We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranleigh
Ranked #14 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Everthing sent fine. Welcome was excellent and very friendly.
Breakfast is outstanding. Location is fine, not in right of the heart of the city but very close by. And free parking in the street! Amazing in England.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlv31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    146
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
142
467
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Cranleigh is a wonderful B&B. Our room was beautifully decorated and made us immediately feel that we were being pampered. The beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The large bathroom had a bath as well as shower and was well stocked with excellent toiletries and luxurious towels. The owners were welcoming and friendly and arrival we were given information on how to get to the town centre as well as recommendations for local places to eat. The breakfast menu had plenty of choices and was beautifully cooked and presented.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisteria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thruxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I arranged a one night stay for my Fiances Birthday Surprise and trawled throught the internet looking at reviews until 2am the night before booking up.
And I am pleased to say that it lived up to its reviews.
I can't fault anything there, as everyone else has said the extra touches really made our stay special from the Survival Kit to the Complimentary Sherry and Wine in our room.
We loved it that much we stayed an Extra night.
Definatley a must stay . Give it a Go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janledo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Only stayed here for 2 nights but would definately stay again. From the moment we got there we were welcomed like one of the family. Its not just the warm welcome or the lovely room we had its all the little extra bits that you don't allways see in other place's.
For example you are given information from your hosts about where to eat, how to get into the center etc.
In the room come some nice little touches too. I.e. an emerency kit and everything supplied in the room, just in case you forgot something.
Another nice little touch is the mini-bar on every floor. If you want something, just take it (and it's all about honesty) and declare it at checkout.
Two great places to eat; The old Crown Inn - Kelston and The Weston heading into Bath.
One last note, Bath is a great place to visit, if you do, stay at the Cranleigh.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strummin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallwyd
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband, 2 teenage girls and myself stayed at this fantastic guest house during half term in February. We had a family room which included two double beds and a single. An absolutely fantastic bathroom with corner bath and free standing shower. Free shower gel and soap and a little box that included everything you might have forgotten e.g. razer, plaster etc. The attention to detail was wonderful. There was a tea tray with numerous choices of coffee and tea and biscuits also. A wide screen TV in the room and a setee. Our breakfast on the Sunday morning included buck fizz and croissants and a good choice of cooked breakfast. We will definitely stay here again as it was very reasonable during half term for a family of 4 and spottless. We got the feeling that this was more than a moneymaking venture - they were out to please and make guests stays special. Who wants a Hilton when you have Cranleigh.
Well done and very many thanks for a lovely two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwjones792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Most aspects of this B&B were very good, the service, cleanliness and location were excellent.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful with a good selection.
The only drawback is that the charge for using the spa/jacuzzi was £20 for two hours which is excessive; we felt the cost of this should have been included in the accommodation or at least advertised, it was one of the reasons we decided to stay here (in any case the spa is very nice)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denison43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The B&B s a smart old Victorian family home on a road running up a hill out of Bath. If you get a room at the back of the house you've great views over the hills. The theme of the place if Victoriana - our room was beautifully decorated in a cod Victorian style (though not for lovers of minimalism). Comfortable bed, small but well appointed bathroom with good shower, big flat screen TV (not so Victorian). Its a short walk to the Royal Crescent, and Victoria Park, and not too long a walk (downhill) into the centre of Bath. Worth getting a bus or taxi back though up the hill.

Service is friendly and efficient, breakfast fry-up is as good as you'd expect from a superior B&B

Real highlight is the garden hot tub, this can be booked for 2 hour slots for a small fee.
Even on a very cold January day the water was lovely and warm, a great way to relax.

Free WiFI in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Property: Cranleigh
Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing