniture and fittings. We believe £90 was a very competitive rate for a room of this quality in Bath. For them to suggest getting this room for half price (£45 per night) we feel is insulting to the hard work we have put in and clearly they do not understand the costs involved in running a B&B.

Finally if you do decide to come and stay with us at Cranleigh, please let us know if you are having a problem with anything while you are here. We can’t do anything about it unless you do and we will always try to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This was a wonderful B&B - not so small that you felt you were actually in the owner's own home but lots of atmosphere. The owners' son was running the place when we stayed. He was very helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. The place was immaculate, the room nicely furnished and spacious and the breakfast was great.

Bath, the "old town", is no place for cars. It was very easy to use the Park and Ride facility,,just a quick drive from the Cranleigh.

This was an excellent place to stay at a very reasonable rate. Glad we found it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ksw430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Today we returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely guest house. The location did not bother us as all as we actually chose it because it was out of the centre of the city. We walked into town and then got a bus back at the end of the day. In the evenings we took a taxi to a fabulous little French restaurant called the Bistro Papillon, just around the corner from the Royal Crescent. The menu wasn't vast but the food was beautiful. Pricewise we were pleasantly surprised - it cost £60 for a three course meal for two with a bottle of very nice wine. As we were only in Bath for 2 nights we ate at the same place and weren't disappointed.
Back to the Cranleigh, there were nine bedrooms and we stayed in room 6 on the top floor. It was worth the climb as it was a lovely room, really spacious with wonderful views and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. There was a great choice of breakfast - the type usually found in larger hotels -cooked to order so it was hot and fresh. The owners were both friendly and helpful and obviously work very hard at running this gem of a guesthouse. I would certainly recommend it as it is worthy of all the great reviews.
P.S. Bath was great too!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $95 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing