We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds and plenty of room”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Only stayed the one night but found Cranleigh a good place to rest very weary legs after an afternoon spent trawling the Christmas Markets.
Didn't use the carpark as there was a spacve right outside on the road.
We were shown to a huge twin/double room in the front of the house, no problem with traffic noise over night, with an equally huge en suite bathroom.
Walked into town, approx. 25 mins down hill all the way but the park and ride is only a very short drive away and at £3.20 pp for the day, proved excellent value.
We slept like logs on our return and were sent on our way for round two in the City Centre on a lovely hot freshly cooked breakfast.
Shame the separate shower in the bathroom was on the small side as there's plenty of room for a larger one but having said that, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 830 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed in this guest house for 2 nights over a weekend. It was a warm, welcoming place and the owners were very friendly and sociable. The room was lovely and very comfortable, I felt very relaxed while staying there. There was great attention to detail which had obviously been he thought through, such as fresh milk if you wanted for tea making.We enjoyed being out of the hustle and bustle, leaving our car parked near the guest house and walking into Bath centre. The breakfast was delicious and a great variety, and the breakfast room a nice place to be. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A well located and very comfortable stay, awesome room with bay window and enormous bathroom , tastefully decorated and large comfortable bed. Breakfast lovely, service great, no grumbles at all, would happily return, book direct with Colin and Denise for best value.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for staying at Cranleigh, Bath and taking time to share your experience.

To get the best price please take a look at our official website or call us directly. These can be up to 15% cheaper than other online travel sites.

Our Superior rooms are larger rooms with a comfortable seating area. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

stayed for 4 nights, we had a 'road facing room;, no problems with noise at all, welcome,room and stay was very good. Cranleigh is a good 20 minute walk from the centre of Bath, which we enjoyed, luckily the weather was fine, but there was a bus into town if needed. Breakfast was also very good, with a choice for all.Parking at the hotel was a little tight, we opted to leave our car on the road outside ( it was easy to fine a place), sadly on our day of departure, we found our mirror had been 'clipped' and broken, not Cranleighs fault, but if you can, park offroad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyboyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wanted to experience a traditional Victorian B&B, and the Cranleigh offers that. The host was very helpful on what to do. The rooms are clean and quiet. My mattress was a bit worn down, but the sheets were comfy. The only thing I'd advise is that it is a minimum 30 min walk into the heart of Bath, so if you don't have a car, get ready to walk a bit. I ended up taking taxies more often than I'd preferred.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleighbb, General Manager at Cranleigh, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Cranleigh is located just over 1.5 miles to the west of Bath city centre. We do advise that this does take about 30 - 40 minutes to walk. On a nice day you can take a walk through Royal Victoria Park up to Royal Crescent, this takes about 20-35 minutes. The walk to the city centre is slightly downhill all the way. The downside of this is it's slightly uphill on the way back so we do recommend a bus or taxi.

There are a number of local buses including the No 1, 14 and 332 as well as a local park and ride scheme, Newbridge Park and Ride. Taxi's cost around 7GBP.

Tip: If you get your taxi to/from Queens Square you will not waste time and money going round Bath's one way systems. Most of the city is very accessible from Queens Square.

If you are coming by car we can recommend the Charlotte Street long stay car park for visiting the city. Cranleigh offers both onsite and on street parking both are free of charge.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cranleigh and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a treat! stayed at Cranleigh for 2 days it was just a delight. Lovely big room with the most comfortable bed ever.Nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection, Very helpful welcoming atmosphere, warm cozy home from home. would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here back in 2006 and thought I would stay again on a recent visit to Bath. I loved the B&B last time and have to say it''s still as good this time around. We had a warm welcome on arrival and given clear, relevant information about Bath and local directions. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. The 2 hour hot tub session was amazing and I would definitely recommend it, especially after a long week at work! The breakfasts were excellent and the individual quirky teapots were one of my favourite touches. We went to the Desh for one evening meal, a 10 minute walk away. Seemed very much a locals place, small, friendly, bring your own alcohol and brilliant food. The centre of Bath is a good half an hour walk away, but is downhill and a good way to walk off the lovely breakfast. Taxis/car parks/bus stops are around everywhere for the ones who don't fancy the walk. The only negative me or my partner could find would that a power shower would have been preferable to the one we had - completely fine as showers go but just seemed a bit lackluster. All in all staying at the Cranleigh added to a wonderful weekend away. We will certainly be back again and recommending to everyone possible!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and get room 1, beautiful and perfect for romantic weekends away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkle_1_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $86 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing