We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Surprise!!”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise Surprise!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just a short note to thank everyone at Cranleigh for a lovely end to my holiday. The little cake for my birthday was delicious and a lovely touch. It was such a surprise when we walked into our room and saw it with a little sparkler on top and all my birthday cards arranged around it.

Just wonderful. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    150
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
152
479
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just got back from an amazing mini break to Bath. We stayed at Cranleigh they have super friendly staff with nothing too much trouble, they even gave us a lift into the city. There in a nice pub about 10 minutes walk and Denise recommended Hudsons Steakhouse for the second evening, top choice.

Large room, very clean, loads of facilities, great breakfast.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, large spacious & comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveyPHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We chose this place because I'm allergic to dust and the rating for cleanliness was very good ... we couldn't guess how wrong we were. On the photos we could only see two rooms with king size beds so we asked if we could have the one we liked the most. However, we were never told that instead of a king size bed we would have two single beds put together... which was uncomfortable and annoying. Our poor experience started with the lady not introducing herself, giving us a different price from the one we were supposed to pay and providing very little information about the place. A few minutes after we got in the room, I was going to use one of the towels to clean my hands when I realised that there was what looked like a pubic hair on it. We took the set of towels to the lady who shook the hair out of the towel like it was nothing and prompted to bring another set to the room. The room was full of dust on our arrival and we informed the lady when asking for a different set of towels. She assured us that she would ask the girls to carry out a special cleaning and asked us to write a list of places that needed to be cleaned. In our opinion it wasn't a special cleaning... the room should have been cleaned in first place. We made the list (which included lots of places with dust, dirty toilet glasses - one with a white thing and the other one with a hair inside it - and a very dirty bath with tiles that had clearly not been cleaned as dirty and with several hairs on them). The pillows didn't have pillow protectors, only pillow cases and the sheets had several holes on them. When we returned to the B&B after dinner, the room was cold as it happened very often during our stay.
On the day after, someone cleaned everything we had on the list but didn't do it properly... you could still see dust everywhere, specially on the chandelier and inside the toilet glasses (someone actually cleaned the cups on the inside leaving them impossible to use).
The toilet switch didn't work properly so we just had to pull it until it worked. Also, the toilet seats kept falling down which annoyed my partner very much (men, be aware!).
The good thing about the room was that it was very big and had loads of storage options. However, the mechanism that holds the wardrobe door was broken and several drawers were dirty inside.
In our opinion the breakfast options were odd... a full English didn't include baked beans (in fairness we didn't even ask if they could do it as so many bad things had happened and no one asked if we were happy afterwards) but there was an option that only consisted in beans on toast. The menu didn't mention veggie sausages for vegetarians (I don't eat meat) and there were options that only included eggs. I ended having the same thing every single day. The fruit as good though.
During breakfast we realised that the butter pots were refilled with butter put on the top of crumbles from previous days, which didn't seem very hygienic. To make it even worse, I found a hair in the butter on our second breakfast there.
On the 3rd day we realised that the bedroom door had been left open...!
At the end of this overall poor experience, we were again told the wrong price and were never asked if we liked the place or what they could do to improve the service... We couldn't believe that absolutely no one apologised to us during our 4 night stay with all that happened!
The only reason why we are giving more than 2 stars it's because the place fulfilled our basic needs.

Room Tip: Refuse room number 10 if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_Durao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Cranleigh. We have considered aspects of your review and discussed these with the partners and staff with some action points created for improvement in some areas. We have also considered other guest remarks before and after your stay which on the whole have been very positive.

As you did not express at the time about your dissatisfaction and given the number of issues you have written about in your review we would have really like to have had the opportunity to resolve this before you left us. We do not want any of our guest to leave unhappy and we certainly would have done something to make you feel more positive.

Again we are very sorry we did not meet your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovey house and very friendly owners which made for a fabulous city break. I would recommend Cranleigh to anyone visiting Bath. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating and picked us up and dropped at back at the train station.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgilks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Bath and found everything perfect. Nice spacious room, good bathroom, all clean and exactly as it should be. The highlight is the breakfast, really excellently cooked and served and a nice buzz in the breakfast room, just hate those places where you can hear a pin drop. Not in the centre, but the courtesy ride in to town was a surprising and much appreciated extra, and the walk is pleasant through the park if you have time. Parking is snug, down a narrow drive, but we managed fine.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the first floor, but no noise at all from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Cranleigh's web site is very helpful especially in things to see and do and a quick way to the B&B while avoiding downtown. Our room was beautiful and very clean and well decorated and breakfast each morning was delicious especially the fresh fruit and outstanding coffee. It's only a 1.5 mile walk to the center of Bath through a beautiful park with quick access to the Royal Crescent. We even walked back that evening! The 2nd day Timothy gave us an easy way to drive to nearby parking and directions so we could easily leave Bath after morning touring and visit Wells. He also gave us a great way to leave town on the 3rd day without entering the center of town. The Big Ben card that came with our key was a great way to save money in Bath. We would definitely repeat our visit here and recommend it heartily!

Room Tip: Twin rooms have lots of steps! If you have big luggage ask for a lower room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A lovely stay in a very clean, beautifully decorated B&B.
Staff all very friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome.
The breakfast was delicious especially the gorgeous fresh fruit salad.
The 10% off attraction with our key was an added bonus.
If I were to revisit Bath I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ceme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing